Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action and conspiracy beneath the waves.
I once read the statistics about how many films are made and how many actually get a cinema release. You would expect a film starring Ed Harris, David Duchovny and William Fichtner to make it to the big screen but I guess there is little demand for submarine movies these days.
That said this is a very good submarine movie that will keep you enthralled to the end...
Published 22 months ago by PJ Rankine

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and tense
Ed Harris tops a classy cast in this solid cold war thriller. Although the intelligent script evokes some cold war tension, the drama boils down to a localised human conflict. There are a couple of cliched characters in there but the acting is top notch. I find Ed Harris easy to watch and he effortlesly conveys the stoic heroism of a sub captain when faced with the...
Published 23 months ago by Steven


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
Whether or not the actual facts are true, ( subs name type class etc.usually artistic licence)at that time or even IF the protagonists knew bombs had signatures does not detract from a very well acted film. David Duchovy was miscast... The reconstructed claustrophobic atmosphere of a diesel sub added to the tension. well directed and a surprise ending, its up there with "We dive at dawn" another based on fact.

Worth watching...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant drama and top class HD transfer on UK blu ray, 19 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Phantom [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Buy the UK version , its brilliant. Stunning HD transfer and great audio. The movie itself is a gem , great acting and Harris steals the show..... RECOMMENDED !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cold War Thriller that really works., 22 Sept. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
I am a massive Ed Harris fan so wanted to see this just beacuse he is in it. It is `based' on actual events that took place during The Cold War, when the nuclear stand off between America and Russia had us on the edges of our seats a few times and saw the emergence of CND, (now sadly reduced to a fashion logo). Ed Harris plays Demi the Captain of a diesel powered submarine with nuclear capability. He and his crew have just finished a lengthy mission when he is ordered back to sea.

Demi has been suffering seizures from an earlier incident which left him with a head injury. His judgement is sometimes impaired and in good old naval tradition he uses rum to sort out the whole problem. As was the case in those days everyone has a political officer on board and his is actually a friend, however they are also accompanied by some very zealous KGB types who are going to test a top secret new weapon. The KGB are led by Bruni played by David `X-Files' Duchovny. It soon becomes apparent that the KGB are not all they seem to be and might just be going rogue, but as Harris and his men discuss; you only go rogue for two reasons, one is to defect and the other is to start a war; no one thinks these uber Communista types are about to start working for Uncle Sam, and so the scene is set for a rather good thriller.

Now there are a few issues with this film that may turn some people off, for starters they are all supposed to be Russian and yet all speak with their normal accents which I know is fine but I would have liked a veiled attempt to at least pretend to pronounce all your `R's backwards etc or put in `ski' after a few things- still never mind. Then some of the scenes are a bit modern the port is so not 1968, they would have referred to each other as `comrade' and not `sir' etc. There is a full list for real anoraks on IMDB in case you are bothered.

All of that said I still really enjoyed it, it was suspenseful, it was tense and there were some very good performances, Harris and Duchovny were brilliant as was one of my favourites Lance Henriksen as Markov who you may remember from `Millennium' or as the robot in `Aliens' or indeed `Aliens vs. Predators'. The production is generally impressive and everyone puts in solid performances and the time just flew by. So for some Cold War retro thrills you could do a lot worse than to check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Submarine Suspense!, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
K. Daniels "Kyle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
There are some truly amazing submarine movies out there. From Crimson Tide to The Hunt For Red October, these films have since become classics and are full of suspense and tension throughout, helped by the claustrophobic feel of the submarine.

Phantom delivers the goods and turns out to be one of the best films of it's kind. A little known gem of a movie that's bound to become a classic in the future! With a great cast including The X-Files David Duchovny, Ed Harris and Lance Henriksen.

I'd highly recommended this to all fans of war films and thrillers. It's a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful submarine film, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible film, one of the few I have thrown away. Maybe it's because I like my submarine films, but this film is ludicrously implausible and has so many terrible special effects and scenes that just ruin the suspension of disbelief. An example is the 70s cargo ship they creep up underneath, which is clearly a very modern car carrier. Very poor indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
Given as a present and they enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Seen Ed Harris in Better, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
I like most Ed Harris movies as they tend to have good storylines. His acting in this was excellent, but overall the movie was just dull for me, particularly having seen Red October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still life in an old boat, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
I don't think there's ever been much call for Submarine movies these days, with a cast of Duchovny,Harris & Fichtner, you would expect it to at least make the cinema, not a smash hit, but I think it's really been underdone as a straight to DVD release. The movie it's self is very good, Duchovny especially (in my opinion) makes it his own in this. Based on actual events that will forever be unknown, it does give you a glimpse of just what could have been and what we don't know what happens beneath the waves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars submarine, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
this sort of film is not really my scene it is a long drawn out story to it you have to follow it
very carefully its not the sort of thing I would watch very often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just felt like it had all been done before, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom [DVD] (DVD)
Even my wife got board and she loves Ed. Just felt like it had all been done before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Phantom [Blu-ray]
Phantom [Blu-ray] by Todd Robinson (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews