Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
Following the antics of the testosterone fuelled Marcus, the demise of Alex, who feels that life has conspired against him, and the life of the other allotmenteers has been a real treat. There are flashes of wit, and the imagery is wonderful, titillating every sensory organ, thereby propelling you into their world. Every page leaves you with the desire to move onto the next without delay.

This is a hugely impressive first novel, and George Mounehis has a promising literary career ahead!

Are we likely to see how Marcus copes with the challenges in the next stage of his life? I hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Grower!, 28 May 2013
By 
John Lindsay (Lancaster, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
"From little acorns......" the saying goes, but this debut novel is already a fully formed oak tree for what promises to be an impressive literary forest for the future.

Mournehis writes with authority, confidence and affection in this heartwarming novel. He clearly knows and understands these North London characters whose lives revolve around the allotments which form a backdrop to the protaganists' journeys towards maturity and enlightenment.

The changes in the natural world seen through the cycle of life on the allotments run in parallel to and act as a metaphor for the characters' development.

In short, this is an enjoyable read and should have wide appeal. It is thoroughly entertaining on a superficial level but there is sufficient depth both intellectual and literary to allow greater degrees of appreciation. Don't beat about the bush, buy The Mulberry Tree, read it and recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
The author has a way of drawing you in to the lives of the people that use the allotments, each character is well described and may remind you of some one you have meet at some point in your life you also pick up a few gardening tips.

well worth the read so much so i have recommended it to my mother-in-law, who i know will enjoy it.

looking forward to the next book should he write one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
This is a good story. It has an interesting mix of characters. Humour and seriousness are finely balanced. It provides an intriguing insight into allotment life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive!, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
An impressive debut novel by George Mournehis.

The author shows an eloquence in his writing with a deep understanding of the complexities of human behaviours, reasoning and relationships. The novel revolves around the journey of Marcus taking responsibility of his adultlife, aided by a community of allotmenteers in North London. The richness of the authors description of the characters and the setting truly engulfs you.

I couldn't recommend this novel enough. The characters leave footprints on your heart, and days after finishing this novel you will miss them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
Buying cheapo books for my kindle has thrown up quite a varied selection of stories/authors which I may never had read otherwise....and this was definitely one of the best ones!
There were some really wonderful characters down on the allotments and I loved the way the way they interacted with each other.
Even the bit of romance didn't manage to spoil it.. A lovely, charming, amusing and sad story. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
It seems a simple story of characters on an allotment. When all the stories unfold about the different characters and how the allotment brings them and their lives together. It really makes one think the growing and the earth, can really bring people together. Also unearths the bad in people. A story of human traits , their ugliness and their kindness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book it was sad, happy and thought provoking some great characters. A new author who deserves recognition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. There were characters to like and dislike. So you had the people you wanted things to go well for and those you wanted to get their come-uppance. There were sad, funny and happy moments and it almost made me want to go and sort my garden out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and very engaging, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mulberry Tree (Kindle Edition)
I've nearly finished this book and will be really sad to see it end. The characters are pure delight and the story quite beautiful in its simplicity. Can't believe I am saying all this positive stuff when at its core the book is a romance (and I don't do Romance) . Who knew! Definately recommend as a gentle and thoroughly good read. Will read it again at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mulberry Tree
The Mulberry Tree by George Mournehis
£1.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews