Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So interesting!
I watched the film and then decided I wanted to know more - hear it from the horse's mouth. What a life! Thoroughly enjoyable book. And with loads more stories and gossip than the film! Anyone who enjoyed the film will like this :)
Published 23 months ago by Kaz

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No photographs, disappointingly spare.
I didn't learn much more from this book than I'd learned from Steven Soderbergh's excellent film adaptation of 'Behind the Candelabra'. I was hoping for some candid at-home-with-Liberace-and-Scott type pictures; but there are none. I understand that Liberace necessarily had to be publicity-shy with regard to his relationship with Scott, because he felt he could not...
Published 23 months ago by SJ Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So interesting!, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace (Kindle Edition)
I watched the film and then decided I wanted to know more - hear it from the horse's mouth. What a life! Thoroughly enjoyable book. And with loads more stories and gossip than the film! Anyone who enjoyed the film will like this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well recommended, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book after seeing the movie advertised. The book is well structured and giving a great glimpse into this very flamboyant stars real life. Only took me 2 days to read it, couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace (Kindle Edition)
A very moving book written in such a way as to give a great insight into the life of a man who brought so much pleasure to many millions of people. I am glat that Scott Thorson chose to write this book. It is well written, it is candid and as well as giving us an insight into the very private life and world of Liberace, it shows of Scott's great love and devotion to Liberace the man. Well done to him for writing it. Life in a gilded cage is never easy - though often envied by people on the outside who have no idea how lonely that life can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need More Books Like This, 20 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace (Kindle Edition)
I've just finished this book an hour ago and read it within 2 weeks of purchase. I just couldn't put i down as I loved Scott's brutal honesty and stories about the man that was Liberace. Being only 20 years old I didn't know much about Liberace so everything i read in this book was all new to me and I loved it. After watching the HBO movie I knew I had read the book. I felt sorry for Liberace that he hide his own sexuality his own life but then I'm angered at him for not helping Scott when he got addicted to the diet pills then cocaine instead of tossing him aside. After hearing Scott was in prison and had cancer I felt by purchasing this book it would help him if the money from this sale went directly to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace (Kindle Edition)
I have some doubts as to how much of the book is true. It's not that I totally disbelieve it, it's just that Thorson' s criminal activity after the events of the book make him a less than credible witness. He paints himself as naive, utterly moral, refusing to take part in Liberace' s sexual fantasies or even watch porn of any kind, very against drugs, etc. Yet afterwards he has been heavily involved in mobster activity, drug dealing and even credit card fraud.

I'm sure some things did happen the way he said and the basics are probably true but I'll take other things with a pinch of salt.

None of this stopped me from enjoying the book, however and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Louise Dick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This proved to be a good read, although I felt some ground was covered more than once and it did get a little repetitive at points.
Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No photographs, disappointingly spare., 5 Jun. 2013
By 
SJ Bailey (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace (Kindle Edition)
I didn't learn much more from this book than I'd learned from Steven Soderbergh's excellent film adaptation of 'Behind the Candelabra'. I was hoping for some candid at-home-with-Liberace-and-Scott type pictures; but there are none. I understand that Liberace necessarily had to be publicity-shy with regard to his relationship with Scott, because he felt he could not 'declare' his homosexuality to the world for fear of alienating his fans, but a few photos would have been most welcome. I'm waiting till 'Liberace - an American Boy' gets a paperback re-release so that I can read a more balanced account of Liberace's fabulous life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A deeply superficial book somehow made into a thought-provoking film, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
Freddy Kater "Foster2be" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't let this tedious, self indulgently written book put you off seeing a beautifully crafted film. Matt Damon's interpretation of Scott is much more vivid than the completely two dimensional, rather dim, character who wrote/co-wrote this book. There is virtually no insight into either his or Liberace's character and Scott is opinionated and virtually devoid of any deeper understanding of e.g Liberace's tortuous and deeply damaging relationship with his mother (fabulously acted by Debbie Reynolds in the film). He is hypercritical of others while distinctly hypocritical. What attracts him about the homosexual lifestyle is never touched upon and although Liberace hardly impressed as a philanthropist, how he managed to stay with Scott is an un fathomable riddle. I read the book to the very end but the relentlessly detailed litigation became too boring for words. Go and see the film and don't bother with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liberace, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace (Kindle Edition)
An excellent insight into the man behind the furs and bling. Very well written and enjoyable to read
Looking forward to seeing the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars after seeing the movie read the book, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Candelabra: My Life With Liberace (Kindle Edition)
Really well written (if a little repetitive in places) biography about the price of fame and fortune. Written with great affection for the man who ultimately gave him everything and then took it all away- this is a great un sensational account of the last decade of decadence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews