Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Style Name: GO 600 EU - 6 inchVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an impressive-looking item, with a big screen and slim profile. It comes nicely packed in a colourful box, containing instruction leaflet, long USB cable, and windscreen mount. Mine arrived fully charged and ready to go, but that may be because mine was a review model. Yours might need to be charged before it is usable. The PC software is an easy download (if you can find it on the website), but when I plugged in the Tom Tom Go 600, its first update was absolutely massive and took half the night, though my broadband is a bit rubbish.

For comparison, I mounted my old Tom Tom One alongside the Tom Tom Go 600 in my car, and set off on a round trip up and down the M1. The first thing I noticed was that the Tom Tom Go 600 says less than the old Tom Tom One. It also starts speaking a little nearer to junctions. This isn't a problem, as the voice is much clearer (a BBC Radio news reader kind of voice), and its advice is concise and clear. As ever, other voices are available, but as with my previous satnavs, I found the default voice worked best. The suction mount for the Tom Tom Go 600 is neat and strong, and only fell off the windscreen twice during a week. However, it's a big satnav, and it falls down hard. I would certain avoid installing it anywhere above the steering wheel. The USB cable plugs into the mount, not the satnav. This makes it easier to use, but it is almost impossible to insert the cable into the back of the mount, without taking the mount off the screen.
The much-vaunted 3D maps don't really appear until you are in a built-up area, and I'm not convinced it makes much difference to the business of navigating to a destination. The 3D buildings don't look much like the real ones, though animation is impressively smooth.

Tom Tom Go 600 has a large range of settings, especially when it comes to warnings. For example, you may set it to only alert you about a speed camera if you are currently speeding. This nicely eradicates the annoying beeps that anyone who drives up the M1 will know well - the M1 is peppered with speed cameras. By connecting the Tom Tom Go 600 to your smart phone (via Bluetooth) it can download live traffic updates. This works well, but I found getting it started delayed my journey starts by a minute or so.

Despite all the cool features of this satnav, I found my old Tom Tom One easier to use while driving along. For example, marking a new speed camera is not that easy on the Tom Tom Go 600, but it's a simple button-press on the old Tom Tom One.
On my trial journey up the M1, the Tom Tom Go 600 did one on one occasion advise me to go the wrong way up a slip lane. That's really dangerous. To be fair, if you accidently set it to "Cycle Route" mode, it will send you up the odd footpath and trail here and there, but this was in normal car-driving mode. No satnav should direct you to make an illegal manoeuvre.

Overall then, it looks impressive, and the touch screen is very responsive. However, the buttons on the user interface are far too small (physically much smaller than on my comparatively tiny Tom Tom One screen), and some of its features seem to have taken a step backward in terms of ease of use.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 13 October 2014
No instructions included but on contact with company very helpful. Also able to use the help facility on the TomTom.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 29 July 2013
The sole purpose of this writing is to avoid frustrations to future buyers of the new Tomtom GO 600 / 500 / 400, on sale from the beginning of July 2013.

Just two weeks ago I have received my new Tomtom GO 600. According to Tomtom, the unique difference between the three models GO 600 / 500 / 400 is the screen size (6", 5" or 4,3"), so I assume the following comments should be valid for the three models.

About my previous knowledge of Tomtom products: I have used the Tomtom GO 930 during more than four years, including maps of Europe and North America, and maps update services all these purchased to Tomtom. It always worked fine, with the only problem of having to change the battery.

Given the promise of Tomtom Support - unfulfilled till current date - of continuity of services and North America map with the new model, I decided to buy the new one. Since I bought it in Europe, only the map of Europe is included, while I cannot even buy the map of USA:

Then I discovered the new Tomtom GO 600 does not have the functionality of my old GPS, that its use is limited to very clumsy users, that the product is too immature or "green", requiring future software upgrades, that the company has decided to take a big step back or all these together...

To sum, it would be quicker to say what improvements I appreciate in the new Tomtom GO 600, which are just TWO:
- Possibility of extending the screen map
- Capture of GPS satellites and route recalculation very fast, in seconds (obviously using a faster processor)

BUT, the GPS has many shortcomings and is generating many complaints from buyers. You can read some of these, for example, in the Tomtom Support forum here: [...]

Here are some of its shortcomings, based on functionalities that existed in previous models, and specifically in the Tomtom GO 930:

1. No audible alert for speeding, even when there is a visual alert: that is, the speed at which circulate appears in red when you exceed the speed limit of the road or highway. I consider it the most important one.

2. Cannot prevent access to another user setting an access PIN, which makes it much more "palatable" for potential thieves. Another major weak.

3. It is not possible to plan or analyze an itinerary setting the departure address and destination address: You can only set a destination address and some other address(es) in between, but the departure address is always the GPS geographical position, which detects from the satellites even when inside a building.

4. It is not possible to transfer POIs that you already have stored on another Tomtom GPS. The destination address can only be addresses or pre-installed POIs.

5. It is not possible to create new POIs, nor any new POIs folder, with the exception of "Favorites", now named "Places".

6. Longitude and Latitude coordinates cannot be used to enter a destination. So, forget obtaining coordinates, for example, from Google Maps...

7. Is not possible to load the GPS location coordinates as a POI or Favorite. This is a function widely used when we left the car parked in an unfamiliar city, as later we could find the car easily walking, guided by the same GPS. The only one option is to check street name and house number in front of which you parked the car.

8. Backup / restore are not included in the short menus. All the GPS content is self-included, occupying 6.5 GB of its memory of 8 GB.

9. Connected to a Windows 7 PC through its USB cable, Windows Explorer does not "see" it connected, nor its contents. The same happens with a Linux PC.

10. The promise of continuous Tomtom Traffic services via Bluetooth connection to a Smartphone is tricky: This is only possible with with iPhone (iOS) and Android. In the case of Android, the Android minimal version required is v4.0.

In short: The above list is not exhaustive, are just some things I remember now, that caused my frustration, and feel deceived and cheated by Tomtom.

Note: Please, excuse my poor writing: English is not my mother tongue.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 13 August 2013
Although it is good -it CANNOT connect to a PC or Mac to download updates etc...
I am not the only one complaining and cannot speak to Tom Tom for advice

Buy another product.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
Works great especially with the lifetime updates. No need to ever replace. Great battery life as well
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 25 July 2014
Tom Tom is much better than my built in Sat Nav, just wish they had lifetime speed cameras included.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 7 December 2014
Ok, first off you have to connect your newly bought tomtom go 500 to your computer to update it. Then reset the device by finding the reset in the menu. Now your daytime maps will be in colour. You have the option, a little icon, bottom right of screen to switch between day and night mode. Existing tomtom users will have to get used to the new menu system, and I personally think the route your following is not as clear as the old tomtom displayed. However if you link your mobile phone to the device, it updates the traffic info and gives you the best route. It's saves you time, money, your not wasting petrol sitting in traffic, and it takes the stress out of sitting in traffic, stop, start etc. I have a couple of different routes which I can get to work, and I always switch the sat navigation on now, so that I don't turn up at the motorway junction and see a queue of traffic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 9 September 2014
Excellent excellent so so pleased does everything it says so easy to use very very happy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 17 July 2013
Hi folks, having just received my Go 400 I started learning the technology. I will update this after my 3000 mile trip around Europe... However! as mentioned here by others, please ensure your phone can Tether with Bluetooth. I have a galaxy SII, which can connect to just about anything... except Bluetooth Tethering. Major issue when Traffic and Cameras are connected through this? Also, so far before calling TomTom, the instructions to add POI's (all my hotel locations from logis france) is not correct as the optional menu selection to add 3rd party POI's is not available on my PC MyTomTom tray item.
Despite reading that the search facility has broader scope, I have still not found hotels in the POI list when typing full name... though when I found the hotel with a local near me search, the name was as I typed... accept for the odd capital. Case sensitive search? if so why? it just narrows the success rate.
if you don't need a Sat Nav in a rush, I would wait for more reviews before buying. What I find disappointing here is that, having researched quite intensively for several weeks, there is still a major issue with a major function of connectivity that I don't believe was made clear to me. I'll let you know how the trip goes ;-)

Update:- Firmware upgrade on SII has enabled Bluetooth Tethering. Though the Sat Nav is reporting services not loaded, Try Later! This has been the same response on 2 different paired phones so far?
Also having spent several hours trawling the TomTom site I did finally find a detailed description of the requirement for tethering! I just think it should be right upfront in the initial descriptions.
TomTom GO 400 Europe
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 25 August 2014
Very nice product. Exact and smart. Take me everywhere for my holiday in Germany.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.