Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my favourite album...ever!
In 1987 I was fourteen years old. I lived in Glasgow. Raintown came out, I loved it then, and I love it still. Deacon Blue manage - perhaps more than anyone else but in the mould of Van Morrison, Brian Kennedy, Steely Dan, to evoke the world from which the come. A mix of blues, folk, and good good songs, Raintown defined the mood of a nation with Dignity, an anthem for...
Published on 15 Aug 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BLUE VINYL EDITION - Looks nice, but sound isn't very good, minimal download bonus
This is one of my favourite albums, which of itself I would rate higher than three stars. As for the actual product, this is not great. The blue vinyl is quiet - which is good as the sound level seems a little low. The tracks are not cut very close to the end of the sides, which is also a bonus. However, the top end is not reproduced very well: there's less high...
Published 8 months ago by Mike the Fish


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my favourite album...ever!, 15 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
In 1987 I was fourteen years old. I lived in Glasgow. Raintown came out, I loved it then, and I love it still. Deacon Blue manage - perhaps more than anyone else but in the mould of Van Morrison, Brian Kennedy, Steely Dan, to evoke the world from which the come. A mix of blues, folk, and good good songs, Raintown defined the mood of a nation with Dignity, an anthem for ordinary folk, and When Will You ( Make My Phone Ring) the plea for the unloved. These songs are about love and politics; clever but not obtrusively so, deep but not pretentious. Different things in this album have defined my life as time has elapsed, but the songs are so rich in human life that something will always knaw at the heart. I'm getting older; the old songs are changing with me, but they're fresh and new too.
This edition includes songs from the special ed album Riches which, in its original format as a rare collectors item. Sometimes Deacon Dlue B sides are better than the record company pleasing singles, and Shifting Sands and Ribbons and Bows are tiny gems which dreams are made of. It's 2000 now and I'm still wating for an album I like as much as this one. I live in the south and hope for the north, and I think of the title track.
Youre in the suburbs waiting for somewhere to go/ I'm down here working on some dumb show. Raintown.
Dougie Vipond, come off of your travels. Ricky Ross, get the band together. Graeme, Lorraine, Jim, play for us. We'd love to see you now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music I was lucky enough to grow up with..., 25 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
When I first heard Deacon Blue back in the late 80's I was really taken with the strength of the lyrics and the way that images were evoked by them. I have to agree that Raintown is like taking a journey to the North that I spent a long time in. But with Dignity, I see myself going from one stage of my life to another. If a bands music is a key part of your life then it is always with mixed emotions that you play their music. Thats why Deacon Blue will always be a part of my memories and perhaps a hope that in the future some sort of comeback will happen. But in some way, it might be like going back to the town you grew up in only to find that the character and spirit had gone to be replaced by bland commercial hype. Like the first pub you ever drank in, got drunk in and met your first girlfriend in, being knocked down and replaced with a wine bar or McDonalds? Perhaps this is a question for Ricky Ross and the others to answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Pop Made in Scotland, 10 Dec 2011
By 
F. Smith "Fin" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
Don't be put off by the fact that Deacon Blue were never particularly hip. So what? This is a brilliant album that fuses epic melodrama with boy / girl love songs, white pop sensibility with soul leanings and a little bit of Springsteen for extra flavour. Led by Ricky Ross, lead singer and main songwriter the album spawned 3 hit singles and the album consequently followed into the charts.

The album opens with the bare piano chords of 'Born in a Storm' before the clouds crack and they burst into Raintown. Did they ever have a better moment on record than the opening to this album? Lots more to enjoy though. Songs like 'Chocolate Girl' and The Very Thing were pure pop but they wore their soul influences on their sleeves with 'When will you make my telephone ring', a song that sooo wanted to be sung by Al Green whilst their Scottish working class, socialist values permeated numbers like 'Dignity', 'This Town to be Blamed' and the title track.

The original album in its single CD or vinyl format is one of the albums of the eighties and an overlooked classic. This should have been the springboard for mega stardom but if they didn't quite get there this was a deserved hit and they had a good few years. Ricky Ross was a prolific songwriter in those days and the decision to release it with the free album Riches to emphasise this was a classic case of quantity exceeding quality. Okay but unmemorable. But the original album....ahhh. Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have some Dignity, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
Nice little package this. How do you make an already brilliant album even better? - Add 38 extra music tracks and 6 tracks on DVD.
Yes thats right in total there are 49 tracks here including some live tracks and remixes plus the 6 promo dvd's all for the pre order price of 13.

It is also well presented - a strong hardback front and back gatefold and sandwiched inbetween there is a glossy booklet containing photos, credits, a piece written by Ricky in May 2012 and lyrics to all the songs here, including the B sides.

Raintown the album in its day, 1987 was a classic.

25 years on Raintown the special deluxe edition is still a classic.

No need to review the album - you all know the tracks - superbly composed from the start, Born in a storm to the end Town To Be Blamed with all the classics, Loaded, Dignity, Chocholate Girl in between.

If nothing else this package just reminds you
1) How good Raintown is
2) How good Deacon Blue sound live
3) How good their B sides were

Go buy it and whilst you are there the When the World Knows Your Name special delux edition aint half bad either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is music!!, 14 Jun 2005
By 
Mr J F May (Maidstone, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
I only got into Deacon Blue about 6-8 weeks ago and not only has this band impressed me so much that this album is now at the top of my CD rack but i have listened to it constantly and i mean like everyday! Great song after great song after great song as simple as that could easily be a greatest hits album!
It will be a long long time before i get tired of this an absolute must for any music fan.. go get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back and i love it!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
I was 17 in 1987 and joined the Army along with a load of guys from Scotland who introduced me to Deacon Blue. I loved them then and saw them in Newcastle in around 2008 and they were great then too. Forgot how much I had missed them when I got this CD on a whim, as the last time I owned it was on tape. Fantastic classic tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to my teenage years, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (MP3 Download)
Listening to this again brought me back to the 80's in my bedroom listening to this on my record player! I have this on vinyl still. Sounds as good as ever, great band and great songs. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...The Wonder Of It All..." - Raintown by DEACON BLUE (2012 3CD1/DVD Remasters), 9 Nov 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2012 REISSUE ***

Named after the last track on Side 1 of Steely Dan's 1977 masterpiece "Aja" - Scottish Soul-Rock band DEACON BLUE signed to CBS Records and released their superlatively melodic debut album "Raintown" in the Spring of 1987 - and it's now part of a massive full catalogue reissue campaign by Edsel Records of the UK (see list below). Here are the finite details...

Released 22 Oct 2012 in the UK (16 Oct 2012 in the USA) as a 3CD/1DVD mini hardback book set - Edsel EDSJ 9002 breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (76:58 minutes)
Tracks 1 to 11 are the album "Raintown" released May 1987 on CBS 450549 (1, 4 and 2 after the catalogue number for LP, MC and CD).
Tracks 12 to 21 are BONUS TRACKS. The "Raintown" album was re-released in August 1988 on CBS 450549 0 with a BONUS LP inside called "Riches" (XPR 1361). "Riches" contained non-album sides from their first four releases - "Dignity" on CBS DEAC 1 (Track 17), "Loaded" on CBS DEAC 2 (Tracks 12 and 13), "When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)?" on CBS DEAC 3 (Tracks 14 and 18) and "Dignity - A Brand New Recording" - a 2nd issue on CBS DEAC 4 (Tracks 15, 16, 19 and 20).

Disc 2 (63:38 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 15 are non-album sides from all formats for "Loaded" (CBS DEAC 2 - Track 2), "When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)?" (1st issue on CBS DEAC 3 - Tracks 3 and 4), "Dignity - A Brand New Recording" (CBS DEAC 4 - Tracks 1, 5 and 6), "When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)?" (2nd issue on CBS DEAC 5 - Tracks 7, 8 and 9) and "Chocolate Girl" (CBS DEAC 6 - Tracks 10 to 15)

Disc 3 (47:02 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 13 are all of the Bonus Tracks that came with the 2CD Legacy issue of "Raintown" in 2005 (Disc 2) - they're mostly live versions and demos

DVD contains 6 Promo Videos - "Dignity - Version 1", "Loaded", "Dignity - Version 2", "When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)", "Dignity - US Version" and "Chocolate Girl".

The PHIL KINRADE remaster doesn't seem to have messed with the original that much - it's just punchier - lovely clarity on each track - and thankfully the whole thing is devoid of the bombastic Eighties production that accompanied 1989's more commercial "When The World Knows Your Name" (see separate review). The album opens slowly with the mournful "Born In A Storm" followed by the uptempo synths of "Raintown". Songs like "Ragman", "Dignity" and the longing of "Love's Great Fears" are all good too - but for me the real magic begins with "He Looks Like Spencer Tracy Now" - a gorgeous floating melody that still sounds contemporary to this day. "Loaded" was the 2nd single off the album in June 1987 - a superbly Soulful song. Its followed by two more singles - the pleading "When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)?" (lyrics from it title this review) and the so pretty "Chocolate Girl". And one of my other favourites ends the album on a high note with great vocal work from principal songwriter and lead singer Ricky Ross - "Town To Be Blamed". A smouldering debut album that defined their sound - and one that fans love...

BONUS MATERIAL.
There was a time when DEACON BLUE 12" and CD singles used to go for real money precisely because their non-album sides were considered to be so good - and in some cases - better than what was on the album. Listening to "Riches" and Disc 2 especially - it's easy to hear why. There are fantastic tracks on here in upgraded sound quality - the mournful "Shifting Sands", their live cover of Van Morrison's sublime "Angeliou", the guitar jaunt of "Suffering", the wallop of "Ronnie Spector" and the joyful spelling song "S.H.A.R.O.N." which could easily have been another album A-side.

Downsides - as fans felt in 2005 - the bonus disc of the Legacy Edition (Disc 3 essentially) lets the side down terribly - unremarkable live versions and dismissible demos. But as with the "When The World Knows Your Name" reissue (their 2nd LP from 1989 that saw them go to Number 1 in the UK - see separate review) - these are minor quibbles in what is an astonishing overview of a great album.

As you can see in the list provided below, Edsel have done Deluxe Editions on their whole catalogue and more - and they're to be praised for these superb presentations pitched at a more than reasonable price. Coming after the questionable and hugely disappointing reissue of Peter Gabriel's "So" which offers bugger all to long-suffering fans - this is one of those rare occasions where quality and quantity make good bedfellows.

There's a newspaper clipping on Page 17 of the booklet that reviews a dual concert in Aldwych King's College shared by THE BIBLE and DEACON BLUE (just reviewed The Bible's fab "Eureka" from 1988). Now there's a gig I would have sold my 'dinghy' and my 'dignity' for...

PS: the DEACON BLUE titles is this 2012 series are
1. "Raintown" (1987) - Deluxe 3CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSJ 9002
2. "When The World Knows Your Name" (1989) - Deluxe 3CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSJ 9003 [see REVIEW]
3. "Fellow Hoodlums" (1991) - Deluxe 2CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSG 8021
4. "Whatever You Say, Say Nothing" ((1993) = Deluxe 2CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSG 8022
5. "Homesick" (2001) - 1CD Expanded Edition on Edsel EDSA 5015
6. "The Rest" (2012 Compilation) - Deluxe 2CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSG 8023
7. "The Hipsters" (2012 New Album) - Edsel DEACON 001
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
the best version of raintown yet and excellent packaging loads to hear. a new old classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blue vinyl edition, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. E. G. Buckingham "bucko 73" (nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown - Vinyl [VINYL] (Vinyl)
very impressed with the sound quality nice and sharp very clean. demon records do a superb vinyl press. haven't noticed anything bad like the previous reviews but then I di use my turntable (Stanton t92) with a ortofon arkiv stylus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raintown - Vinyl [VINYL]
Raintown - Vinyl [VINYL] by Deacon Blue (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews