Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up.
The opening volume of The Boys had some shocking gratuity and a subtle moral message. Volume two switches these around in that the shocks and profanity have almost disappeared and the morality and complex and wordy story has come to the fore. This seems an abrupt change of pace. We learn little of our established characters in favour of telling two self-contained...
Published on 29 Jun. 2013 by 365 Graphic Novels

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Garth's best work
I am a big fan of Garth's run on Hellblazer, Preacher and Hitman but this strikes me as a retread of some of his older ideas.

The trademark Ennis dialogue is still sharp, and the characters well defined but the ultraviolence feels a bit cheesy after a couple of decades.

I like the artwork by Robinson and Snejbjerg - Robinson's Killer the bulldog is...
Published on 12 Mar. 2012 by Moving Target


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up., 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The opening volume of The Boys had some shocking gratuity and a subtle moral message. Volume two switches these around in that the shocks and profanity have almost disappeared and the morality and complex and wordy story has come to the fore. This seems an abrupt change of pace. We learn little of our established characters in favour of telling two self-contained mysteries. The first is a murder mystery which unsubtly pokes a finger at how homophobic our society is and second is a lament on the passing of Mother Russia and an extended cock joke. The two stories are quite bold statements but feel like a detour, allowing us to catch our breath after the first traumatic instalment.

The art is as good as ever with strong characterisation, some good visual storytelling and sight gags. Some nice panels here and there but the art is more serviceable than ground-breaking. There are an awful lot of talking heads so maybe in future there will be more time to shine. Thumbs Up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superheroes with a hightened sex drive and loads of violence, 27 Jan. 2013
Having only read the first graphic novel of The Boys only a week or two ago I didn't need to wait too long to get to this one.

I found the characters, new and old to be just as good as in the first one and I loved both story lines in this one too. The one complaint I did have was that I didn't enjoy the art work by the additional artist they brought in for the last two comics of the series. I'm not sure why they had to do this and the art work is in no way terrible however I did find it a bit of a distraction so I will be deducting a star for this.

I also felt that they could have done more with Little Nina's character (the bad guy) in the second storyline too but it didn't take away from the storyline. I just would have liked to have seen her in action.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable read for fans of The Boys. If you haven't read The Boys yet I suggest you start at the beginning though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys march on, 6 April 2009
By 
This is another truly excellent installment of The Boys by Garth Ennis. Just as brilliant and funny as the original and another absolutely essential purchase. Rest assured if you liked the first volume then you will lap this up too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Garth's best work, 12 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of Garth's run on Hellblazer, Preacher and Hitman but this strikes me as a retread of some of his older ideas.

The trademark Ennis dialogue is still sharp, and the characters well defined but the ultraviolence feels a bit cheesy after a couple of decades.

I like the artwork by Robinson and Snejbjerg - Robinson's Killer the bulldog is especially vivid.

Garth has done and can do better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth Ennis' The Boys Volume 2: Get Some: 1 (Kindle Edition)
It's an Ennis. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys take it up a notch, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story goes truly international as they head to Russia in this one. Plenty of macabre deaths and darkly funny story lines & some great characters. Ennis writes the good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought for someone's birthday, it arrived much quicker than anticipated and was in perfect condition on receipt. They were extremely happy once they'd received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worse of the lot !, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After readin the Boys vol 1 i was blown away and went and bought vol 2-12.

After reading this i thought what a waste of money i hope its not all down hill. I can say having read up to vol 6 that so far this is by far the worse one. But, stick with it because Vol 3 goes back to the quality you got for vol one.

I have leant this to a few friends and they all agree its the weakest one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best GN series I have read, 2 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best GN series I have read. Up there with The Preacher ! Great story and great art work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Ennis, 18 July 2008
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
As a fan of Ennis you really can guarantee the quality of not only the story arcs but the graphical nature to which these compendiums pay homage to. Its fun, it's a dark twist on the world to which the characters inhabit and lets face it, if you're fed up with goody two shoes Superhero characters its great to see the fallibility of these paragons of mankind. Ennis does it with spades with his usual dark humour and mind twists his way through the stories. Great fun and to be honest something that I really have to recommend to the older fan of the graphic novel due to the adult nature blended within the story arc. Epic action with an adult twist as Superheroes discover that there's a price for vice and screwing over the little guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garth Ennis' The Boys Volume 2: Get Some: 1
£9.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews