Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beer, bikes, women (or a woman), adventure - seriously, what's not to like!, 8 July 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Harris "RicH" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book tells you exactly how to travel. Not so much the vehicle, but in your way of being. Helen's let's try it and see attitude, is a refreshing change from humdrum life in nanny state Blighty. If you need inspiration in what you can do, if you just choose to get on and do it - well this as good as any read out there. It explores both the adventure inherent in a trans-continental, overland journey, as well as the personal adventure within. I thought the tone changed as the journey progressed, as the author became increasingly acclimatised to how things work in the wider world. Whereas it's certainly bold to travel alone, on such a mammoth and relentless trek, the bravery is in just getting out there in the first place. Helen demonstrates that humour, tolerance (up to a point), and determination can get you where you want to be. I couldn't put the book down (as others have said), it certainly is a great description of what it is like to travel in Africa. From my own travels, I can only vouch for scratching the surface in the south and east, but the pictures this book painted were certainly evocative of a full on Africa experience. Good people, welcome beer, insight to a better way of treating each other, it's all here, honestly transcribed. Recommended for anyone who thinks "I wonder if I could/should/would". Thank you Helen for sharing a wonderful achievement - you deserve another beer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Snow - One Girl's Take On Africa By Bike (Kindle Edition)
Having followed Helen's blog on her trip, to actually read it in book form was great. Well written and takes you to the scenery and people she encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing adventure and a must read., 2 Sep 2013
By 
J. Major (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not so good with writing reviews (not good with words) but had to write one for this book, its an inspiration, its amusing, its gripping and it keeps you wondering what will happen next. I got into this book right from the start, as a woman who dreams of traveling one day I always worry about how I will travel alone and whether it is safe, this book put me somewhat at ease and although you have to always be on your guard, maybe the world isn't the scarey place people make out it is, and this book made me realize this. Having always wanted to go to Africa it gives you an insight of what to expect and the people and culture you will be going into.

I couldn't put this book down always wanting to know the next adventure, where the next place would be and what Helen would encounter there, every time i thought i would stop reading and get something done I would have to read a little bit more. Loved the part about the parrot had me laughing for ages.

A brilliant book from start to finish. What an inspirational lady. Looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful account of a great adventure..., 28 Aug 2013
This is an excellent account of a truly remarkable adventure. When Helen first mooted this undertaking, I admit that I was amongst the people in the "you're crazy" camp, but I was looking forward to hearing about Helen's adventures and wildlife encounters along the way. I wasn't disappointed, there's plenty of those stories in this book, but there's plenty more besides. Helen provides great insight into what makes Africa tick and gives the reader an opportunity to get a feel for the wonders of the place. From her accounts of Timbuktu and dodging hippos on the Niger River to experiencing life in the Congo, this book has plenty to keep everyone entertained and, if you want to be, educated.

Inspiring, insightful and enlightening - I highly recommend giving this a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true African adventure not to be missed..., 10 Aug 2013
Having read Helen's book (I had the pleasure of meeting her at a mutual friend's wedding, where many beers later, many of us randomly purchased a copy of her freshly printed book!), I thought it was worthy of a few words of praise.
I sometimes find that travelogues can be a little dull and heavy going, but this is certainly not the case. It is a thoroughly enjoyable read made up anecdotal stories, interspersed with wonderful descriptions of the people and places she passes through on her journey.
Whether you are the sort of person that loves to canter through a book in a few days or someone who keeps picking up a book and putting down over a period weeks/months, this book will satisfy all (and hopefully bring a smile or too along the way!).
But most importantly, if you have been lucky enough to visit any parts of the African continent, or have a longing to explore or simply learn about some of the countries she passes through, then this book is a must.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Bicycle Warrior, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Snow - One Girl's Take On Africa By Bike (Kindle Edition)
I'd just met Elvis Munis (of Chile to Kili) in Botswana 2009, and was soon after on the lookout for other cycle adventurists. Helen filled that criterion.

I started following Helen while she was half-way down through Africa. In this time I also started planning for a new way of life cycle touring. Taking inspiration from Helen's great blog and photos, along with a few others (Toms Bike Trips, Travelling Two).

I thoroughly enjoyed `Desert Snow', and always looked forward to picking it up (Kindle!). Easy, pleasant reading.

Only thing I'd liked to have seen would've been a few photos. That's my only gripe. Otherwise, spot on Helen.

Good job. Look forward to many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great achievement and an inspiring read., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Imagine fighting your way on a bicycle on the back roads of Africa for 20 months. Takes a special person to actually thrive from the experiance and grow as a person . A book about courage and rugged determination that will stay with you a long time after it is finished - A caveat though don't be be fooled by all the 5 star ratings and expect great litterature and with a ghost writer could have been an even better read. Compare the blog the skippingkangaroo.com about a similar experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book with something for everyone, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great read with something for everyone.

Planning a backpacking/ cycling trip through Africa? : Helen gives a great insight into this wonderful continent and how it should be travelled.

For Africa veterans : A trip down memory lane.

For the armchair traveller : A great adventure from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational read, 6 July 2013
By 
Mrs. T. Keoghan "TaniyaK" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't put this book down. It was a terrific read and a must for anyone travelling through West Africa. If you need inspiration to get-up-and-go, this this book should kick-start you! Read it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Desert Snow'... a must Read!, 5 July 2013
Helen's trip is informative and highly entertaining, felt at times that I was enduring it too...taste and smell the real Africa! hard to put down, just had to keep reading to make sure she was still ok!...an amazing journey, Helen's stamina and determination shine through. Looking forward to the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2756450)

This product

Only search this product's reviews