Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wonder of Whitlock
Calling. Calling. This is Vitalina calling all fans of Derek and the Dominos.

Buy this beautiful record. Actually, two records in one: Bobby Whitlock and Raw Velvet, both from the early 70s. God only knows why they've taken so long to get them out on CD. Astonishing: 21 songs - from a gifted artist/session man - locked away in a vault somewhere for 40 years...
Published 14 months ago by MRS V M TIPPLE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars so so
i don't know what i expected from this album i suppose with his cv of artist from clapton to allman i bought this record if i had heard it first probably would not have but if buy it and judge for yourself
Published 11 months ago by moonbeam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wonder of Whitlock, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Calling. Calling. This is Vitalina calling all fans of Derek and the Dominos.

Buy this beautiful record. Actually, two records in one: Bobby Whitlock and Raw Velvet, both from the early 70s. God only knows why they've taken so long to get them out on CD. Astonishing: 21 songs - from a gifted artist/session man - locked away in a vault somewhere for 40 years! It's ridiculous. Someone's been playing silly buggers.

A few basic things, though. First, the albums were fine recordings right from the start. Second, the re-mastering process has subtly tweaked them sonically. (Very simply, the music coming through my speakers sounds just great.) Third, the songs range from good to outstanding. Fourth, the songs are superbly performed. (The list of supporting musicians reads like a Who's Who of the era.) Fifth, Bobby's singing is fantabulous. Sixth, he's very handsome, and still is. (Okay, the last point's shallow, but true anyway. I just had to get it in.)

Two personal highlights (on a par with Thorn Tree in the Garden): The Dreams of a Hobo, You Came Along. (Tracks worth the price of the CD alone.)

No messing, these little-known originals really do deserve wider appreciation.

Where There's a Will There's a Way is a sort of offshoot of Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs. This time it's a man doing his thing, his way. And what a way it was.

Genuinely, truly, on my life - highly recommended. (Thank you ABC-Dunhill Recordings and FDR. Better late than never.)

Message over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...You're The Only One Who Tried...When No One Even Cared...", 12 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These two albums used to fill out the racks of used record stores and just sit there. And even though the self-titled debut contained heavy hitters like George Harrison, Eric Clapton, Klaus Voormann (of "Revolver" fame), Delaney & Bonnie Bramlett, Chris Wood of Traffic, Rick Vito (Bonnie Raitt's band, Bob Seger's band and the Fleetwood Mac band) and even The Edwin Hawkins Singers - both were largely ignored by the buying public. Now at last top US reissue label Light In The Attic (using their Future Days Recordings imprint) has given them a newfound respect with a world-class CD reissue.

Released June 2013 on Light In The Attic/Future Days Recordings FDR 602 (Barcode 82626853060226) - it breaks down as follows (70:29 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 10 is his debut album "Bobby Whitlock" issued March 1972 in the USA on ABC-Dunhill DSX 50121 and on CBS Records S 65109 in the UK.

Tracks 11 to 21 is his 2nd album "Raw Velvet" issued November 1972 in the USA on ABC-Dunhill DSX-50131 and in the UK in early 1973 on CBS Records S
65301.

Produced by Andy Johns and Bobby Whitlock - the debut was recorded in London's Olympic Studios and featured an impressive array of British based Rock musicians. George Harrison and Eric Clapton (guitars) join Bobby Keys on Saxophone (practically an honorary member of The Rolling Stones), Klaus Voormann on Bass with Jim Price on Trumpet and Trombone and Jim Gordon on Drums. That amazing line-up grace three - "Where There's A Will", "A Day Without Jesus" and "Back In My Life Again" while Clapton also plays beautiful solo guitar on the lovely ballad "The Scenery Has Slowly Changed". In fact the softer songs are far better than the rather frantic rushed tunes that are just trying too hard and getting nowhere. Chris Wood of Traffic adds flute to the lovely acoustic "A Game Called Life" - for me a nugget on this rather patchy album (lyrics from it title this review).

The second album ups the amps on Side 1 in an attempt to capture the 'rawk' market. It opens with "Tell The Truth" - a co-write with Eric Clapton. The countrified cover of Hoyt Axton's "Ease Your Pain" and the almost gospel-rock of "Bustin' My Ass" feature The Edwin Hawkins Singers to great effect. "Hello L.A. Bye Bye Birmingham" features a co-write with Mac Davis and mean slide guitar from Clapton. Things mellow out with Side 2 where he often only employs acoustic guitars, a piano and the Los Angeles Symphony on strings. "You Came Along" is undeniably lovely and Rick Vito's lead playing on "Satisfied" is superb. It ends sounding like "Sun King" from The Beatles 1969 "Abbey Road" album with "Start All Over" - all swirling and prettily ethereal.

The remaster is properly great - incredible clarity and presence - even when the raucous ensemble threatens to engulf everything. And the exceptional 48-page booklet entitled "The Bobby Whitlock Story" is done with complete co-operation from the singer himself - photos from his private archives, publicity material, repros of the album labels, detailed track-by-track annotation including his own reminiscences on each song. A lot of work and passion went into this and it shows...

To sum up - neither album is undiscovered genius by any stretch of the imagination - but there's plenty on here worthy of reappraisal. And like Rodriguez, Jim Sullivan and Michael Chapman - once again Light In The Attic has given a voice to an artist who deserved better and should be re-heard.

Check this one out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 14 Aug 2013
Fans of Eric Clapton and Delaney & Bonnie have been waiting forever to see the first two Bobby Whitlock albums on CD. It would be great to have all of his earlier albums released but these two are a great place to start and here they are in perfect sound on one CD! If you liked "On Tour with Delaney & Bonnie with Eric Clapton and George Harrison, this will not disappoint. In fact those they help out on more than a few tracks. Some cuts sound as though they could have been outtakes from Derek & The Dominoes, a well known act that Bobby was a member of. There are one or two that might not just reach out and grab you but just a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where There's a Will There's a Way - The ABC/Dunhill Recordings, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this CD unheard on the basis of the reputation it has. It has most of Derek & The Dominos playing on 1/2 of the album and people like George Harrison, members of Traffic etc. With people like this involved and the fact it was recorded in the early 1970s when music was going through a very creative period made it easy for me to decide to buy this.
Now for the music, after just 1 play I am instantly impressed with the music and the very soulful sound that Bobby Whitlock is known for. The songs are all very strong with some great vocals from Bobby and on a few tracks Eric Claptons wailing guitar.
There is a vast range of influences here, blues, soul, rock, country music and folk. This is a collection of great songs that have a happy vibe and feel. I am very glad I took the plunge to get this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go back in time, 27 Sep 2013
By 
E. Russell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bobby Whitlock usually a sideman to the good and the great finally gets to step out of the shadows and show his talents. A first rate collection covering his earliest solo works . Well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars so so, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i don't know what i expected from this album i suppose with his cv of artist from clapton to allman i bought this record if i had heard it first probably would not have but if buy it and judge for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good cd by ex Derek and The Dominoes player, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent "lost" recording. High calibre musicians, good playing. Classic 70s rock and roll and soul. High class throughout. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews