Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good To Go
A young woman is at a bar drinking when her foster brother walks in, and the story this woman tells is not believable. Sarah woke up from a nap while riding the train, gets off, makes a call, and then walks down the train walkway. She sees another woman pacing, and the other woman is weeping as she takes off her coat and neatly lays it on her shoes, she looks up and then...
Published 16 months ago by prisrob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good programme but very bad audio on Prime
Trying to watch on Amazon Prime. It is a good series however it is let down on Amazon Prime as the audio is terrible and spoils the programme. Supposed to be 5.1, but the sound is only out of one speaker, regardless what gunplay it through. Amazon needs to sort this out.
Published 5 months ago by M. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good To Go, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
A young woman is at a bar drinking when her foster brother walks in, and the story this woman tells is not believable. Sarah woke up from a nap while riding the train, gets off, makes a call, and then walks down the train walkway. She sees another woman pacing, and the other woman is weeping as she takes off her coat and neatly lays it on her shoes, she looks up and then jumps in front of the train. Beside the shock of this woman killing herself, she looks exactly like Sarah. Sarah in the heat of the moment steals the handbag and meets up with her foster brother,

Tatiana Maslany, plays Sarah. She is close to her adopted brother, Felix, played by Jordan Gavaris, and she tells him about her experience and that she has left her abusive lover. Sarah decides to take on the persona of Beth after she sees the lovely apartment, car and clothes Beth has. She also has a very handsome boyfriend, and a plethora of secrets. The first episode alone is enough to snare you in, and has the series moves along, so do we.

This is an exciting, well written not so sci-fi drama. The storyline moves quickly, and you may need to watch the episodes twice to keep up, and to observe every nuance. Tatiana Maslany is as fine an actress as I have seen, she develops the character(s) as we move along. The acting is superb, and we never know what is behind the next curtain. Season One on BBC America is done, and we await season two at the end of March.

Recommended. prisrob 03-23-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up All Night...and Loving It., 28 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I tried watching this because the name and description sounded interesting. From the very first episode I was hooked, which is somewhat unusual for me. The idea of these copies of one person scattered throughout the world who were getting in touch with one another was fascinating. Add in shadowy forces and the fact that you don't know who is actually good or bad and it was nearly impossible to stop watching and go to bed. So for the most part I didn't.

This is not, in my opinion anyway, a series for younger children. There is graphic violence, some nudity, and themes that are going to be over their heads. But if you like suspense I can recommend this series as one that might very well keep you up all night too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up to "Orphan Black.", 18 July 2015
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
It's odd that I can't remember exactly how I got turned on to "Orphan Black" but it's become my favorite series by far. I'm a Yank and so caught up in this show that I periodically check the most recent reviews of OB on Amazon.US to share the fun of blown-away newcomers to the series. There are now 13,183 reviews of "Orphan Black" Season 1 on Amazon.US and I've watched that number grow many-fold over the past year or two. But the number of reviews on Amazon.UK remains stuck at about 1/100th of that: 134. I can't believe that no one is watching "Orphan Black" in the UK--you Brits will love it. IMPORTANT: avoid spoilers and start with Season 1 (or Series 1, if you prefer), Episode 1. I anticipate the thanks of a grateful nation. Below is a short review I did for my local library.

Don't let the naysayers discourage you from trying this extraordinary series--and avoid spoilers at all costs. "Orphan Black" is a thriller, a black comedy, a cop show, an acting clinic, a twisted family drama, a romance, and speculative fiction at its best. It celebrates the joy of science while scaring your pants off about possible abuses. This show will draw you in, keep you on the edge of your seat, make you laugh out loud, shriek with delight, and bang on the arm of your chair. Give it your full attention for two episodes, bearing in mind that a healthy dose of camp is a critical ingredient of this stew. If you're not on board by then, it's probably not for you. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TECHNICAL WIZARDRY & A VIRTUOSO CENTRAL PERFORMANCE, 2 May 2015
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Streetwise chancer Sarah sees a lookalike deliberately plunge in front of a train. At once she is off with the handbag and taking on the identity of suicide Beth. She moves into her lavish apartment and withdraws all her money from the bank. Beth's boyfriend hardly seems to notice the difference, her partner at the police precinct is only vaguely aware she is not quite herself. Yes, Beth was a cop (Sarah quickly and secretly learning how to fire a gun).

The start is so ludicrous I nearly gave up there and then, but am glad I did not. The ten episodes become addictive. Sarah and Beth turn out to be clones. There are others, one of them seriously scary and determined to kill the rest.

Main attraction is the tour de force by Tatiana Maslany, she playing many characters (6+?) with a variety of accents. Often several are convincingly on screen at once. Enjoyably involved is Jordan Gavaris as Sarah's gay foster brother Felix (his apartment the setting for some lively moments).

Throughout there is much excitement and gore, not to mention dark humour (luckless villain Victor sustaining various injuries; a nosy neighbour greatly to regret a moment of destructive spite).

No bonuses alas. It would have been interesting to have Tatiana Maslany discussing her roles and to learn how certain special effects were achieved. (Perhaps, though, it is better to leave us guessing?)

Certain powers-that-be have sinister agendas. How many clones will survive?

Welcome one of those shows where it is wise not to probe too deeply. Simply sit back and enjoy. Season 2 awaits, many will be glad to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very promising., 26 July 2015
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Tatiana Maslany has been given the lead in this innovative series and we,the viewers,have the chance to see a hugely dramatic range put in by this actress.

She plays the role of a young dropout who discovers that she is one of many women in existence who resemble herself exactly but are all leading different and separate lives in different locations.
Naturally we believe that we are all unique --- are they clones of her? Or is she just another clone of a 'real' person?

The plot of this 1st season is about her journey to find out the truth behind her discovery,and she plays all the clones on the way,including a suburban housewife(hilarious),a lesbian(tentative),a psycho East European killer(frightening),a detective and, I'm sure, a lot more to come in the next season.

Although set in the USA there is plenty of British humour and dialogue to enjoy(this is a production of BBC America),and there are some solid,in the main,supporting actors around Maslany who add to the interesting plot.
Worth a watch,a promising idea that could develop into something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ORPHAN BLACK: A TOUR-DE-FORCE PERFORMANCE BY TATIANA MASLANY with A GREAT CAST & STORYLINE, 13 July 2015
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Five VERSATILE Stars! When the low tech but compelling Sci-Fi drama “Orphan Black” premiered on BBC America, I passed on it as uninteresting after watching a few moments in the middle of an episode in 2013. Big mistake, this show must be watched from the first minute of Episode 1 to pick up all of the minute details of the storyline as it unravels. Plot: when the female drifter Sarah steals a purse belonging to a person with puzzlings looks, it pulls her into an amazing non-stop adventure. Now available on Amazon Prime, I gave it another shot and quickly became addicted because the crucial first scenes grab the viewer and pulls them through an amazing series of quite tantalizing twists and turns, as each new episode adds new levels of facts, characters, and 'mysteries within mysteries'. With Amazon Instant Video giving the ability to go through several episodes at a time, back-to-back, “Orphan Black” becomes even more addictive. As other reviewers have noted, the less spoilers the better, as the totality of the conspiracy unfolds piece by piece in each episode.

Tatiana Maslany is a marvelous actress who carries the load in an astounding award-winning performance with so many layers and nuances the viewer may occasionally lose track of who is who. No less marvelous is the writing, directing, the supporting cast, the cinematography, the pin-point editing, and a crucial highly-praised stand-in who seldom appears on camera but is an occasional focal point for Maslany’s performance. Great supporting performances by Jordan Gravis, Maria Doyle Kennedy, Dylan Bruce, Kevin Hanchard, Delphine Cormier, Skyler Wexler, and others. Highly Recommended with rating cautions noted below. Five MIND-BOGGLING Stars. (Amazon Instant Video. 10 episodes. Season 1. Rated TV-MA, Color, Closed Captioned. Profanity, partial nudity, gore, and socially-challenging situations. The series is currently in Season 3.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't recommend this enough. It's the best show I've ever seen., 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite show. It's just so exciting and action packed and complicated. Not to mention you've got Tatiana Maslany playing multiple characters and being brilliant as all of them! If you haven't watched it this is definitely a series to buy. Its only 10 episodes long but it feels like so much more because each episode is jam packed. There's absolutely no filler unlike a lot of American shows so you feel you've got your 22 episodes worth of story while only having to watch 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty talented acting!, 24 April 2015
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely amazing series! My husband and I are addicted to it and currently watching season 2. The actress Tatiana is mighty talented! I'm so impressed by how she plays different clones of herself, but you actually feel like they are different actresses- she's that good! I love the humor and style of the storyline. My favourite characters are a cross between Sarah and Helena. Sarah is a kick ass tough girl who won't take any rubbish from anyone... but she has a soft side, revealed when it involves her daughter.
Helena is hilarious, i love the random lines she comes off with and i often find myself copying her much to my husbands amusement... Shes a broken, sad sort of a character (and completely mad also!) but she has an inner strength and madness that is fun and scary to watch! Overall, I think the writing is clever and the acting is genius. Love it. Watch it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Individuality is a wonderful thing, 19 Jun. 2013
By 
H. Miller (London/Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I was able to watch this as it aired in the States and it is soon to be shown on BBC3- a great decision to buy up this series from its cousins, BBC America.

I will be honest and say that to love, or maybe even like, this show there are some things you have to overlook. The 'British' accents occasionally drift into Australian, and more regularly into Dick Van Dyke territory, but when you consider how much work this show must have been for its breakout star Tatiana Maslany- on screen for nearly every minute of each episode in one guise or another- a few slips can be forgiven, I think. Also, as a second season has already been commissioned, she has time to practice. This is a problem that will undoubtedly resonate more with UK audiences than it did in the US, so I expect to see less overwhelmingly positive reactions to Orphan Black over here.

If you can give it a chance and overlook that, and some dubious inferences related to genetics and the abilities of serving police detectives, you are rewarded with a slick, amazingly acted, sexy and suspenseful show that draws you in and keeps you guessing. As this is the first season there are, of course, more questions than answers at the end of it, but you are left both satisfied with what you have seen and looking forward to more.

Tatiana Maslany is already award winning in this (these?) roles (Critics' Choice Television Award), and I imagine there can only be more to come. Well worth a look for her work alone, but there is some great storytelling here as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series. Fast paced with some predictable and some unexpected twists. I can see why Tatiana Maslany got a bucketful of acting awards.. you do believe that the multiple characters that she plays are actually different people. The other main and supporting actors all provide strong and believable roles - which is a rariety. I don't know if this ever aired on the BBC in UK, but if not - they should run it. I'm looking forward to the second series and hope its out on DVD as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orphan Black: Series One [DVD]
Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] by Grant Harvey (DVD - 2014)
£7.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews