Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new Apple sat-nav, the iGO. Toyota won't be happy. Wait, it's made by who?...
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
---- UPDATED (24/12/14) REVIEW BEGINS ----...
Published 19 months ago by DARKcell

versus
248 of 261 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Existing TomTom users prepare for disappointment
If you are someone who already owns a TomTom SatNav, and if you are someone who loves the TomTom user interface design with its many features and customisations, you need to think very carefully before you cough up your cash for the new Go experience. Unfortunately it is all too easy to be swayed by the "free" headlines and the lovely map images appearing in the product...
Published 20 months ago by Buzbox


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If all you want is A to B, it's Ok-ish, 27 April 2014
This review is from: TOMTOM GO 400 EU (Electronics)
If you're reading this, you've probably also read many other reviews and have mixed feelings about making this purchase.

If you have a smartphone, my advice is to buy a cheap satnav app for now, then come back here in 6-12 months to see if things have improved.

The Go400 (and 500/600) is OK to get you from A to B, but it fails to make this an easy experience when things go wrong, or when you're not entirely sure of the journey.

First off, the display. The photos on this page are disingenuous - the black bar at the top of the display hides a lot of the road ahead - the very roundabout or junction that you're about to navigate. Sometimes this is hidden with less than 200 metres to go. The 3D display is not really 3D at all - it's a 2D display with a slight angle of distance.

You can't plan alternative routes - the one given is the only one. Much of the display is covered with side panels and frankly irrelevant touch points while driving (why would I want a zoom in/out panel when (a) I can pinch to zoom in/out and (b) I'm driving?)

The info bar on the right-hand side gets cluttered with icons which sit one on top of the other, making it difficult to work out what's actually happening. Fuel stops are shown as well. This would be useful if it had been designed properly (e.g. let me enter my standard "fill up" distance, then have an "I've filled up" button so that fuel stops are shown when I've travelled most of my fill-up distance). However, only the first two fuel points are displayed - pointless.

The touch screen is infuriating. In older models, you simply had to splat your finger anywhere on the display to get to the main options. Now you have to try and hit that tiny three-dot thing in the bottom left-hand corner. This is no fun when you're driving on your own, and I would suggest is almost dangerous. Touching the screen anywhere else brings up a little menu which allows you to remember the location, or drive there. Again, not really useful when driving, but can be handy when you want to set up a route in advance.

The correct approach to the screen would have been to use a short tap anywhere to bring up the main options, and a press-and-hold to bring up the small menu. This would make the device safer to use when driving.

It's slow to respond to screen presses too.

Check that your mobile phone is compatible - it uses Bluetooth tethering rather than the more usual Bluetooth device connection - I had to upgrade my phone to get it to work.

It's difficult to see if you're currently connected - you have to go into the main options to see the little icons in the top right corner. Again, a problem when you're driving.

There's no instant option to say "road ahead blocked". TomTom say that the live traffic info takes care of this. Except if an event has only just happened, live traffic doesn't know! And even then, it only re-routes if it can find an alternative that is marginally quicker. Unfortunately, turning around and retracing steps for a mile or two to take a different route doesn't figure. So the "route blocked" option is the answer, but there isn't one.

The TomTom representative who answers some of these reviews mentions forthcoming updates. You should bear in mind that there have been few updates as yet, mostly tinkering with things that don't actually resolve the fundamental problems with usability. Ok, they've added "My Routes", which is good, but "the ability to delete phones"? Perlease!! Get some perspective!

I seriously wish that TomTom would allow me to use the lifetime maps option with my old 720. But you can't even register two devices with one account on their web site! You have to have two accounts with different emails.

What can I say that's positive? Well, it does get you from A to B, with a single colour scheme. But if you're an existing TomTom user, be prepared for a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 July 2013
By 
I have used 2 generations of Tomtoms (910 and GO 750) before buying this one and I believe this to be an excellent update. Device is responsive and mapping, routes etc all good. The level of personal configuration allowed has dropped significantly but for me this was not an issue as new settings were right. No more 7 screens of settings.

The bluetooth element worked well. My phone (HTC One XL) supports two connections at once - one voice (to Ford handsfree) and one data to the Tomtom. This uses bluetooth tethering.

Problems
- seems to use more power than previous GO 750 - always low battery when unplugged so not charging properly from my 12v feed
- some instability, repeated crashing for 30 mins on one drive, otherwise fine
- better PC management with dreaded Tomtom home replaced with more lightweight version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Routing to excellence, 10 July 2014
By 
J. Pearce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TOMTOM GO 400 EU (Electronics)
Wow! After getting rid of my dreadful Garmin this is like a breath of fresh air! The mapping is amazing and when you get into a large city centre like Manchester the mapping zooms right in meaning that navigating complicated junctions become really easy.

Dump that old sat nav and get one of these today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great Sat Nav. Very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TomTom GO 600, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom GO 600 - GPS receiver - automotive - display: 6" - widescreen(1FA6.002.04) (Electronics)
Sent to my very fast. Very nice service. Easy to use and quick to pick up the gps signal. Will go back as and when i need a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars item is priced right, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom GO 600 - GPS receiver - automotive - display: 6" - widescreen(1FA6.002.04) (Electronics)
yes i like it becase of the size and how clear the screen is plus the make tom tom . regards fred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom GO 600 - GPS receiver - automotive - display: 6" - widescreen(1FA6.002.04) (Electronics)
Brilliant product - just what i needed. It does everything that i had expected and i strongly recommend it. Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BLACKBERRY USERS BEWARE!!, 22 Dec. 2013
A definite improvement on my old Tom Tom XL. The.main reason I upgraded was to get live traffic updates. In the small print on the box, it does say "via smart phone connection to the internet". That's the first problem. You will need 3G or 4g coverage and a reasonably priced data package. Then you will have to hope that any traffic jams do not occur in a 3G/4G black spot. But most annoyingly (shame on Tom Tom), the device WILL NOT TETHER TO A BLACKBERRY. only the Z10 is supported. This information is not shown on the packaging or in-device support menu. I spent hours trying to connect my BB 9900 and eventually found the above information on the Tom Tom support website. My advice? Save your money and buy a cheaper model, if you are a Blackberry user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little SatNav, 20 Dec. 2013
By 
Neil Douglas (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TOMTOM GO 400 EU (Electronics)
I was a little nervous about buying this having read reviews of people struggling to update it from the TomTom site and so on, but I have to say I have had absolutely no problems.
Also, some reviews complained about missing features - these seem to have been added, so for example you can plan trips that start somewhere other than you are.
To date I have no criticisms at all of the device. If I was to be picky I'd say searching for addresses is slow.
For those who complain you can't do house numbers have you tried house number, space, postcode? It works. So for instance 12 RH5 9QA
This model has an integrated mount, the next size up (500) has a separate mount. If I lost this I'd probably buy the next one up so I could leave the mount permanently on the windscreen, but its no big deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Live services frequently unavailable, good when it works though, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom GO 600 - GPS receiver - automotive - display: 6" - widescreen(1FA6.002.04) (Electronics)
Edit:
Posted to the TomTom forum

I've been using the Go 600 since just before Xmas (previous history Go Live, Nuivi & Mio) and have issues with the availability (or lack of) of the Live Traffic services which let's be honest if it wasn't for that, I for one would have kept the Garmin.

The problem for me is whenever the traffic is heavy (i.e. Xmas around the M25 belt) and you really need up to date traffic info is the time when the Live services never seems to connect. (phone is Galaxy S4 and shows as internet connected, just not to TomTom)

This could be a (O2) network jam but I don't think so as Google Traffic seems to work fine - I think TomTom's servers are overloaded and that is just unacceptable.

Worst still is that the Go 600 map display doesn't display the presence or absence of the connection to the services, so you have no idea whether the lack of delays en-route is real or not, ditto when calculating a route. This IMHO is just unforgiveable

Original review
Was on the verge of sending it back after trying & failing to get any of 3 laptops to recognize the unit?????

Rang Tom-Tom helpline and was pleasantly surprised at the quick answer - no listening for hours on end to 'how important my business is to us' on this call at least. They immediately sorted me out.

So tip for future purchases - do not try to connect to PC via the car mount, IT DOES NOT WORK!

Connect directly to the unit's micro USB port and it works fine

Question for Tom-Tom, what are all the pins for on the car mount??? it only seems to operate the charging circuits!!

In operation it works as well as the Go Live 825 before it, and like others I prefer the display layout and do not miss the bells & whistles left off this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews