Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read.
Not really a magic book reader but this was much better than most, actually quite hard to put down lots of blood and Gore , if this is your modern magical book then I will read more of them.
Published on 8 Jan. 2013 by Martin R. Read

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nathan is back but not as good
This is the second book in the series and like many sequels it doesn't reach the highs of the first. Having said that, I am looking forward to the third one.

Like the previous book this one flits between present day and the past (in this case the Wild West). If you liked the first one then definitely read this.
Published 1 month ago by Tom


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read., 8 Jan. 2013
By 
Martin R. Read (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really a magic book reader but this was much better than most, actually quite hard to put down lots of blood and Gore , if this is your modern magical book then I will read more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Book in the series is better than the 1st., 1 July 2015
By 
MrShev "mrshev" (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Hatred (The Hellequin Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
I REALLY don't like fantasy books. In fact, I pretty much hated Lord of the Rings and so it is a great surprise to find a series of books that I actually like...that are fantasy books. Every fantastical myth is here: Avalon, sorcerers, necromancers, werewolves, vampires - everything but the Loch Ness Monster and the Abominable Snowman. I won't summarize the story, but it effortlessly switches between a back story set in early 19th century United States and contemporary England. The reason I say effortlessly is that each story is good to read, one is not a plot pinata for the good of the other. They complement each other and create greater depth.

What's good: What makes these books strong is the characterisation which has gotten stronger. Nathan feels like a more rounded character with a few more foibles and some of the side characters have been written very strongly - especially the wolf pack leader, Mathew. McHugh hussles the plot along at a brisk pace, from one well described location to the next using exposition well to fill out the back story and introduce new characters. The large set pieces are well described and feel like proper, full-on battles.

What's not so good: I sometimes don't find the sex scenes a little gratuitous and sometimes incongruous to the plot - sometimes Nathan Garrett reads like a modern day Michael Knight, solving people's problems with his powers and sleeping with the girl every episode. I'm not sure I like it. Also, some of the descriptions are a little awkward and I found myself reading a few sentences that read along the lines of: '...I entered the room, that was painted white with a plasma screen on the wall, and put the red book on the oak table that had four legs.'

These minor niggles aside, I loved it and have already bought the third. They seem to be getting better so I am looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born of hatred, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Hatred (The Hellequin Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent sequel. This is turning into a very good series, will be starting the next one shortly, hope it's as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series!!!, 20 April 2014
By 
S. Dawson "sd" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Hatred (The Hellequin Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
Loved these books, want more, they are totally amazing would definitely recommend.Just the right mix of strong character and action/ fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Hatred (The Hellequin Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to starting book 3. Have recommended it to family and friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding sequel to Crimes Against Magic, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Hatred (The Hellequin Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
This book was enticing and kept me hooked from the beginning. A well told and fascinating story with intricate and well thought out characters.

It's a page turner, love history, fantasy and suspense? Give this book a chance you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
berenice (JARROW, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kelly Armstrong, Kim Harrison, or Faith Hunter buy this book.
It flows, it is fast paced and thoroughly enjoyable.
Make a plan to read it in one go though . The second book in the series read book one first (equally good) as there is a little cross referral.
Thank you McHugh a good read more please..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent, funny, action packed story from the Hellequin Chronicles, already looking forward to book three, definately recommend this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is by far one of the best fantasy/action books I have ever had the pleasure of reading. Buy this book you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Hatred (The Hellequin Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
2nd in the series of what seems to be an extremely talented writer. I absolutely love the dialogue and how there is a great mix of characters. It's not your normal cheesy supernatural clap trap and would recommend this to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews