Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lost gem!
How does a movie as good as this get buried for nearly 40 years? 'The 14' was David Hemming's second feature after Running Scared the previous year (1972). The movie is based on the true story of a family of 14 children who, under the leadership of the oldest brother (played by the late Jack Wild then aged 20), attempt to stay together following the death of their single...
Published 8 months ago by John R Gale

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
Dreadful one dimensional cartoon characters and cliché ridden over-sentimentalised plot with ridiculous dialogue and no redeeming features not even it's 70's period piece status can save this turkey. It was probably meant to be a kids film but even if I was 9 I'd still want my money back.
Published 7 months ago by buddy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lost gem!, 1 Nov 2013
By 
John R Gale (Morden, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] (DVD)
How does a movie as good as this get buried for nearly 40 years? 'The 14' was David Hemming's second feature after Running Scared the previous year (1972). The movie is based on the true story of a family of 14 children who, under the leadership of the oldest brother (played by the late Jack Wild then aged 20), attempt to stay together following the death of their single mother (played by a young June Brown). The movie is bittersweet and gritty, set in a somewhat derelict part of West London at the time of redevelopment. I suspect that apart from Jack, none of the young children had any previous acting experience, but that makes their performances all the more authentic. This movie will make you laugh and it will make you cry - it certainly deserved better than oblivion and my thanks go to whoever took the effort to get this DVD released. Extras include the theatrical trailer and a photo gallery but more importantly, the entire film in original 4:3 aspect ratio as shot, in addition to the 1.75:1 cinema release. As a piece of social history alone, this film is worth watching - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 14, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] (DVD)
I think this was a very touching movie and I like movies based on truth. I have already recommend this movie to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] (DVD)
My children loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the people that did a restoration job on this film made a very good job of it, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the social realism films that were made in that period and almost forgotten, the people that did a restoration job on this film made a very good job of it. The whole idea of this film is to try and destroy the stigma around having large families which I have witnessed and I hope still does not exist today. Similar films are Cathy Come Home and the very important Alan Bleasdale`s Youssor`s Story from Boys From The Blackstuff which at the time showed how the government can intervene when a family gets into trouble and the children taken into care . If you like Alan Bleasdales`s work you will like this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 14 GO WILD IN LONG LOST 70'S LONDON!, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] (DVD)
IN THE CLASSIC DOCUMENTARY STYLE OF CATHY COME HOME OR POOR COW, THE THOUGHT OF WATCHING THIS AT SATURDAY MORNING PICTURES,LET ALONE CBBC IN 2014 WOULD BE A SHOCK TO MY OFFSPRING.IT IS SUPERB! THE KIDS ARE AMAZING!...WHAT BECAME OF THEM? JUNE BROWN AND ANNA WING WHAT CAN YOU SAY? SHOULD HAVE BEEN AMONG OUR BIGGEST STARS.DIRTY FACES AND TIN BATHS,,,THEM WAS THE DAYS!!!!!AND WHAT ABOUT ADVENTURE PLAYGROUNDS,BUILT BY KIDS AND YOUTHWORKERS?????HEALTH AND SAFETY PAH! UNLESS YOU ARE MADE FROM STONE,OR SPEND YOUR TIME TWEETING HATE, OR WATCHING HATE YOUR FELLOW MAN ON TV!!!!!YOU WILL LOVE THIS.JACK WILD... WHAT A FACE! FROM AMAZON UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and real but funny, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] (DVD)
Love this movie , Jack Wild is amazing as Reg the eldest child. I got a surprise when I realised Dot Cotton from Eastenders played the mother , all round good film that highlights the issues that so many families go through even in this day and age. Buy the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] (DVD)
Dreadful one dimensional cartoon characters and cliché ridden over-sentimentalised plot with ridiculous dialogue and no redeeming features not even it's 70's period piece status can save this turkey. It was probably meant to be a kids film but even if I was 9 I'd still want my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD]
The 14 (aka The Wild Little Bunch) [DVD] by David Hemmings (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews