Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Quite Beautiful
Well Amanda Prowse has indeed written another stunner of a novel, the reader being subjected to the sudden harsh reality of being chained and manacled like a caged beast and pushed into a vehicle with little room to move or breathe, and being in the company of dastardly criminals to boot, heading in a direction of some God forsaken destination, and one wonders instantly...
Published 13 months ago by BILLYBOBCAT100

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping short story
First book I have read of Amanda's and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Just wish that it was longer. Would read more from this author.
Published 11 months ago by Rachael N


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Quite Beautiful, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
Well Amanda Prowse has indeed written another stunner of a novel, the reader being subjected to the sudden harsh reality of being chained and manacled like a caged beast and pushed into a vehicle with little room to move or breathe, and being in the company of dastardly criminals to boot, heading in a direction of some God forsaken destination, and one wonders instantly what have they done and why were they being subjected to inhumane treatment which the reader now realises that they are traveling with murderers and the harsh colourful language spoken brings them right down to earth and the reader feels as trapped as they do itching to know the outcome of where they are heading so approaching the establishment they notice that they cannot see any windows and find it even worse when they finally get inside and then to be told by a lady governor who carries a gun for goodness sake, one realises that if they step out of line that's it!! a real frightener this story is so intriguing I had trouble putting it down even for a few minutes, it is a thriller in the deepest sense and one realises there is no hope at all they are there for the rest of their lives with stories of absolute horror waiting for them if they step out of line what hope for them as they have committed murder when all said and done....the reader will find out shortly...it is brilliantly written and in today's world could very well be a true story so worth reading by everyone I give it 5 STARS I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
Not usually a short story reader, feel I just get into them and they are over or rushed. Only bought because I love Amanda Prowse novels. This is different, I was lost in it just like a full book, it took me away. I read it in one sitting. I loved the story & characters and I wasn't sure if I liked Edwina but having finished, I BLOODY LOVE HER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful thing indeed, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
Amanda writes in the most compelling way and is on my list of books I can't put down! Therefore, buying one has to involve a couple of days of me time :) Never a bad thing... I read rather a lot and my favourite stories are the ones that keep me awake all night because I have to finish them. 'What Have I Done' was one of those reads, so naturally I had to read this newly released short.
A very clever and enjoyable tale that was so entertaining, when I got to the end I was already planning time aside (the same day) to read the next one - not realising there was only one story besides the preview reads of Amanda's novels! If you haven't read any of Amanda's works yet, this is a great way to find out what you are missing. A terrific sample of her intelligent, emotive and thought-provoking writing style - it really is something quite beautiful. I do think Amanda is one to look out for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
A great short story by Mrs Amanda Prowse. I must admit that I bought the book partly because I have read another book by this author, but also because we share the same name!

However, I got hooked into the story almost immediately. Set in an 'unoffical' prison you get to know Warren, Keegan and Henry who are sentenced to 20 yrs for murder and the prison warden Edwina who has a reputation of behaving like she is God. An unexpected twist... is everything as it seems?

This is one of the best short stories I have read. They usually just touch the surface of a story but this book has more depth, especially around its main characters Warren and Edwina... oh and its great length for a long hot bath!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing read not to be missed!!, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
Amanda Prowse never seizes to amaze. I have read all of her books to date and can only say that the journeys she takes you on leave you wanting more. Her characters are always so real and interesting, making you feel like you can fully relate to them. Something Quite Beautiful is this and more. Dark, real, compelling and a read not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown away, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
Another terrific read by Amanda. I read this from my mobile phone this morning. I can't remember when reading gripped me sooooo much. I was a complete wreck by the end of this fab short story. I love the characters each and every one of them. If you don't download you are missing out big time. No Greater Love series - reminds of my faith in humanity - says it all. love it.Something Quite Beautiful - No Greater Love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as always!, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded the Kindle app just so that I could read this story. I'm so glad I did! Once I started reading, I couldn't stop. The plot centres around three convicted murderers (Warren, Keegan and Henry) who are sent to a remote prison in Scotland. Their fate lies in the hands of Edwina, who thinks she's God. Warren is instantly likeable and I couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen to him. Obviously I'm not going to ruin it, but there is a big twist at the end. I must admit to having tears in my eyes. Read it or miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!! X, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
Just Finished 'Something Quite Beautiful' And Absolutely Loved it! I adore the main Character Warren, and the story has a great Twist to it!! Amanda's work never ceases to Amaze me. Just Brilliant! I can't wait for her next novel 'Clover's Child' which is released on 1/7/13 Xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT !, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
Classic Prowse, should come with a waterproof mascara warning - I sobbed. Grittier than her full novels - but once again I fell in love with a character - Warren. Highly recommend this story. It's fab x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Something Quite Beautiful: No Greater Love (Kindle Edition)
Wow and flip me sideways!!! I was NOT expecting this. So very, very different from what I had expected, but as usual the clever Amanda Prowse just gets you in her grip and reels you in. But this time?? I realised I was actually holding my breath ...... What twists and turns - where on earth in Ms Prowses dark psyche did Something Quite Beautiful come from??
Wherever it was, I look forward to her next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews