Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!
I don't mind a bit of pop music, and this three disc collection gathers some of the very best songs from the past thirty years, tracks known instantly by everyone. Whilst it would be nice for a bigger variety of music, some rock and britpop too even things out a bit, there is more than enough good material on these discs to merit four stars.

I don't think I...
Published on 30 May 2013 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disc 1 is brilliant, the others are not so great but provide some decent tunes.
Disc 1 has nothing but back to back classics with cheesy pop monoliths such as 'I Should Be So Lucky' and 'Never Gonna Give You Up' alongside dance tunes like the brooding 'Killer' and the fabulous 'Saturday Night'. Can't really fault this disc, i loved every song. 5/5

Disc 2 is quite feeble in comparison, i only liked 12 out of the 20 songs. You've got the...
Published on 8 Jun. 2013 by Jonesy The Crypt Keeper


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disc 1 is brilliant, the others are not so great but provide some decent tunes., 8 Jun. 2013
Disc 1 has nothing but back to back classics with cheesy pop monoliths such as 'I Should Be So Lucky' and 'Never Gonna Give You Up' alongside dance tunes like the brooding 'Killer' and the fabulous 'Saturday Night'. Can't really fault this disc, i loved every song. 5/5

Disc 2 is quite feeble in comparison, i only liked 12 out of the 20 songs. You've got the horrendous Titanic theme 'My Heart Will Go On' alongside other feeble ballads such as 'No Matter What' and 'Bleeding Love' and *gulp* 'You Raise Me Up', a song so sugary that it makes you wonder why the album didn't come with a sick bucket included just for that one, solitary song. Dismal. But there are some decent tunes on here. 'Livin' La Vida Loca' is an absolute belter, 'Mambo No. 5' is an infectious tune, 'Oops!..I Did It Again!' is Britney at her most poptastic and catchy and 'Grace Kelly' is a joyous little sing if you can tolerate the ear puncturing falsetto in the chorus. But there's too many forgettable songs on here such as 'Just A Little', 'Push The Button' and 'Sound Of The Underground' alongside the aforementioned ballads. 3/5

Disc 3 is even worse with only 10 songs appealing to me. We get a trio of excellent songs that kick off this disc: 'Rolling In The Deep', 'Bad Romance' and 'In For The Kill'. But then we get a few uninspired duds such as 'OMG' and 'I Gotta Feeling'. One Direction, PSY, Ed Sheeran, Jessie J and Bastille provide the best tunes. It speaks volumes that the weakest disc is full of modern songs which indicates that modern pop music is really heading down the drain.

Nevertheless, it's worth the money if you don't mind wading through utter dross to find the gems on the later discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 30 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I don't mind a bit of pop music, and this three disc collection gathers some of the very best songs from the past thirty years, tracks known instantly by everyone. Whilst it would be nice for a bigger variety of music, some rock and britpop too even things out a bit, there is more than enough good material on these discs to merit four stars.

I don't think I could give 'NOW That's What I Call 30 Years' five stars, but to give it a one star is ridiculous, as surely there are at least a handful songs on here that will be of everybody's taste. It could have been better, but it's still a good collection of some of the biggest hits from the past thirty years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's ok-ish, 31 May 2013
This triple cd is ok but there's too much modern stuff on it for my liking. There's no tunes from Blur or some of the other 90's bands on it. And what is Madonna doing on it. I thought her record company didn't like her being on these according to a tv programme I was watching the other night. It was a well known fact that she'd never appeared on a NOW compilation.
There's also not a lot of 80's stuff on there either, I think it should have had one disc of 80's, one disc of 90's and one disc of 2000 - 2012/13 on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing......., 5 Jun. 2013
By 
MH (California United States) - See all my reviews
I have know on what basis they choose these songs. Perhaps licensing, legal problems,popularity or stupidity but how could they leave out Oasis, Blur
Duran Duran, Culture Club, Spandau Ballet, Adam & Ants, George Michael even The Artic Monkeys. I would have a hard time picking songs but all the bands I mentioned were crucial during certain era's of Britpop, New Wave/New Romantic, and Pop and Rock. Just my opinion and thoughts. But seriously no Oasis???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal gift..., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ideal gift recommended for any NOW music fans. Bought this product for my partner for his birthday and upon arrival he put it on and texted me to tell me its full of camp tunes and great songs from the decades. Fast next day delivery and one happy partner... A+ rating highly recommended as gift or personal item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill cd, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed listening to it as normally when you buy cd like this you always get some rubbish records on it. Disc1 and 2 were very good but the third on not so good. I would recommend it to friends and family. Value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'A GREAT REFLECTION OF 30 YEARS FROM THE 'NOW' SERIES', 18 Jun. 2013
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember prior to the 'Now' series buying 'Top of the Pops' albums, which
gave us the sounds of the day, not by the actual artists, in fact much of
the series didn't come close to the the artists that recorded the song in the
first place, sometimes you got lucky and had a reasonably close version.
buying the 'Top of the Pops' albums was a fairly cheap way of owning the
current songs ( the money wasn't really about, as is the case now
to buy everything one desires )
when the 'Now' series started up we were able to buy around 40 current sounds
by the original artists at a reasonable price, for that the series should
be applauded.
like an earlier reviewer i'd have to say as difficult as it would be to
choose which numbers to include from the range of over 3000 tracks covered
down the years, there are one or two numbers i'd have probably thought of
as ''must'' include which haven't been selected, however overall you'd
have to say the 3-CD set is a fair reflection of the period covered.
I've had this for a while, but have only today got round to listening to it.
( although the tracks are familiar to us music lovers, I don't believe an
item should be reviewed until it has been listened to, the same applies to
watching movies of course )
we all have different tastes in music which makes our favourites on board
somewhat different of course, however i'll pin point one or two of the many
great sounds the compilation offers.........'Michael Jackson' - 'Billy Jean'
'David Bowie and Mick Jagger' - 'Dancing in the Street'....'Elton John' -
'Sacrifice' ....'The Bangles' - 'Eternal Flame' ....'Cher' - 'The Shoop Shoop
Song' .....'Robbie Williams' - 'Angels' ....'Celine Dion' - 'My Heart Will go
on' ....'Girls Aloud' - 'Sound of the Underground' ....'Michael Andrews' feat
'Gary Jules' -'Mad World' ....'Westlife' - 'You raise me Up' ....'Adele' -
'Rolling in the deep' ....'Duffy' -'Macy' ....'The Black Eyed Peas' - 'I gotta
feeling' ....'Rihanna' -'Only Girl in the World' ....'Bruno Mars' - 'When I was
your Man' ......and 'Jessie J' -'Price Tag'
just a few of the many sounds of what in general is a very worthwhile item
to add to your collection........as I indicated, each of us would almost
certainly highlight different artists and their songs.
the 'Now' collection remains perhaps the easiest ways to keep collections
up to date.............enjoy.
********** it's pretty easy to pick holes in track choices over a 30 year period,
truth is we all just don't necessarily enjoy the same sounds, why don't you give
it a go, write down a list of your favourite tracks you'd love to see on a 3-4
disc compilation.
i'll give it a go.......'SOME OF MY FAVOURITE MUSIC MEMORIES DOWN THE YEARS'

See you later alligator - Bill Haley
Putting on the style - Lonnie Donegan
Jailhouse Rock - Elvis Presley
Travelling Light - Cliff Richard
All I have to do is dream - Everly Brothers
It's only make believe - Conway Twitty
Poison Ivy - Coasters
Baby I don't care - Buddy Holly
Something Else - Eddie Cochran
Cathy's Clown - Everly Brothers
Dance with the guitar man - Duane Eddy
It's Over - Roy Orbison
Little Town Flirt - Del Shannon
Telstar - Tornadoes
Girl of My best friend - Elvis Presley
Please don't tease - Cliff Richard
Apache - Shadows
I just don't know what to do with myself - Dusty Springfield
Twenty four hours from Tulsa - Gene Pitney
I wanna hold your hand - Beatles
The last time - Rolling Stones
Good Vibrations - Beach Boys
Where do you go to my Lovely -Peter Sarstedt
Hey Jude - Beatles
America - Simon and Garfunkel
Space Oddity - David Bowie
Send in the clowns - Judy Collins
Honey - Bobby Goldsboro
Yesterday once more - Carpenters
Ain't no sunshine - Michael Jackson
Gypsies Tramps and Thieves - Cher
The air that I breath - Hollies
Blockbuster - Sweet
Candle in the Wind - Elton John
Miss you - Rolling Stones
Orchard Road - Leo Sayer
You Wear it well - Rod Stewart
I'm Mandy fly me - 10 cc
Bohemian Rhapsody - Queen
Miss You Nights - Cliff Richard
Band on the run - Wings
Two out of three ain't bad - Meat Loaf
You don't bring me flowers - Barbra Streisand/neil Diamond.
Rivers of Babylon - Boney M
An American Trilogy - Elvis Presley
Theme from Mahogany - Diana Ross
Knowing me Knowing you - Abba
Jealous Guy - Roxy Music
I've never been to me - Charlene
Imagine - John Lennon
The Power of Love - Jennifer Rush
Walk like an Egyptian - Bangles
I just called to say I love you - Cat Stevens
Tainted Love - Soft Cell
Ashes to Ashes - David Bowie
I drove all night - Roy Orbison
Nothing Compares to U - Sinead O'Connor
Everything I do - Bryan Adams
i'd Do anything for love - Meat Loaf
Believe - Cher
I want to know what love is - Foreigner
Earth Song - Michael Jackson
Love is all around - Wet Wet Wet
I will always love you - Whitney Houston
Angels - Robbie Willians
How do I live - Leanne Rimes
Wannabe - Spice Girls
Think Twice - Celine Dion
Who let the dogs out - Baha Men
Can't get you out of my head - Kylie Minogue
Rock D,J - Robbie Williams
Hero - Enrique Inglesias
White flag - Dido
Mad World - Michael Andrews and Gary Jules
You Raise me up - Westlife
Bleeding love - Leona Lewis
You're beautiful - James Blunt
Umbrella - Rihanna
Leave right now - Will Young
Sound of the underground - Girls Aloud
Lazy song - Bruno Mars
On the Floor - Jennifer Lopez
Someone like you - Adele
Impossible - James Arthur
Spectrum - Florence and the Machine
Domino - Jessie J
Just give me a reason - Pink ft Nate Ruess
Skyfall - Adele

of course there are many favourite artists or songs not included, if I wrote a second i'd
add many of the artists you might say were missing, also for me, I know a whole lot more
about numbers released prior to 2000 than those released after, however, i'd buy a 4-CD
compilation with the above track list..........dating from the mid fifties onward......
what track list would you write from your fond memories ?

Comment Comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice tracks, 3 Jun. 2013
By 
Adam "A friendly bloke who likes to listen to... (DROITWICH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call 30 Years (MP3 Download)
Good value at just £4.
Nice range of tracks. Good for the gym!
I like how the era's are separated out on the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call 30 Years (MP3 Download)
I loved this product with a wide range of songs on it for a very decent price for 60 songs. I would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent mix of tracks, but it's all been done before, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
Katie85 (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
There is a decent mix of tracks on here from the last 30 years, but if you have already got plenty of these Now collections, you will not find anything you can't get from any other CD. Indeed, I already have Now Decades from the 20th anniversary and the 25 Years editions somewhere and there are so many similarities when it comes to the older tracks. I get the impression this CD was designed to appeal to those new to Now or to those who don't buy many compilation CDs or to those who will buy anything with the Now logo on it. This was a gift, otherwise I would have thought twice about buying it for myself.

There are no bad tracks on here (or if there are, at least you can say you recognise them all), but the compilation market has already been heavily saturated with these types of CDs and this is a good example of showing how none of them have anything original about them anymore. It gets a four star rating for the music choices on here, but if you already collect the Now CDs, you will most likely have most of the tracks on this CD somewhere amongst your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews