Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good To Go
A young woman is at a bar drinking when her foster brother walks in, and the story this woman tells is not believable. Sarah woke up from a nap while riding the train, gets off, makes a call, and then walks down the train walkway. She sees another woman pacing, and the other woman is weeping as she takes off her coat and neatly lays it on her shoes, she looks up and then...
Published 13 months ago by prisrob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good programme but very bad audio on Prime
Trying to watch on Amazon Prime. It is a good series however it is let down on Amazon Prime as the audio is terrible and spoils the programme. Supposed to be 5.1, but the sound is only out of one speaker, regardless what gunplay it through. Amazon needs to sort this out.
Published 2 months ago by M. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good To Go, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
A young woman is at a bar drinking when her foster brother walks in, and the story this woman tells is not believable. Sarah woke up from a nap while riding the train, gets off, makes a call, and then walks down the train walkway. She sees another woman pacing, and the other woman is weeping as she takes off her coat and neatly lays it on her shoes, she looks up and then jumps in front of the train. Beside the shock of this woman killing herself, she looks exactly like Sarah. Sarah in the heat of the moment steals the handbag and meets up with her foster brother,

Tatiana Maslany, plays Sarah. She is close to her adopted brother, Felix, played by Jordan Gavaris, and she tells him about her experience and that she has left her abusive lover. Sarah decides to take on the persona of Beth after she sees the lovely apartment, car and clothes Beth has. She also has a very handsome boyfriend, and a plethora of secrets. The first episode alone is enough to snare you in, and has the series moves along, so do we.

This is an exciting, well written not so sci-fi drama. The storyline moves quickly, and you may need to watch the episodes twice to keep up, and to observe every nuance. Tatiana Maslany is as fine an actress as I have seen, she develops the character(s) as we move along. The acting is superb, and we never know what is behind the next curtain. Season One on BBC America is done, and we await season two at the end of March.

Recommended. prisrob 03-23-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up All Night...and Loving It., 28 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I tried watching this because the name and description sounded interesting. From the very first episode I was hooked, which is somewhat unusual for me. The idea of these copies of one person scattered throughout the world who were getting in touch with one another was fascinating. Add in shadowy forces and the fact that you don't know who is actually good or bad and it was nearly impossible to stop watching and go to bed. So for the most part I didn't.

This is not, in my opinion anyway, a series for younger children. There is graphic violence, some nudity, and themes that are going to be over their heads. But if you like suspense I can recommend this series as one that might very well keep you up all night too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't recommend this enough. It's the best show I've ever seen., 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite show. It's just so exciting and action packed and complicated. Not to mention you've got Tatiana Maslany playing multiple characters and being brilliant as all of them! If you haven't watched it this is definitely a series to buy. Its only 10 episodes long but it feels like so much more because each episode is jam packed. There's absolutely no filler unlike a lot of American shows so you feel you've got your 22 episodes worth of story while only having to watch 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Individuality is a wonderful thing, 19 Jun. 2013
By 
H. Miller (London/Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I was able to watch this as it aired in the States and it is soon to be shown on BBC3- a great decision to buy up this series from its cousins, BBC America.

I will be honest and say that to love, or maybe even like, this show there are some things you have to overlook. The 'British' accents occasionally drift into Australian, and more regularly into Dick Van Dyke territory, but when you consider how much work this show must have been for its breakout star Tatiana Maslany- on screen for nearly every minute of each episode in one guise or another- a few slips can be forgiven, I think. Also, as a second season has already been commissioned, she has time to practice. This is a problem that will undoubtedly resonate more with UK audiences than it did in the US, so I expect to see less overwhelmingly positive reactions to Orphan Black over here.

If you can give it a chance and overlook that, and some dubious inferences related to genetics and the abilities of serving police detectives, you are rewarded with a slick, amazingly acted, sexy and suspenseful show that draws you in and keeps you guessing. As this is the first season there are, of course, more questions than answers at the end of it, but you are left both satisfied with what you have seen and looking forward to more.

Tatiana Maslany is already award winning in this (these?) roles (Critics' Choice Television Award), and I imagine there can only be more to come. Well worth a look for her work alone, but there is some great storytelling here as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series. Fast paced with some predictable and some unexpected twists. I can see why Tatiana Maslany got a bucketful of acting awards.. you do believe that the multiple characters that she plays are actually different people. The other main and supporting actors all provide strong and believable roles - which is a rariety. I don't know if this ever aired on the BBC in UK, but if not - they should run it. I'm looking forward to the second series and hope its out on DVD as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly innovative and wonderfully executed, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best new shows I have seen in years, and I am currently convincing everyone I know to watch it! Without giving the plot away, having one actress play the majority of the main characters is no mean feat. That Tatiana Maslany is able to pull it off without it feeling like just another novelty factor is incredible. That said, it is a show which is difficult to explain and I was initially put off by descriptions of the plot sounding overly complicated and sci-fi-ish. In reality, the science is balanced by the developing relationships between the characters, giving it a real heart. The background to the story is revealed as the series progresses, and I watched far too many episodes in one sitting simply because I had to find out what was happening!

Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense and thrilling - love it!, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had seen this series reviewed and wanted to catch up on series 1 so that we could then watch series 2 on BBC. I ordered a Dutch version by mistake but it made no difference because the sub titles were very easily removed. It has kept us entertained for over a week, watching one or two episodes a day. The plot twists and turns so much that you can never guess what the heck is coming next and the characters are all aspects of fascinating, horrifying and beautiful. Totally recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent show with an astonishing central performance, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orphan Black [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sarah Manning, a petty fraudster, has returned to the city she grew up in to put her life back together and reunite with her seven-year-old daughter, in the keeping of Sarah's foster mother. However, Sarah's life is thrown into turmoil when, getting off the train, she immediate comes face-to-face with a woman who is her exact double. The double immediately throws herself in front of a train. Shocked, Sarah steals her belongings and discovers she has a lot of money in savings. Sarah decides to pose her double to take that money and built a new life for her and her daughter...but when she discovers that there are yet other duplicates of her out there, things become a lot more complicated.

There are many reasons to watch Orphan Black: its compelling science fiction plot and ramifications (handled with a light touch), the perfectly-timed story development and pacing, the interesting array of three-dimensional supporting characters, its excellent soundtrack and its refusal to conform to any kind of formula are among them. But one stands tall over all others: the absolutely astonishing central performances by Canadian actress Tatiana Maslany. Maslany plays not just the central character of Sarah, but an array of her various doubles and duplicates. In one episode she plays no less than five characters, many of them interacting with each other. The interactions themselves are convincing (with judicious use of CGI and overlaying of images, but mostly clever double work and positioning) but it's Maslany's ability to fully inhabit and develop each character as a completely separate individual that is jaw-dropping. Even when they are posing as one another, it's possible to tell which is which through subtle nuances of expression. Before the season is half over, it's easy to join in the chorus of voices expressing disapproval that Maslany was robbed of an Emmy nomination this year. The only flaw in her performance is her 'street' English accent she uses as Sarah, which is mostly acceptable but occasionally dips towards Dick van Dyke territory. But it's easy to forgive given how good she is on every other level.

The supporting cast is a mixture of other young talent and established names. Providing experience and presence are Matt 'Max Headroom' Frewer and Maria Doyle Kennedy (probably best known internationally as Queen Catherine of Aragon on The Tudors, also known as 'the best thing in it') as the morally ambiguous Dr. Leekie and as Sarah's foster-mother Siobhan respectively. Amongst the other younger castmembers are Jordan Gavaris as Sarah's foster-brother and partner-in-crime Felix (whose English accent is better, though still a bit affected) and Michael Mando (who played the psychotic Vaas in the recent computer game Far Cry 3) as Vic, Sarah's highly unreliable ex-boyfriend who plays both an antagonistic and comic role as the series progresses. The cast is, as a whole, fairly likable and play their parts well, though the otherwise-solid Kevin Hanchard could do with bringing a bit more subtlety to his role as Detective Art Bell.

The series has a relentless pace to it which makes a nice change from other shows that seem to delight in rationing out their secrets to the audience over many years. Instead, Orphan Black covers more ground in its first episode than most shows manage in two seasons. By the end of these opening ten episodes alliances have been forged and shattered, major characters have arrived and been killed off and the secrets behind the duplicates have been exposed, explored, developed and complicated several times over. Yet the show never feels rushed, with a good blend of drama, psychological horror and occasionally hilarious comedy (particularly driven by Sarah's 'soccer mom' double, Alison) making each episode immensely watchable and indeed re-watchable in the light of information unveiled in later episodes. The show is also sensible in dropping even major characters for several episodes in a row when they have nothing to do rather than giving them pointless filler storylines. Not only is the cast good, but their interactions are highly engaging: Felix and Alison's initially prickly relationship develops into a more amusing friendship as the season continues, whilst Sarah finds it tricky to deceive Art, a good man who may end up on the opposing side to her.

Picking out flaws is almost impossible, and the most noticeable (such as Sarah's accent) are pretty trivial. One of the revelations in the season finale is a bit puzzling, since it is completely illegal and would never stand up in a court of law yet the characters react like it's a life-changing moment. There's also an argument that the actual cliffhanger is leaning towards the predictable cop-out side of things and, on occasion (most notably in the final two episodes, which barely pause for breath), the show's pace runs away with it a little and allows it to get away with a few minor lapses in plot logic.

But it's hard to criticise the show too much. Orphan Black's first season (****¾) is relentlessly entertaining, supremely-acted by its star and its science fiction plot is surprisingly well-developed (the science itself is a bit simplified for casual viewers, but the social ramifications are addressed nicely). It is available now on DVD and Blu-Ray in the USA, but, somewhat perplexingly, not until August 2014 in the UK (DVD, Blu-Ray).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 July 2014
By 
Miss M. Morris (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Such a good show, the dvd's came the next day and are all in great working condition. Titiana is such a amazing actress and this is such a good show with all its representation and stuff,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched the series very quickly. Completely hooked from the first episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orphan Black: Series One [DVD]
Orphan Black: Series One [DVD] by Grant Harvey (DVD - 2014)
£9.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews