Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part sci-fi adventure, part suspense thriller, part conspiracy theory - a cracking read, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and I have to say I didn't have much in the way of expectations as I'd never heard of the author. Needless to say its definitely worth a read, the story is well conceived, progresses at a furious pace and contains a good half dozen twists to the plot that completely blind side you. Characterisation is good, and as the story progresses you begin to really empathise with the main players (a twist or two certainly helping in this respect).
All in all a very good first book and an author I'm sure has a bright future - I can't wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible experience, 11 Jun 2013
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Reading this book was an incredible experience. Though set in very different environments, the two main stories both start out with an imperilled character, alone against the world. Curiously, I found myself immediately identifying with the protagonists and, through them, soon came to love the supporting cast. As they became more embroiled in the ruthless power struggle between Outland and City factions, I felt deeply invested in their goals and desires.

This is a fast paced read, and once the schemes and revelations start coming, you have to stay on the ball to keep up. The twists and turns are thoroughly enjoyable, and made wonderfully meaningful and personal by being experienced through relatable and sympathetic characters.

The dystopian world that has been created is complex and interesting, but not so far-fetched that I couldn't identify with it. The political milieu mirrors real world power dynamics and stakeholders. The balance and interplay between the personal odysseys of the key characters and the looming jeopardy of the larger plot, makes for a wonderfully tense energy, interspersed with feel-good moments and devastation.

This book may require a second reading to get a full appreciation of all that's going on, but it is so entertaining that I recommend it. I can't wait for Scott's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad there are more books on the way!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a great read this was for me. The characters, plot, and locations, all well thought out and superbly described in the most vivid of detail. Past, present and future are cleverly connected to illustrate a whole new world/way of life. The characters are well constructed and can be identified with, with much empathy.

The distinctive writing style left me on the edge of my seat, feeling as though I was sat in the middle of a 3D action sci-fi adventure movie, with no angle uncovered or missed out. Without skipping a beat:- a blockbuster movie if the right director finds it!

Bring on the next book! I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting Read, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. The plot is an exciting and complex one that drags you headlong through a wonderfully creative and well-structured world. The thrilling action is counterpointed by an accessible love story that avoids being cliched or corny.
I connected with these characters in a big way and found myself thoroughly entertained from beginning to end. Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome read!, 10 Jun 2013
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
eeny meeny has really hit the review on the spot. I love how the author explored the technology, the blending of robotics, AI, gene-manipulation, setting the future scape and character development. And the blend of action and past-present flow to the final culmination are just terrific. I, too, can't wait for the next edition - bring on more of the Cybarium Chronoicles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Find!, 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a great find! Not my usual fantasy choice, but a surprisingly good read in a complex new world, bring on book number 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a fantastic book, I can see this being made into a movie one day. This will be a blockbuster if this book is turned into a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read. If you enjoy science fiction with lots of action then I would recommend buying this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Moves along at a good pace keeps you interested with a few good twists along the way. Would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 17 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Wind Rising (The Cybarium Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Just got done reading SWR, and can't wait for the sequel. The complex swings and changes of the plot kept me reading even when I should really have been sleeping. I don't want to include any spoilers, so I will just say that it is wonderfully imaginative and the frequent twists and revelations keep you wanting to know more, right up to the last page (and then you're left wanting the next book).

The book has a strong start, but like most good books, the characters take some time to develop. Now that the ground work has been laid, I can only imagine that subsequent volumes will be even more thrilling. I love the direction that the plot seems to be heading and will definitely buy the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews