Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but somewhat predicatable, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Kindle Edition)
I've really enjoyed all of Gary Gibson's books, and the Shoal Trilogy were my introduction to his writing.

Marauder is undoubtedly a good book, and it races along towards its conclusion. For those who have read his previous books, this is almost an epilogue to them. The one thing that lets it down is that several of the supposedly shocking plot developments are rather obvious from quite early on - not to spoil anything, but Megan's previous life and her means of escape from Redstone are things that had me thinking 'why doesn't she does do that rather go through all of this?'. Worth reading, and the first of September's onslaught of major SF novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just to good to leave alone! More of the Shoal universe, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Roy Ellor "Roy Ellor" (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Kindle Edition)
To me, Gary Gibson and Neal Asher are the business at the kind of sci-fi I love to immerse myself within.

This novel, set in the future of the Shoal trilogy universe, reminds me a little of the way Peter F Hamilton also returned to his Commonwealth universe with a new story that gathered in the strands of his previous work. It isn't by any means a filler or add-on to a completed story arc, as it's a perfectly readable book in its own right. I would recommend, however, that you come into the Shoal universe at the beginning Stealing Light (Shoal Sequence) if you are new to Gary's work and worlds then work your way up to this excellent story as it will make it all the more enjoyable.

Five stars from me for a thoroughly excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Kindle Edition)
Exciting and with a protagonist one cares about, this is probably the best of the Shoal series. I really don't have more to say about it, but did want to add stars to the book as it is worth recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Marauder (Hardcover)
this is an exciting and solid chunk of sci fi,great storylines and characters.the marauder is menacing and interesting the main characters carry the plot well even the bad guys are nice and bad.i was impressed with how it all worked so well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, fine series, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Kindle Edition)
This is the series that keeps on giving. Am loving the descriptions of space he's created. Full of aliens, space battles and great characters. I hope the Shoal will reappear soon; if there's a better alien than a superior intelligent fish, I've not yet met one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Kindle Edition)
The Nova War story arc continues here with another satisfactory entry. Gibson does seem to tripping over his ancient, galaxy spanning civilizations in this episode, with every indication that we'll meet another, hitherto unannounced race in the next installment.

It doesn't quite hit the frenetic pace and energy of Nova Wars for me, but does serve as an entertaining bridge to bringing Dakota's story to a close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of wonders, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Kindle Edition)
Gary Gibson is fast becoming one of my favourite authors, let alone favourite science fiction authors. He has the considerable, not-to-be-underestimated talent of bringing lightness and accessibility to hard science fiction. While I will always enjoy a good SF bookbrick, there is something to be said for a SF novel that you can hold in one hand without it having lost any of the wonder and vision and clever depth of novels often twice the size. Marauder is a novel that I have been waiting months for, the pressure of the wait intensified greatly by reading The Thousand Emperors (Final Days 2) this summer. The joy of finally having Marauder in my hands to read was heightened by the gorgeous glow of the cover. It's a goodlooking book and the insides are just as appetising.

Marauder is set within the universe of the Shoal Trilogy and yet it is also a standalone novel. Earlier this year I read the first of the trilogy, Stealing Light, because I wanted to be well-acquainted with the universe, its beings, planets and terms, before reading Marauder. There is mention of the people and events of Stealing Light in Marauder, as well as reference to the other two novels in the trilogy, but you could quite happily read Marauder without any knowledge at all of the earlier books. Mind you, I'll be back to finish the trilogy.

One of the strengths of Gary Gibson's writing is his characters - a mix of strength and vulnerability, and they're satisfyingly complex. The principal characters are often on their own journey to self-knowledge and so it's not surprising that they surprise us just as much as they astonish themselves. In Marauder we have two fascinating and contrasting female figures - Megan, an experienced, assured machine head, who knows what she wants, what she has to do, and nothing can stand in her way; and Gabrielle, young, relatively innocent and used and ready to fight back. Manipulating them both, to varying degrees of success, is an array of men on both sides of a bitter struggle to keep their planet dominant. FTL (faster than light) technology is what everyone wants, no matter its risks, and to keep it or win it is the biggest prize of all in this universe. But far away, hiding within a distant star system, is the Wanderer or Marauder. Our characters are drawn to it. But what does it want?

The very human stories of Megan and Gabrielle, as well as Bash (Megan's friend), contrast fiercely and poignantly with the ambitions of those who would use them. Life is cheap and squandered while to Gabrielle in particular it is sacred. What Bash endures for much of the novel is heartrending and shows Megan and Gabrielle in a light that is at odds with the inhumanity that they must fight against. It's very difficult not to feel involved with these wonderful characters. The baddies, though, are always interesting, not least because they can never be as powerful as they would like to be.

Marauder is full of wonders - the ships and worlds, the mix of human and artificial intelligence, the unknowable monster that is the Marauder and the wider context of the FTL drives and the battle for their control that has scarred the galaxy for millennia. History here is being made. The novel is also full of twists and turns, providing a welcome continuation of the original Shoal trilogy while striking free into new territory.

Marauder is great science fiction but it is also an absorbing thriller, intricately plotted and wonderfully imagined. For me, this is the perfect mix and yet again I find myself hanging on to every word Gary Gibson writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Sundodger (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Kindle Edition)
A great story with multiple threads to it. The backdrop is a little like the Progenitors. Interesting aliens and mad tech appeals to my inner sci fi nut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Information Space, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Hardcover)
I haven’t read a science-fiction novel since Blade Runner (nearly 25 years ago). Before that, I think the only sci-fi novel I read was a Star Trek story written by William Shatner. I enjoy science-fiction films and television shows, or some, but for whatever reason, SF-lit never really appealed. But I might have to reconsider that perspective after reading Marauder, written by Gary Gibson, a rising star in the UK’s sci-fi literary scene. Marauder was fast-paced, impressively detailed, and well-conceived. The writer has it mapped out, and the reader is jolted and jarred through a series of dramatic events toward a spectacular conclusion and the hint of stories to come. Gary Gibson’s Marauder was highly entertaining. I give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marauder
Marauder by Gary Gibson
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews