Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Real World
An interesting mix of electronica and world music from Real World Records, which was established by WOMAD and Peter Gabriel over 30 years ago to help talented artists from around the world get international audiences. After a relaxing introduction with Window Seat from Portico Quartet, you get a pounding electronic track, Shadowman from Afro Celt Sound System, which...
Published 14 months ago by testedonpencils

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a compilation
This was a free copy and bare the Papa Wemba acapella - which prompted me to download it - I discovered Chila Chandra with her "Speaking in tongues" song that is mind-blowing. Worth getting it for those reasons... I'm sure that there are better songs from Real World's catalogue, but this compilation falls flat to me.
Published 1 month ago by Ya Kil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Real World, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
An interesting mix of electronica and world music from Real World Records, which was established by WOMAD and Peter Gabriel over 30 years ago to help talented artists from around the world get international audiences. After a relaxing introduction with Window Seat from Portico Quartet, you get a pounding electronic track, Shadowman from Afro Celt Sound System, which wouldn't sound out of place in some action movie soundtrack. Charlie Winston's I Love Your Smile is a jazzy ballad which sounds like Supertramp with a muted trumpet. He sings a bit like Chris Martin too.

We get some straight forward indie rock from Black Swan effect with Winter Sun, and Hear me cry is a mellow instrumental with stabs of harmonica and acoustic guitars in washes of delay. Yungchen Lhamo has a plaintive song with with acoustic rhythms and shimmery electronically treated guitars. Maryam Mursal brings in a funky bass rhythm and a string section for Kufilaw (Take Care). Speaking in Tongues 1 and Excuse me are acappella performances, the first a percussive sounding piece that may or may not be actual lyrics by Sheila Chandra, the second is passionate song from Papa Wemba. Sevara Nazarkhan closes the sampler with Yor-Yor (Song to the Bride) which progress from its simple flute and percussion to full fledged song with an engaging melody line on a Dutar.

If you like electronica, world music or any sort of meditative songs with interesting textures and rhythmic ideas, it's worth checking this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a compilation, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
This was a free copy and bare the Papa Wemba acapella - which prompted me to download it - I discovered Chila Chandra with her "Speaking in tongues" song that is mind-blowing. Worth getting it for those reasons... I'm sure that there are better songs from Real World's catalogue, but this compilation falls flat to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not my choice, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
Not my choice of music, but the quality of the recording is good. Some people would love it but sorry , not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Background music, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
Okay music is down to taste,this is not for me,I think it's well played but there isn't a memorable tune amongst them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real World Records Rock!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
I like the eclectic mix of music that Real World Records put out. This is no exception. Reminders of summery afternoons at the Womad festival make this a perfect sampler for anyone wanting to hear what is on offer there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars one track, 6 Aug 2013
By 
B. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
i only wanted the portico quartet track, its what yyou d expect from real world, some old suff, and some new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money, 19 July 2013
By 
Mr. M. J. Reynolds "M J Reynolds" (Nantwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
If you fancy something a bit different you won't be disappointed here. A very worthwhile freebie sampler. You get to check out original sounds you wouldn't necessarily buy. Somewhere in this mix is the sound of the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Free sampler OK, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Timbeau57 (St Albans, Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
OK is as fa' as I'd go isn't it? So difficult to review in a sentence with only 2 letter words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars living in the real world, 22 July 2013
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
Great Little sampler with an eclectic mix of good sounds offering a taste of world music. Was familiar with nearly all. Nice memories from the past. And it was free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Download didn't work, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Records Amazon Sampler (MP3 Download)
Despite successfully installing the Amazon software, the downloads repeatedly failed until eventually time ran out. So I'm afraid that this was a poor experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews