Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Your Eyes
Ideal beginner telescope, the SkyWatcher 130P comes with a fairly robust EQ-2 tripod mount, a 10 and 25mm objective lenses (relatively good quality), a red-dot finder and a good operating manual. The "P" stands for parabolic mirror which offers better views than the convex mirrors traditionally used in Newtonian telescopes. (The 130PM is the same 'scope but with the...
Published on 4 Feb. 2011 by J. G. Futers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Double check what you get
Looked the same but did not match up with what it said on the advert. Parts missing and even the replacement was the same
Published 14 days ago by linda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Your Eyes, 4 Feb. 2011
By 
J. G. Futers "Wee Geordie" (Peeblesshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ideal beginner telescope, the SkyWatcher 130P comes with a fairly robust EQ-2 tripod mount, a 10 and 25mm objective lenses (relatively good quality), a red-dot finder and a good operating manual. The "P" stands for parabolic mirror which offers better views than the convex mirrors traditionally used in Newtonian telescopes. (The 130PM is the same 'scope but with the addition of an RA motor drive!)
The whole package arrives in a single well packed box; spend a bit of time reading the assembly instructions before decanting the parts! The tripod goes together easily enough but would benefit from the application of some Lithium grease to all sliding faces, especially the RA and DEC swivvles on the "head".
The 'scope is of the Newtonian design, so you look into the side of the top of the tube and not the end. The mirrors are of excellent quality and the tube virtually free of internal reflections but the secondary mirror spider is close to the opening of the tube and will reflect street light and moonlight into the optical path if they are too close to the field of view (a simple cardboard "hood" can be made to elliminate this). I found the scope arrived fully collimated so it was ready to use as soon as it was assembled.
Set up the red-dot finder in daylight as per instructions using the 25mm lens, aim it at a distant landmark and adjust till the landmark appears (upside down and centred) in the lens (NEVER LOOK AT THE SUN)
All you need now is a dark night and clear sky to enjoy a whole new world. This design of 'scope is designed to direct the maximum amount of light to the eyepiece: the tube dust cap has a second (small) cap in it: remove only the small cap to allow the observation of the moon without being "blinded" (or use a moon filter).
To complete the ensemble the beginner might consider adding a Planisphere Philip's Planisphere: Northern 51.5 Degrees - British Isles, Northern Europe Northern USA and Canada (Philip's Astronomy), a red light torch OVL Dual Beam Astronomers Torch a moon filter Celestron Moon Filter, a barlow lens Telescope 2x Barlow For Increasing your magnification, and a guide to the night sky Guide to Stars and Planets (Philip's Astronomy) or Universe: The Definitive Visual Guide (Astronomy)
Note: this is a "small" scope; so the moon will be spectacular but planets will be just small discs with moons and rings, however the light gathering power of the 'scope will bring nebulae and galaxies into view (when you know where to look!) and more stars than you could imagine!! Open your eyes and enjoy!!!
O.V.L (Optical Vision Ltd who import Skyatcher Telescopes) often run offers for any-one who buys one of these 'scopes. I bought a superb filter and eyepiece kit for £69 (saving about £130). They don't sell 'scopes direct but offer an excellent back-up service (spares etc.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't decide on a scope? Just buy it!, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
flashleg8 (Hall-of-the-Larks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this telescope after weeks of indecision about what kind of scope to buy. Too much indecision. The bottom line of all the research I done was, buy the best scope you can afford. Simple. This fell in my price range - better than a 114mm aperture (around £100) and not as good as a 150mm aperture (more than £300). I wasn't disappointed with this. It's a sturdy piece of kit and comes with comprehensive instructions. You need to get used to the non-intuitive mount, but other than that its pretty simple to set up. The red dot finder works fine and is easy to align. Comes with a 10mm and 25mm eyepiece. I've ordered a cheap 2 x Barlow lens and a moon filter that I've not had a chance to use yet. I would recommend buying "Turn Left at Orion" a book to show what are the interesting things to look at and what they realistically look like through a small scope. Like other people have said, you need to be realistic about what you will see with any telescope - you won't get Hubble type views! First thing I looked at was Jupiter (the brightest thing in the sky - no moon yet!). You can see a surprising amount of detail and four moons. Next thing was M42 nebula on Orion's belt, also stunning.
As I said at the start, you can look and weigh up forever - but you'd better spend your time out looking at the sky!
Quick delivery too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This telescope ROCKS!, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this after reading the reviews as I had no idea how to choose a first telescope! So far its been absolutely brilliant - we can see the craters on the moon and the spot where Apollo landed! We can also see the red stripes on Jupiter and all jupiter's moons -just awesome. We have got the bug !

Highly recommend this for a starter telescope. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was torn between this and the skyliner 150p on a dob mount. Really happy with my purchase. Feels well built and the viewing is great.

I would get a barlow lens (not included) and a moon filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality piece of kit, very happy., 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did a fair bit of research on entry level telescopes before parting with my cash. Taking feedback from multiple sources
(online reviews, sky at night magazine, etc etc) this seemed to be the best choice for the money.
Plenty of people recommending, it so I took the plunge, and boy am I glad I did !

When the telescope arrived the first thing that struck me was how well packaged it was. So plus points already.
Out of the package it seems like a sturdy piece of kit for the money, again I was impressed.

Read the instructions, read them again, then again. Finally I set it up, mirror seems to be aligned perfectly, no collimation
required. And the red dot pointer is almost bang on with no adjustment either. Certainly close enough to allow me to find
jupiter and all 4 moons on my first attempt :o). And I could clearly see cloud bands on Jupiter, and that's with the stock
lenses which are quite poor in the scale of things I hear.

So I'm a beginner and I managed to find and see Jupiter and all four moons straight away, that should tell you a bit.
I've since tried the Orion nebula and can see a misty patch, and I've also seen some great detail on the moon.
Next target to tick off the list ... Saturn....

So in conclusion very happy with my purchase, I can't see how you can do better for the money.

Now to order some better eyepieces and kit to connect a DSLR for a bit of astrophotography :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starter scope!, 19 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Skywatcher Explorer 130P f / 650 Newton Telescope with Parabolic Mirror 5.1 Inches Silver (Accessory)
I am 15 years old and i got into stuff like planets because mu uncle is very much into it and he is very clever when it comes to planets and other things to do with space and so because of him i have got into it. After i looked at the moon for the first time through his telescope ( his is £300) at the moon i was amazed and straight away wanted a telescope. i asked him for what to get and gave him my price range and he told me about this and so i got it and this is the first telescope i have ever had. i have to say i am very pleased with it. the moon looks great with it. i did also buy a 6mm eye piece as the lowest you get with this is a 10 and you don't always get to see it but when you do its amazing, through my 6mm eye piece i could see the bands (brown lines) of jupiter which was great so i would highly recommend this as a beginner scope and if you continue to enjoy space then move on to a more expensive model in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall I'm very pleased with it with the exception of the red dot ..., 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skywatcher Explorer 130P f / 650 Newton Telescope with Parabolic Mirror 5.1 Inches Silver (Accessory)
I purchased this for Christmas 2014 and so have had it for a couple of months now. This is my first foray into astronomy. Please bear that in mind.

Overall I'm very pleased with it with the exception of the red dot finder which I simply could not puzzle out. It also feels a bit cheap. I've recently replaced that with a Sywatcher 9x50 Finderscope which feels of far better quality and is obvious to use once set up. Add about £60 to the price if that sounds good for you. Had the scope come with the finderscope rather than the dot finder, the kit would have got the full 5 stars from me.

The scope itself is a very good entry level bit of kit. Setting it up is straightforward although I'd suggest it's a job for two, preferably in daylight! I leave it set up. It takes up a bit of room, is quite heavy to lug about and tricky to squeeze through doors, but that's the nature of the beast.

You will not give Hubble or Jodrell Bank too much competition, but images of The Moon are, to this L-plate astronomer, breathtaking. Jupiter too. I've even managed a couple of handheld photos of the former through the eyepiece and they pass muster. However, as astronomical objects scoot through the sky you will need motor drives to track them precisely to achieve the required shutter speeds without blurring, so include them if you're interested in astrophotography. If you are going to be looking at The Moon much (and why wouldn't you?), invest in a moon filter. The Moon proves to be very bright indeed! These screw into the bottom of the eyepiece.

Still much to learn. If you're new to the hobby as I am, consider getting a monthly magazine to inform your viewing. There are things going on up there and it would be a shame to miss them for the sake of around a fiver a month. Last night for example I viewed a conjunction between Venus and Uranus, the brightest and dimmest of the planets. Overall, this kit is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 2 May 2013
This telescope truly is amazing - the heavens will reveal themselves with this piece of kit. The optics are great. It is an amazing all rounder - great for nebulae, galaxies, could be better on planets (still very good) but moon was great. Stunning! For more, please see my review website of the product - [...] Yes, I liked it that much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great telescope, 18 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Skywatcher Explorer 130P f / 650 Newton Telescope with Parabolic Mirror 5.1 Inches Silver (Accessory)
This is a great scope. Be realistic about what you expect to see and you will not be dissapointed. You'll see Jupiter (2 x bands and larger moons visible), the Orion Nebula (stunning), the Pleiades (just dots of light, but hundreds more than without a scope), deep sky nebula, globular clusters and even galaxies. The Leo Trio is quite a site even through a scope this size, and of course Andromeda.

Quite simply forget about some of the Hubble images you see, there's a reason why they are so good, the scope is massive. In summary, I can see a smudge of light, but it's actually a galaxy 35 million light years away, 100,000 light years across and is visible through a 650mm metal tube that cost under 200 quid. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Double check what you get, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skywatcher Explorer 130P f / 650 Newton Telescope with Parabolic Mirror 5.1 Inches Silver (Accessory)
Looked the same but did not match up with what it said on the advert. Parts missing and even the replacement was the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews