Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Designed Specifically for NAS Storage
The Western Digital's Red range of SATA hard disks is designed specifically for use in home and small business NAS devices. With this purpose in mind, the WD's are built for durability, power efficiency and low noise levels of just 23dB(A). Western Digital's `Intellipower' system, which uses caching, promises faster throughput than you'd expect from a 5,400rpm disk...
Published 23 months ago by Sussman

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review for WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 with Express extended warranty
This review is specifically for the product shipped by Amazon (not third party supplier)

Product supplied is WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 which is a drive with no recognised Western Digital warranty.
Ironically the Express extended warranty which extends to 4 years, cannot be applied to the supplied drive as it is an OEM drive.

Therefore the product...
Published 7 months ago by uumode


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review for WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 with Express extended warranty, 26 Jan 2014
By 
uumode (berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is specifically for the product shipped by Amazon (not third party supplier)

Product supplied is WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 which is a drive with no recognised Western Digital warranty.
Ironically the Express extended warranty which extends to 4 years, cannot be applied to the supplied drive as it is an OEM drive.

Therefore the product combination is an invalid one, you will have an extended warranty that you cannot use. The warranty is only one year of Amazon warranty, not 4 four years of WD warranty.

On the bonus side the drives I ordered came with a plastic holder in a drive box, which was in turn packaged in another box with scrunched up paper as further packaging protection. Not the jiffy bag and single layer of bubble wrap reported in some reviews. (that was a relief). But returned mine as I was wanting 4 years WD express warranty (24 hour service), not Amazon 1 year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE "OUT OF REGION" WARRANTY, 1 Jan 2013
By 
J. Leighton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Western Digital 2TB 3.5inch SATA6 Internal Hard Drive - Red

The drive was received inside a box with loads of scrunched up brown paper inside another box. The drive itself was inside a sealed anti-static bag, wrapped in bubble-wrap.

The drive has been incorporated into an unRAID NAS after pre-clearing and exercising to ensure it has no errors. It is currently holding about a terabyte of data built from the parity drive after a 1 terabyte drive died on me and is currently being RMA'd to Western Digital.

OUT OF REGION WARRANTY

However, on registering this drive with Western Digital, it said it was "Out of Region". Their web site explains what this means but in essence it means it does not have a Western Digital warranty so you would have to send it back to Amazon for replacement. Now Amazon say they will only give it a 1 year warranty. So I have been conversing with both Western Digital and Amazon to try and get this sorted out. The product description does not say anything about a reduction in the length of warranty. If I buy a genuine Western Digital "RED" drive I expect to receive the "RED" warranty of 3 years. I am currently asking for recompense for the reduced warranty period or a replacement drive with a genuine Western Digital "RED" warranty of 3 years. Unfortunately, you cannot tell if the drive is "Out of Region" or not until you register the product.

I will update this review when I hear from Western Digital and Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Designed Specifically for NAS Storage, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Western Digital's Red range of SATA hard disks is designed specifically for use in home and small business NAS devices. With this purpose in mind, the WD's are built for durability, power efficiency and low noise levels of just 23dB(A). Western Digital's `Intellipower' system, which uses caching, promises faster throughput than you'd expect from a 5,400rpm disk.

There is however a small downside, the poor slow file write speed means that these disks are less than ideal if, for instance, you want to habitually back up lots of documents to your NAS, But this has to be balanced by the Red's low power consumption, low noise levels and three year warranty make it well suited to its intended purpose - NAS storage. You could buy the Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB for slightly less if performance isn't so important.

Review update: 27.10.2013

Important note - I managed to attend IP EXPO at Earls Court recently and managed to speak to Western Digital people about the WD Red NAS drives, and they have confirmed what I have read on the WD website - that you should only have between 1 to 5 drives in anyone single NAS unit. If you, let us a say, have a unit like the Synology 1813+ (an 8 bay unit) you are strongly advised not place any more than 5 WD Reds in the unit. As clusters of above 5 drives will give vibration issues that can lead a drive to believe that it has `failed'. For that reason I am reducing my WD Reds in the 1813+ down from 8 to 4. The remaining 4 bays I will `populate' with WD Se 4TB drives. Obviously the decision is yours on what types of drives you use - I have decided on the WD Se drives as they have very good specification and the extra outlay is just about within my budget. Now I know, on the internet, there is some debate out there in the `forums' and blogs about this issue and its `validity' of the five drive maximum- but this is what I have heard from WD and thought best to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE - no warranty from WD, 16 Feb 2014
By 
andymo (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review focuses on the unit as advertised, not the actual performance of the HDD itself.

It arrived promptly and well packaged. The first thing I did was go onto the WD website to register it and input extended warranty code (this comes in a booklet with a scratch panel). This is where the problems started, as once the HDD serial number was input it was then reported as "NO LIMITED WARRANTY". According to the WD website this means the product was originally sold to a system manufacturer - i.e. Not a retail product!!!!

Amazon's response was to send a replacement which, when I tried to register it, gave the same status from WD.

I reported the situation with the second HDD to Amazon, and they said they would look into it - but here I am 4 weeks later none the wiser. WD have dragged their heels on this as well. I raised the issue directly with them when nothing was forthcoming from Amazon, and I've had to provide photographic evidence of the unit along with copies of the receipt as proof of purchase. They say they are chasing this up with Amazon, but meanwhile I'm left waiting to know if the HDD does actually have the extended warranty I specifically chose and paid for before I can use it - or indeed any warranty at all!!!!

Shameful service all around, and the cost of telephone calls to customer services has added a significant premium to the total cost of the product. I did read the reviews of others who had experienced similar, but naively though Amazon would have sorted this - clearly not.

CAVEAT EMPTOR!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, a NAS ready drive at a sensible price, 8 Sep 2012
For a long time there have been 2 sectors of the hard drive market.

Domestic drives, which offered good value for money, but were not specified to run 24 hours a day, and increasingly had lousy warranties, often just one year.

Enterprise drives, which were specced to run in servers, RAID arrays and the like, had 3 to 5 year warranties, but cost significantly more than their domestic counterparts. They could cost double or 3 times what a basic drive would.

WD has spotted the gaping hole in the market, those of us who want to build a small network attached storage unit, but didn't want to rink putting cheap drives with their 1 year warranties inside.

Hence the Red series. These drives are specified to be used in NAS devices, with a 3 year warranty and - it's claimed - improvements to the hardware to increase life expectancy. The price premium for the Red series seems to be about 20% above the domestic equivalents, which, if they deliver, seems reasonable.

So far I've installed 1 2tb drive with no problems. Let's see how reliable it proves to be, but Red seems to be just what many of us have been looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OEM WD Red HDD - Out of Region - Solved., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before install take a few .jpegs of HDD model no: and serial no:
Scan invoice.

Yeah register via WDs web portal, you'll get a message saying "Out of Region" and an warranty expiry 3yrs from registration date.

At this point use the portal to raise a WD "ticket" and simply explain the situation, include your .jpegs and copy of invoice.
If you can't add pics and invoice via WD portal,just wait till WD reply to the ticket you raised, and again explain along with your pics of model and serial no's: and copy of invoice.
WD will make the HDD valid in your region with the 3yr warranty we expected.

Also these HDDs are whisper quiet (anti vibration & intellipower 5400rpm - 5900rpm) compared to the 2 Hitachi Deskstars (7200rpm) that I was previously spinning....

Regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic NAS Hard Drive, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WD Info>
WD Red is designed specifically for small NAS systems that have 1 to 5 drive bays. The drives are designed and extensively tested for compatibility in the unique 24x7 operating environment and for the demanding system requirements of home and small office NAS.
INTERFACE SATA 6 Gb/s
WIDTH/HEIGHT 3.5-inch/1-inch
ROTATIONAL SPEED IntelliPower(tm)
CAPACITIES 1 TB to 4 TB
MODEL NUMBERS WD40EFRX WD30EFRX WD20EFRX WD10EFRX
Note: Not all products may be available in all regions of the world.

Amazon shipped this product well packaged which arrived on January 21st 2013, together w/ its three years warranty!

Amazon (United States) Question - (a)> "Out of the box, how much space is actually available on this drive? My last 3TB Seagate only had 2.7TB of usable space."
Answer> This is about right because it's most likely common w/ two or more hard disks & on Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) my WD Red WD20EFRX 2TB hard disk shows up as 2 000 396 742 656 Bytes w/ a 1.81 TB available hard disk!

On the warranty side>
- To check on this warranty info, I went to the Western Digital web-site to register my new product & I input the product serial # by viewing it through the semi-see-through olive-green factory sealed plastic cover but prior to removing it from the drive, in order to test out the validity of product serial # with the three years warranty on the "WD Red Drive" to see if it actually is valid & so it is as I got my full WD Red Drive three years warranty which expires in February 2016! - Perfect!

Although Western Digital United Kingdom do offer an European limited three years warranty on this "WD Red Drive" European product, it would be wise before making any "WD20EFRX" (WD Red Drives) purchase to firstly verify whether or not this listed product will in fact receive the three full years American/European warranty on it - due to some possible "American/European" imports being sold within the States/European Union causing a few Amazon US/UK customers to experience American/European warranty related issues with some of these "American/European" imports as "Western Digital - United States/United Kingdom" can't cope with any American/European imports & so therefore "Western Digital - United States/United Kingdom" would only grant a year's warranty on these "American/European" imported purchases as I've already personally checked on this issue with "Western Digital - United Kingdom" Technical Support prior to placing my order - so before ordering do firstly check on this issue!

Should the Western Digital warranty check fail to grant/supply a three years warranty on your newly purchased product - without opening/removing the semi-see-through olive-green factory sealed plastic cover from the WD Red Drive - return it back to Amazon immediately for a full refund & fast - due to warranty related issues!

Amazon (United States) Question - (b)> "what is the manufacturers warranty on this drive?"
Answer> This WD Red 2 TB NAS Hard Drive: 3.5 Inch, SATA III, 64 MB Cache - WD20EFRX drive which also includes all the 3TB Red NAS Drives as well will have a three (3) years limited warranty on them! So if anything does go wrong w/ them within the warranty time period then you'll all you'll need is both your Amazon US/UK purchase receipt together with a Western Digital RMA in which you'll have obtained from Western Digital Support United States/United Kingdom by either e-mail/phone in order to return your damaged WD Red drive back to Western Digital United States/United Kingdom for a new product replacement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware the warranty!, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 2 TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive (Frustration Free Packaging) - Red (Accessory)
As reported above, my hard drive arrived and upon checking the warranty with WD, comes with a 3 year out of region warranty which which means they will not honour the warranty in the UK

Amazon will cover you for one year, but then why did you spend more on the Red with it's 3 year warranty?

Expect this to be removed from the website soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DOA rate is quite high, 5 Jan 2013
By 
D. Cousins (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought two of these, both arrived well packaged in their own little boxes with trays. Unfortunately one arrived completely dead. My NAS doesn't recognise the drive and my two desktops try but fail. Searching around the web, it seems like this is quite a common thing with these drives. WD do offer a good RMA process though and they will ship a new drive to you before you send the dead one to them, provided you furnish them with a valid credit card number.

The drive that is working is fine, with good speeds and very low noise and power usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly reliable drives, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 2 TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive (Frustration Free Packaging) - Red (Accessory)
Although designed and intended for NAS use, they are also an excellent option for RAID enclosures which is where most of the other drive units of this type are personally employed. However, there are other times where a NAS drive unit will make more sense and be more reliable than the standard, desktop types. Video editing, which can take an hour or more or any situation where the drive is constantly accessed such as a repository for a large database or even for large web downloads, would be others. In fact, for any use where their proportionally higher price can be justified they will work well.

Thus far, in about 2-3 years of use, I have only had one fail and that was within a few hours of first-time installation. It was replaced without a quibble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD 2 TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive (Frustration Free Packaging) - Red
71.98
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews