Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Lizzy sound but Black Star Riders put their own mark on it.
This is not Thin Lizzy.It is however an album hugely influenced by Lizzy.Scott Gorham was 1/4 of the classic Lizzy line up so has every right to be part of their legacy. He has a distinctive guitar sound which of course is evident throughout. I have always liked Ricky Warwick and his vocals sound the same as he has always sounded. Maybe the odd phrasing is similar to Phil...
Published 15 months ago by P M Hughes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No particular problems but a little underwhelmed
Aside from the title track, which is a bit pedestrian old school rock and not really reflective of the rest of the CD, it's very much in the style of Thin Lizzy, if a little diluted. Recommended for Thin Lizzy fans I guess! I play the CD, but it's not a favourite.
Published 5 months ago by Cadnoess


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's In a Name?, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would describe myself as extremely fortunate to have been a child of the 70's surrounded by a plethora of magnificent bands as British rock ruled the world! The search for nostalgia never seems to waver as so many bands from that era try to summon up the dizzy heights of that golden age & ever so many fall well short of the mark.
Firstly I would like to commend the band on their decision to change their name & not succumb to the music industries demands to cash in on the Thin Lizzy heritage.
What we have here is a superbly crafted album of which not one track would feel out of place on a classic Lizzy release ... it probably isn't that surprising given the amount of time the majority of this band have toured under the Thin Lizzy moniker. What surprised me the most is just how much the singer sounds like Mr Lynott in his prime ... but it's not as if he is trying desperately to copy him ... this is what he sounds like & damn good it sounds too.
This album has virtually everything, hard rockers, a nod to Celtic roots, & some well paced tunes ... in fact it just gets better with every listen.
If you were worried about this damaging the reputation of a much loved band (even given the name change) then you can rest easy as at last we have a classic that not only does justice to those bygone days of old but brings it bang up to date.
Congratulations BSR & long may you continue ... only one piece of advice ... give your ears a treat, buy this album, I'm pretty sure you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album from the band 'formerly' known as Thin Lizzy, 28 May 2013
I reviewed this album a few weeks ago for All About The Rock online magazine. All I'm going to say is that I really enjoyed it. So Thin Lizzy it's unreal. But I'm glad they didn't use the TL name out of respect.

Read the whole review at allabouttherock.co.uk/index.php/our-latest/reviews/cds/759-black-star-riders-all-hell-breaks-loose1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Marvellous!, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bloody marvellous, get it, your ears will love you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was told by a mate of mine that this was the nearest thing to Lizzy he had ever heard, so I was looking forward to listening to it. To be honest I wasn't that bothered if it did sound like Lizzy but hoped for a good rock album.

Sadly, its neither and just a bunch of mediocre songs that sound distantly like Lizzy even the singer has a Lynott twang.

The production is awful - the guitars are fizzy and the bass just a rumble with no definition.

Not recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black gold, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Magnificent album of awesome celtic rock with superb guitars matching Ricky Warwicks heartfelt vocals, really works as an album . Starts off well with all hell breaks loose and as a single bound for glory is a memorable calling card. Kingdom of the lost echoes classic Thin lizzy such as emerald with some lovely pipes on the intro,followed by a classic stacatto build up and will tear the roof off live. Even the bonus track on the special edition is first class rock. Its all good and i cant wait for the tour in December this album exceeds even my high expectations . Its makes me realize how much i miss Philo and Gary Moore but i am so grateful for Black Star Riders and i hope you enjoy this too.I would list all the tracks but all you need to know is its well worth a listen.Really liked valley of the stones and someday salvation and the bonus dvd makes it an even more essential purchase. Kevin Shirleys production takes it all to an even higher level of excellence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-one plays like this anymore, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Black Star Riders. I love this band, people may say that they are Thin Lizzy in all but name but that is not the case. If anyone knows Ricky Warwick's solo work and his Almighty work, then his influence is stamped all over the album. With Scot Gorham and Damon Johnson on top form this is what a rock album should be. The guitar work is exemplary and the rhythm section is solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rocker ...4 1/2 stars, 27 May 2013
Well, expectations from the band were clear as Scott Gorham had indicated that the Thin Lizzy sound will be present in the album (as respect for Phil Lynott the band at the last minute decided not to release this offering under the Thin Lizzy banner).

It doesn't seem to sound much like a Lizzy album on the title song `All Hell breaks loose' a nice rocker with a good riff . Good song with Ricky Warwick not sounding much like Phil Lynott, but all that changes with the next song `Bound for Glory' which starts very similar to early Lizzy number `South Bound', Phil's influence on Ricky's vocals and lyrics is very evident. The guitar work by Scott and Ricky (I guess) is totally reminiscent of the early Thin Lizzy dual guitar work. A great song in spite of it's the derivative nature.

`Kingdom of the lost' seems to be the bands effort to do a Roisin Dubh (Black Rose) with clear Irish influences and similar structuring, though in no way similar to the original.`Bloodshot' is another song one could attribute as an average Lizzy song.

The influence of Phil Lynott is though out the album... at times in the vocals, some times in the lyrics and also in the song arrangements... well the later can be expected as Scott is still the riff man.`Kissing the ground you walk on' is a good rocking number with the rhythm quite different to a normal Lizzy song.`Hey Judas' starts like a slower Lizzy number and moves to arrangements that are not common for Lizzy but the unmistakable vocal style keep one aware of the influences.

`Hoodoo voodoo' is a boogie rocker with Ricky at times trying a slightly different vocal angle (Billy Gibbons maybe) and the band sounds a bit different but there are still many similarities to Lizzy tucked in the song.With a `Cold Cold Sweat' sounding start `Valley of the Stone' is probably the most rocking number with some classic guitar hooks.`Blues ain't so bad' is a wonderful bluesy song; uncannily it feels like Phil's singing the blues.

Over all a good album for nostalgic Thin Lizzy fans as this album is very close to the Thin Lizzy sound we are all accustomed to. Now the question is should a singer copy his idol so much that he sounds totally like him, I really cannot answer that but this album does brings back memories of the great work by Thin Lizzy and is a great tribute to the band.

If one were to not compare this album with Thin Lizzy and take it just on its own value I would say it's a cool `Rocker' (pun intended) and like a breath of fresh air (despite it's somewhat lack of originality) in the current rock scene. A real nostalgic trip for us oldies with thundering guitar hooks, melodic solos and melancholy vocals that we sorely miss in the current scene.

Go for it or else miss some real cool rock n roll....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and great music., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very quick service, and great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Identity Crisis and Quality Control Issues..., 16 Aug 2013
By 
R. Muir "fabricationsHQ" (Prestwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose (MP3 Download)
As just about every rock fan and his Lynott loving Aunty knows, Black Star Riders were previously Thin Lizzy.
Or at least the band that performed live as Thin Lizzy, featuring ex-Lizzy guitarist Scott Gorham and, since 2009, vocalist Ricky Warwick of The Almighty.

However the reformed Thin Lizzy, even with original drummer Brian Downey and one-time Lizzy keyboard player Darren Wharton were in the ranks, had as many detractors as they had die-hard followers.

For every fan who championed keeping the music (a)live, another felt the name, legacy and absolutely irreplaceable Phil Lynott should be left to rest in peace.

However the decision to record an album of all-new material, along with the departure of Downey and Wharton, brought with it a name change and the chance to establish an identity for a new band featuring Gorham, Warwick, Damon Johnson (guitars), Marco Mendoza (bass guitar) and latest recruit Jimmy DeGrasso on drums.

And what of that identity?

Well the title track rattles out of the speakers before delivering a solid, mid-tempo pulse and punchy if predictable chorus, but the short twin-guitar melody bridge is straight from the Thin Lizzy songbook.

The nod to Thin Lizzy is followed by the best song Lizzy never wrote, `Bound For Glory,' recalling (outside of an intro almost identical to Whitesnake's `Guilty of Love') the classic Black Rose era with its `Get Out of Here' punch, chorus shout-backs, trademark solo and twin-harmony guitars to the fore.

'Bound For Glory' also highlights Ricky Warwick's vocal similarities to Phil Lynott (a natural similarity, not a mimicked tonality).
But, depending on your musical point of view, Warwick's Lynott-esque phrasing and inflections (no doubt more pronounced from having performed so many Lizzy songs over the last four years) either help or hinder proceedings.

The Lizzy family links continue with the Celtic rock of `Kingdom of the Lost,' a tribute to Gary Moore and his own Celtic/ Wild Frontier era if ever I heard one, and `Bloodshot,' a Celtic-tinged, hard rocking Lizzy/ Gary Moore hybrid.

And sadly when the songs aren't sound-a-likes they are either generic, 4/4 hard rock (`Kissin' the Ground,' `Hoodoo Voodoo') or second-rate Lizzy pastiches (`Hey Judas').

The heavy melodic pop of `Someday Salvation' helps freshen things up however, but the overly long closer `Blues Ain't So Bad' makes for an anti-climatic ending.

All of which leads to the conclusion a far better introduction to Black Star Riders would have been an EP, featuring the band's best four or five songs.

Because the Black Star Riders debut was only ever going to work if the material was strong throughout the entire album and didn't rely too heavily on the Lizzy sound, allowing the band to forge their own identity.

Despite what the die-hard Thin Lizzy fans and Scott Gorham supporters will hear or report, All Hell Breaks Loose fairs poorly on the first count while the jury is still out on the second.

And won't return with a verdict until The Boys Are Back in Town with their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't sure what to expect., 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic album enough said. Sounds a little like thin lizzy and was bound to but still worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Hell Breaks Loose
All Hell Breaks Loose by Black Star Riders
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews