Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What if it was you?
I cannot understand how Mr Smitherd manages to make a conversation between two people in a cafe carry so much depth in such a short story. The characters are well written and the story is compelling, rising to a crescendo in the final pages. I am a big fan of H.P. Lovecraft and the growing sense of dread from a simple conversation reminded me a lot of his writing...
Published 12 months ago by A. C. Rigby

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stopped a bit short....
Having read "The Stone Man" I couldn't wait to read this by the same author. Started off pretty good and the twist of what the old man's secret was was amazing!! I just felt more could have been done with the sotry. Also, it kind of ended abruptly and left me thinking "Oh, is that the end??"
I want to read Luke's other books though as I did really...
Published 18 months ago by Benno


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars call it a 4.9..., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
Loved this story, but not *quite* as much as "The Black Room", but I can't give it 4.9 stars, only 4 or 5... hence 5 stars with a caveat (that's probably not the word I meant, but that's why I'm not a writer). Read this, then read " The Black Room". You won't regret either. Oh, and then "The Physics Of The Dead"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gets you thinking, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
bought this book after reading the stone man ,another good one deffo gets you thinking - off to buy the black room set now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Luke Smitherd, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
I finished The Stone Man and wanted another fix of Luke Smitherd. I decided to read The man On Table Ten next and wasn't disappointed. The only problem with it was I wanted more. It's hard to believe that a story that's basically just a conversation between two people could be so captivating and intriguing.

I've now purchased The Physics of the Dead (TPOTD) and am finding it equally good. At this rate I'll have finished all of Luke's published material in a matter of a few weeks and will be left waiting for him to write another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a thought provoking read, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
This is so well written and in my mind could be true watch out if you see the old guy in a restaurant near you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
Another fab read by Luke smitherd....keep up the good work cant wait for more like this ...highly recommended and free!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't stop reading and I wish there will be another story with Lisa and how she copes with this experience. What happens to the world after many saw the cloud and heard about it. Please keep writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing story., 11 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
The only thing missing is a twist in the end - I expected an outcome that would not be quite as predictable ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent tale from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting idea. However, I felt the story ended a little abruptly. Having said that I still enjoyed the story. Will certainly download more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor characterisation, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man On Table Ten - A Mysterious Science Fiction Tale (Kindle Edition)
There are very few characters is this novella and unfortunately they are very badly developed. I get the feeling that Luke Smitherd let the plot run away with him and paid little attention to his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews