Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING CELEBRATION OF STARBLAZERS
Space Battleship Yamato is nothing short of a master piece.

This is particularly going to be the case for every fan of the original Star Blazers animated series that came out in the late 70's and early 80's. It was before it's time then and it's still incredibly amazing today.

This live action movie captured the spirit of the show fantastically...
Published on 30 Aug 2012 by Sean Curtin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too indulgent with its source series
Two problems with the live action Space Battleship Yamato. Its based off an anime series, and this is one of the best anime to live adaptations I've seen, at the same time the writing hasn't done enough to ensure the film stands on its own two feet. Many aspect are left open, in a way that suggests "if you enjoyed this, you'll love the series". Leaving this film in a...
Published 13 months ago by Rob Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING CELEBRATION OF STARBLAZERS, 30 Aug 2012
By 
Sean Curtin (Warners Bay, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Space Battleship Yamato is nothing short of a master piece.

This is particularly going to be the case for every fan of the original Star Blazers animated series that came out in the late 70's and early 80's. It was before it's time then and it's still incredibly amazing today.

This live action movie captured the spirit of the show fantastically. The actors were all superb and the attention to detail was incredible.

As they were only commissioned to do a single film, I thought the adaptation of the Gamalons(completely changed from the ones we knew in the animated films. There's still inklings of that race but there heavily modified for the movie), was incredible and understood the need to change them to fit with the limited time frame of the movie.

The action scenes that are jam packed into this movie are incredible. As a kid I always used to love the combat scenes in Starblazers and I was amazed that when watching this movie I was actually wishing for more of the charcter interactions and story arc. However I was tickled pink to say the least with the amazing combat scenes. In essence this is a battle ship and I felt the pace of the movie was superb and really captured that in the heat of battle feeling.

My only gripe with the entire film was that I wanted more, which essentially means it was a terrific movie. (All good movies should leave you feeling this way).

I'm hoping that there might be a follow up movie to capture the next season of Starblazers and perhaps even a third(well most movie houses seem to go for trilogies these days).

Seriously, if your a fan of Starblazers, then get this now. Please don't download it, buy it to support these guys, it's been the best movie purchase I've made in years. In fact I'll even put it above my collectors box set of Blade Runner and that's got to be saying something to the hard core SciFi fans. I'll be watching this again and again, it's in a nutshell, breathtaking and an amazing experience to see a Scifi classic given live action status.

Way to go
Director & VFX: Takashi Yamazaki
Producer: Toshiaki Nakazawa
Original Story: Yoshinobu Nishizaki
Screenplay: Shimako Sato
Cast: Takuya Kimura (from SMAP, Love and Honor, Hero), Meisa Kuroki (Crows Zero, Vexille, The Sword of Alexander), Toshiro Yanagiba, Shinichi Tsutsumi (Princess Toyotomi, A Lone Scalpel, Villon's Wife, Maiko Haaaan!!!)

I thank you all from the bottom of my heart for keeping the magic of Starblazers alive and well.

Sean A. Curtin

PS. I've seen some people give this movie less than glamarous reviews and all I can say is that they mustn't be Starblazers fans. Those that are, are going to love this movie. Those that arn't well if your serious SciFi fans, watch the three seasons of Starblazers before you watch this movie. Then maybe, you'll understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most entertaining sci-fi spectacles of recent years, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Based on the Japanese anime series of the 70s shown on US TV as Starblazers, Toho’s lavish 2010 live-action version of Space Battleship Yamato takes the show’s rather silly premise and runs with it with unexpected success. It’s the kind of thing that you can usually only get away with in animation, but amazingly they manage to make it play with flesh and blood actors as the last survivors of a losing war with an alien race that has rendered the earth’s surface uninhabitable who, naturally, send a refurbished WW2 battleship into space in a last ditch effort to save the planet. That’s right, a WW2 battleship. Yet somehow it creates just enough of a credible near-apocalyptic world where anything that can be salvaged and made into a weapon will be to sell the aerodynamically unfeasible idea and does an impressive enough job of distilling the story arc of the entire series into one 138-minute film without feeling it’s trying to pack in too much that it emerges as one of the most entertaining sci-fi spectacles of recent years.

Despite its surprisingly modest $22m budget, it’s an often spectacular production that makes you wonder how Toho could manage to make an epic sci-fi film with plenty of (for the most part) excellent special effects and a large ensemble cast for less than a quarter of what David Fincher spent on The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, let along the kind of money a Hollywood summer blockbuster would cost. Aside from a few bits of not-quite-finished-looking compositing in the alien planet scene there’s nothing that looks cut-rate or bargain basement here: Toho have certainly come a long way since their sci-fi films of the 50s and 60s.

Equally surprising is that it’s not an attempt to start a new franchise but a very definite one-off where any of the main characters can die and many of them do. In many ways the uncompromisingly high body count not only shows a complete disregard for the possibility of sequels but in a strange way acts as a more satisfying tribute to the crew of the WW2 battleship Yamato whose lives were thrown away in a futile gesture than the controversial 2005 war film that bore its name. Certainly there are a few surprisingly touching moments along the way on their suicide mission which may just owe more to propaganda and giving the last survivors of humanity a chance to die with hope than to any realistic prospect of success, which is a weightier approach than you might expect in a film about a WW2 battleship that’s been turned into a spaceship. Not that this is a groundbreaking drama or as relentlessly grim as the rebooted Battlestar Galactica TV series – it’s an old-fashioned story with plenty of clichéd situations and the usual war movie stock characters (when one talks about his family you know he won’t make it past the next two reels), but one that’s done right, striking the right balance between tried and trusted formula and the kind of old-fashioned craftsmanship that makes it feel more like an upgrade than a retread. It’s not without its flaws – Tsutomu Yamazaki’s dying captain veers between looking paralysed or just plain bored stiff with the whole thing long before he’s sent to sick bay – but its strengths are more than pleasing enough to outweigh them.

The Blu-ray offers a nice transfer of the slightly extended 138-minute version with English subtitles and a few extras – a couple of trailers and several special effects comparisons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanses SF Anime doe live action !, 6 Aug 2012
By 
Tony (Las Vegas, NV, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a huge fan of the Starblazers tv series and when i heard of its rebirth as a anime then a live action I was thrilled . however bad luck was on my side since the USA was not going to carrying it until 2013 or 2014 . I was overjoyed at seeing it on Amazon.Uk .
Anyways the CGI is awesome .The fight scenes are things you love catching on sf space battles . Granted it differers from the anime with a few twists BUT to quote River Song " Spiolers " ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too indulgent with its source series, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Space Battleship Yamato [DVD] (DVD)
Two problems with the live action Space Battleship Yamato. Its based off an anime series, and this is one of the best anime to live adaptations I've seen, at the same time the writing hasn't done enough to ensure the film stands on its own two feet. Many aspect are left open, in a way that suggests "if you enjoyed this, you'll love the series". Leaving this film in a state of limbo for large stretches. The second problem is the flat out ridiculous indulgence in melodrama during the last 10 minutes, taking any sting out of the tail. But it's still a fun watch, without revisiting the classics there aren't many new sci-fi films that trade in space opera and spaceships. With its mix of Star Wars, Star Trek(TV) and Mass Effect (VG), it's refreshingly old-school and refreshingly simplistic. It just suffers from a lack of its own fully realised identity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi blockbusters are rising in the east, 20 Aug 2013
Probably one of the best sci-fi films I've seen for a while, with great visuals and some awesome action that should please any viewer. Given the recent rebirth of Star Trek, and ongoing success of Hollywood sci-fi and visually appealing blockbusters, it's a pleasure to see that Japan has its own answer to this trend. The biggest budget film in Japanese history matches up to its western counterparts and offers a fresh look at space exploration.

One important thing to note is the film is very much a product of Japanese culture. The scripting is often over-dramatic, and the acting quite exaggerated, but if you can accept these as stylistic differences to the standard Hollywood blockbuster, then Space Battleship Yamato is definitely an essential in your sci-fi epic collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, not recommended., 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Battleship Yamato [DVD] (DVD)
Sadly, not recommended.

I pre-ordered this.

I wanted to like it.

Unfortunately the film borders on tedious: I nearly fell asleep.

Compared with the anime (all of them, even the butchered by the Yanks Star Blazers) this film is a very, very poor effort.

Don't waste your hard-earned on this: get yourself copies of the current anime TV series Space Battleship Yamato 2199 which is truly superb; or any of the other TV/Film anime versions (even Star Blazers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good fun but high quality, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. D. C. Strickland (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot understand German or Japanese but the lack of English sub-titles did not detract from my enjoyment of this film, to which I award a full 5 stars. My rating is more subjective than my usual objective self. I bought this film to see an example of how other people (i.e. other than Americans or British) treat the subjects they make films about. It's a good education getting into world cinema. For this particular subject, totally the expression of someone's imagination, I was fascinated by how a WW2 battleship, with its attendant level of contemporary technology (i.e. dinosaurian by today's standards) could be transformed into an inter-stellar vehicle with some quality clout. I was pleased with the attempt, though of course it's really over the top. I love films with copious SF, and Space Battleship Yamato does not disappoint. The story line is not at all naff, because if it had been I'd have been embarrassed. Another point to take into account is comparing this film with the Japanese "The Pacific Battleship Yamato", which features the same WW2 vessel, and is a fist-class film in every way. Both films are meticulous in paying attention to the ship's design details, something I've a bee in my bonnet about as a student of the history of ship design. As a point of knowledge, the Yamato had an identical sister-ship Musashi (both sunk) and were the largest battleships ever constructed; they were NOT the largest warships built, as erroneously stated in the Japanese film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... must have missed it, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Battleship Yamato [DVD] (DVD)
There is probably something special about this movie, maybe in the original sound version.. I watched it in English and could not detect anything amazing: the story is fragmented, story bits/lines are chipped and unfinished, acting is very enthusiastic but spastic and wooden, FX are mediocre...
Certainly, one can say that exactly this go at the cliché like "Bonzai!" attitude which is remnant of the Japanese WW2 films is entertaining.
However in such a case...I would rather watch "starship troopers"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Japanese, 22 Nov 2013
By 
M. A. Woods (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Live action adaptations of animated classics tend to go quite badly wrong regardless of where the original source material was created (I'm looking at you Aeon Flux) When then an Anime has a plethora of fans in the east and the west, albeit under different titles the challenge is even greater. Yamato succeeds, it's an exciting and beautiful tribute to a great anime. The battle sequences are full of light and colour and the effects designers have really gone to town to make sure the minute details are there. I give it four stars not for a lack of quality but because it suffers from the same syndrome any film does when it attempts to boil down a 25+ episode series into two hours, lack of character development, "I've just met you, now I hate you, I love you now lets settle down." That aside the meat of the story is well told and hangs together nicely, the subtitles are good if sometimes a little wooden and the music is top notch. All in all a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelllent japanese sci-fi, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not yet released in scandinavia i still wonder why that is so, however did fetch this from Amazon and that was good. The sound was terrific DTS HD-MA, even in small compartemnts during movie there is surround sound, wish it would been in 7.1 surround intead of 5.1 but it has great sound all the way, picture war crystal clear not even a single shot was out of focus. The special effects department has done a great job i just loved the idea of the whole movie despite the facts that Yamato was blown out of the water back in '45.
I'll give the movie an 9 out of ten, sound an 9/10 and picture an 10/10.
Extra features only lacks interviews of the film crew and that's too bad because i don't know anything about the japanese moviemakers and their actors.
But yes there is other extra material of interests and that was nice too see.

Great Movie, have a nice day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space Battleship Yamato [DVD]
Space Battleship Yamato [DVD] by Takashi Yamazaki (DVD - 2013)
£10.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews