Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new biography, 26 May 2013
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
This is an engaging new biography of a fascinating historical figure.

Emily Wilding Davison is mainly known as a result of her final moments. This book not only considers in detail the context of those events, but offers the compelling story of Emily's rich and varied life.

It takes the reader through Emily's life largely chronologically, containing plenty of the little details and observations that mark out a good biography. It is also a very easy and compelling book to read. I spent a lovely sunny afternoon glued to my kindle reading it from start to finish - its a tough one to put down.

I would recommend this to anyone - it provides a very good story, exceptionally told!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars feminism has nothing on this fight for women, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating account of the fight for womens'right to vote by one of the prime movers in the campaign.
It shows how extreme the opposition by politicians and ordinary voters was and how many of the women found themselves in prison--yes-because they wanted to vote

The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is because it is rather wordy and not a "quick read" as so many contemporary books,even non- fiction,aim to be BUT it is an excellent and important read and one we should discuss with daughters and granddaughters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting perspective, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
An insightful and interesting analysis of Emily Davison's influential life.
The book provides a detailed account of Emily's life up to the day of her death, and also her deaths immediate impact, for instance the copycat suicide.
An up to date and thorough account of one of Britain's most influential women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good - up to date - biography, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
An excellent up to date biography of Emily Wilding Davison. Explores not only her death but also her life in detail.
An excellent, fascinating read. Includes details of the footage taken at Epsom and reviews Emily's possible motives in the light of new information.

Interesting how the Pankhursts, who had expelled Emily from the WSPU, were happy to claim her as a martyr. One can only speculate that had Emily died in prison from injuries sustained by her throwing herself down a staircase they would have been so keen. Clearly, the publicity the WSPU would have gained from a prison death would not have been in the same league as the Epsom incident.

I have no idea if the print edition is the same but there are a couple of mistakes with dates in the kindle ed. for example, the date of the Great Exhibition is given as 1951 instead of 1851 (1951 being the date of the festival of Britain. Interesting to note that universal suffrage had been in place for a mere 23 years at that time).

An excellent book for anyone wishing to know more about Emily Davison and the suffrage movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why all women should always vote!, 28 Jun 2013
By 
M Kenny (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
It is a humbling experience to read this book which brings to life the extraordinary courage and downright bloody-mindedness of those women who fought so hard to gain us the right to vote. Fisher's cool, succinct style lets the horrifying facts of Emily Davison's imprisonment and suffering speak for themselves. And the mystery surrounding her death adds a 'why-she-dunnit' thread to the narrative which makes this biography all the more compelling. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good & detailed biography of Emily Davison & an enjoyable read. My only criticism is the repetition of certain points - only noticeable in the first few chapters, but it is distracting in the early stages especially as some points are even repeated on the same page.
However, that is a minor fault in comparison with the rest of the book & I do recommend it. I appreciated that the author didn't wildly speculate on Ms Davison's actions on the day pf her fatal injury. Instead the book provides all the details - including discussing unproven claims, thus allowing the reader to decipher fact from fiction. Unlike Clare Balding's documentary, Lucy Fisher doesn't claim to have the definitive answer - indeed, the information provided in the book seems to dispute that documentary's claim to have 'the answer'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ., 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
Lucy Fisher is a highly competent young journalist. She has obviously thoroughly researched the subject and written an explicit narrative which moves well from chapter to chapter. She deals with the horrid aspects clinically - which I like - and leaves the reader to deal with the emotive side of things in their own way. I certainly know more about Emily Wilding Daviuson than I did before! I shall not pass judgment on her behaviours any more than Lucy Fisher does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely outstanding, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
For anyone remotely interested in the history of patriarchy-smashing, I highly recommend this stonking read. It's beautifully written and charged with biting emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emily Wilding Davison, The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic account of a remarkable woman, who stood firm in her beliefs and fought for the right of every woman in Britain today. Makes you feel truly thankful to the women who achieved the right for us to vote. I'm glad I ALWAYS exercise this right. Well written and so interesting.many of the facts I was unaware of, a real account of what the suffragettes went through. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital For Students, 26 May 2013
This review is from: Emily Wilding Davison: The Suffragette Who Died For Women's Rights (Kindle Edition)
This book is well written and essential for students studying the suffragette movement. It should be on all reading lists on women's rights movements. Much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews