Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising music from a superb duo.
As always, a top quality pair of discs from the Hyperion stable. The first disc's music kept bringing the word 'simplicity' to my mind inasmuch as the musicians seem to be allowing the music to speak for itself. There are no self conscious musical 'tricks' being played such as sudden pianissimos in the middle of loud passages or stabbing fortissimos. This is art that...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Robert D. Roy

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbalanced sound?
I am no music expert and admittedly I suffer from age-related mild high frequency hearing loss in both ears but for me the sound of the piano almost drowns out the violin in the Fantasy.
Published 8 months ago by Silverfish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising music from a superb duo., 16 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Robert D. Roy (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schubert: Complete Works For Violin And Piano [Alina Ibragimova, Cédric Tiberghien] [Hyperion: CDA67911/2] (Audio CD)
As always, a top quality pair of discs from the Hyperion stable. The first disc's music kept bringing the word 'simplicity' to my mind inasmuch as the musicians seem to be allowing the music to speak for itself. There are no self conscious musical 'tricks' being played such as sudden pianissimos in the middle of loud passages or stabbing fortissimos. This is art that conceals art.

The second disc is of later Schubert and reminds us this duos very successful foray into the Beethoven sonatas here they appeared more concerned about projecting their feelings about the music than their egos!

What more is there to say?

If you like the music, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
S. B. Lewis "Stephen Lewis" (Shrewsbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schubert: Complete Works For Violin And Piano [Alina Ibragimova, Cédric Tiberghien] [Hyperion: CDA67911/2] (Audio CD)
This partnership is nothing less than outstanding. Lucy and I have been lucky enough to hear them in concert twice, once playing some of the Schubert on this CD at The Barber Institute in Birmingham, and more recently at Machynlleth playing Beethoven sonatas, and I would urge you to see them live if you possibly can. We have also heard Alina play in various venues and in various combos in the UK and it is always hugely enjoyable. What comes across is that they both love the music, love playing the music and love playing the music for others to listen to, and that is all too rare.

About this double CD set. The first movement of the first sonata is given totally artlessly, and for many days the simple tune was going round and round in my head. The works become more complex on the second CD and, whilst maybe not Schubert's greatest, they are played with such searching commitment and innate musicianship that they also leave a huge impression. Record of the Year? Definitely maybe. Stars out of 5? Five hundred if that were possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alina, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schubert: Complete Works For Violin And Piano [Alina Ibragimova, Cédric Tiberghien] [Hyperion: CDA67911/2] (Audio CD)
The rising star. Or is she already established? Beautiful played, beautiful recording too. I give five stars, for her and Cedric!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbalanced sound?, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schubert: Complete Works For Violin And Piano [Alina Ibragimova, Cédric Tiberghien] [Hyperion: CDA67911/2] (Audio CD)
I am no music expert and admittedly I suffer from age-related mild high frequency hearing loss in both ears but for me the sound of the piano almost drowns out the violin in the Fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent collection, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schubert: Complete Works For Violin And Piano [Alina Ibragimova, Cédric Tiberghien] [Hyperion: CDA67911/2] (Audio CD)
This is not the most eloquent or emotional Schubert. Still as a collection it is worth having. I didn't have a recording and this is as good as any other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schubert: Complete Works For Violin And Piano [Alina Ibragimova, Cédric Tiberghien] [Hyperion: CDA67911/2] (Audio CD)
This is the best Schubert recording I have heard for a long time and is just right for the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews