Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, what were you expecting?
Good quality. Really good quality: sound, image, content.
Take note however, that this is a documentary of the making of the album, more than it is a "music" dvd. Although it does contain a lot of music.
I must say that this has become one of my favourite dvds in recent months. That must say a lot about Pink Floyd. Even them, just talking about making their...
Published on 16 Mar 2004 by Aj Viljoen

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark side of the DVD fail...
Bought this some time ago now, having no previous issues with the seller (zoverstocks). Came to watch today for first time and DVD keeps failing after four and a half minutes. Hugely disappointing. Recall seeing this on TV- great programme but shame I can't watch again on DVD!!
Published 7 days ago by Andy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, what were you expecting?, 16 Mar 2004
By 
Aj Viljoen (Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Good quality. Really good quality: sound, image, content.
Take note however, that this is a documentary of the making of the album, more than it is a "music" dvd. Although it does contain a lot of music.
I must say that this has become one of my favourite dvds in recent months. That must say a lot about Pink Floyd. Even them, just talking about making their music, turns out to be way more entertaining than many other "Best of" compilations in themselves!
You can read other reviews if you want to know technical stuff. I just know that I love every moment of this dvd and that no one should be without it. Okay, so the menu sucks. So what? Everything else is CLASS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This documentary should have been included in the Immersion Edition of "The Dark Side of the Moon".

Everything you'd like to know about this album is here. Classic Albums are reliable, as always.

"Any Colour You Like" isn't included though, which is too bad.

The highlights are the acoustic performances by the individual band members. Especially "Brain Damage" (performed by Roger Waters), which is so good that I had to have it in my computer.

It's worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of interesting interviews, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD is full of members' interviews, giving away many interesting details about how they came to the Dark Side Of The Moon. Sweet to see an old David Gilmour still excited when playing an old 70s synth to show how the created the space sound of On The Run, or a meticulous Rick Wright explaining how he got to a specific chord inside Breathe, or a poetic Roger Waters explaining the mystique behind the lyrics of Brain Damage. A must have for any Pink Floyd fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite DVD, 11 July 2012
By 
T. Rochester (West Yorkshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Making of The Dark Side of the Moon- Pink Floyd - The Making of The Dark Side Of The Moon [DVD] [2001]world's best DVD about the making of the world's best album...... totally fascinating, and good to see the origin of some of the musical elements of Dark Side. I can wholeheartedly recommend the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Classic Albums - The Making Of The Dark Side Of The Moon [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Does what it says on the tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE CLASSIC ALBUM SERIES EDITION., 8 Feb 2014
By 
HAN XIAO "heaven851102" (CHINA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I LOVE CLASSIC ALBUM SERIES EDITION. BECAUSE THESE EDITIONS ALWAYS GIVE US A NEW CHANCE TO LOOK BACK THESE CLASSIC ALBUMS AND LEARN MORE FROM THE BONUS MATERIALS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dark side of the DVD fail..., 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this some time ago now, having no previous issues with the seller (zoverstocks). Came to watch today for first time and DVD keeps failing after four and a half minutes. Hugely disappointing. Recall seeing this on TV- great programme but shame I can't watch again on DVD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good., 15 Sep 2010
By 
T. Blackburn (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well put together, sometimes fascinating look into the making of this seminal piece of rock history. Especially rewarding are the solo performances from band members, including a great bit where Gilmour recreates 'On the Run', and Waters performs a solo acoustic 'Brain Damage'. For any Floyd fan, this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the film not the blu ray, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Peter C. Harpley "Peter Harpley" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classic Albums - The Making Of The Dark Side Of The Moon [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
The classic albums series is one of those sometimes brilliant sometimes rather dull examinations of the recording of said classic albums (I guess it to an extent depends on your interest in the band in question) but this film is the best of all of them that I have seen along with perhaps The Who and 'Who's Next'.

All Four members of the DSOTM line up contribute in an open frank way with David Gilmour and Richard Wright in particular demonstrating some of the individual moments such as the evolution of Us and Them from a track rejected from the Zabriskie Point soundtrack, and the chord progressions in the intro to Breathe and how they were pinched from Miles Davis. There is also fascinating input from Alan Parsons at the mixing desk and Chris Thomas who was the worked on the mix as well both highlighting the complexity of the construction of this seminal album.

There is no information here about anything special on the BluRay other than to say that the sound quality will be uncompressed and hopefully gorgeous!

...work of warning - not about this but the DVD on the making of Wish You Were Here, Pink Floyds follow up (an better) album - that film is really rubbish. Not made by Isis productions which this series is.... what a pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Albums - The Making Of The Dark Side Of The Moon [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
A great recap on how one of the best albums of all time evolved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Albums - The Making Of The Dark Side Of The Moon [Blu-ray] [2013]
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews