Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent finale to the series
Jupiter War, Neal Asher, Tor, 2013, 471pp.

This is an excellent finale to the `Owner' series by this author, and continues directly on from the end of the previous novel, Zero Point (Owner Trilogy 2). It is an excellently constructed novel, as Argus Station moves from Mars, to the far side of the Sun (from Earth), to the Asteroid Belt, and to the moons of...
Published 8 months ago by No More Mr. Mice Guy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not his greatest
I loved the first book but i find i'm reading this just to get to the end not so thrilling.
However neal asher does inject many points to ponder on the state of the human race politic and other thought provoking ideas.
Published 9 months ago by A. Peach


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do not know how this author keeps the standard so high; I rate all his books highly. This ends his trilogy set in the solar system brilliantly, pulling the threads together and providing a satisfying conclusion. But it's the detail I love. He writes well, his descriptions are startling and it makes for much more than just a page-turning read. Very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spectatcular, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War (Owner Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
4.5 stars. Lots of action and intrigue, great space battles and a interesting development of the main characters. Better than the second novel in this series. Recommended and can't wait to read the next Asher novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Wonderful Book!, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War (Owner Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
Hooking to the end. I was first snagged by this wonderful series only a few years ago, and I must state what a beautiful end to a great trilogy. Exiting and thrilling throughout, sad that this interesting and futuristic set of books is finally over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking future vision, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A typically well written Hi Tech future vision by one of our best authors. Any book by Asher is worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense Action and Thought Provoking Scenario, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Earth is full. The population has outstripped the planet's ability to feed everyone, and grim choices face the ruling Committee. From this forms a murderous regime and genocide, with Committee members surviving and all others being expendable. Out from under the boot heel crawls Saul. His memory wiped and narrowly escaping an incinerator, he becomes a one-man resistance movement, finally breaking free of Earth and the Committee.

But Earth will not let him go, and as he and the passengers aboard his ship struggle to repair and re-equip for flight out of the solar system, Chairman Galahad pits the Earth's resources against Saul whilst holding tightly to the secret behind the billions of dead.

I found this to be a different read to Asher's previous works. Rather than the roller coaster ride of the "Polity" tales, "The Owner" series features intense action alongside a long plot, painstaking engineering descriptions and scientific marvels. The gut-wrenching situation on the over-populated future Earth gives much thought to the careless attitudes of Government and the corrupt ambitions of the few who rule them, and it is difficult not to look a the UK's current welfare situation and imagine the worst outcomes of extremist right wing politics. Excellent trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying final part of the Trilogy, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War (Owner Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
No Spoilers.

Really enjoyed this book, I felt the story came together really well for this installment. I wasn't entirely sure about the first one in the series, it was good, but didn't grip me quite as much as some of Asher's other books. I felt similarly about the second book, but obviously I enjoyed both enough to buy the next one!

This one was, in my opinion, the best of the three. Asher's ideas on robotics and robot-human interactions in the depths of space reads well, feels realistic and is at times very though-provoking indeed. That played off against the human-centric totalitarian government of Earth, with the dictators focus on the purely biological is a great counterpoint. A good combination.

The ending was satisfying, left me wanting more, but feeling like I'd been along for a good ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant end to the Owner trilogy, 20 Oct 2013
By 
F. A. Parkin "Lizzie" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jupiter War (Owner Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
I kept having to force myself to read more slowly as I wanted to know what happened and how the very clever Mr Asher was going to tie it all together. I was not disappointed. Totally fabulous. He is right at the top of my favourite authors and if you haven't read his Polity series yet you are in for a treat. Thanks Neal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real good read, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War (Owner Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
Still laying the foundations for the short stories we've had over the several previous years. When's the next installment coming, 'cause I'll sign up for it now.

If you've not read the previous "Owner" short stories then get searching, they are out there. PS. I'm not referring to the previous two books, The Departure and Zero Point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulling off the difficult dismount, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War (Owner Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
So often individual books and particularly series, fail on the dismount, the ending. Neal Asher nails the ending perfectly, particularly as it looks like he's going to cock it up near the end! but it's a deliberate ploy and all the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant trilogy up there with Peter Hamilton space opera., 17 Oct 2013
By 
Paul Brash (San Ramon, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jupiter War (Owner Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent space opera, was well spun out over three volumes, Saul developed throughout always with the risk of losing his humanity but even at the end with the naming of the ship part of his humanity was still evident. Serene Galahad made a brilliant psychotic dictator I picture her looking like Selma Blair for some reason!!

There is room for another book! In this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jupiter War (Owner Trilogy 3)
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews