Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty drama with excellent acting
A brilliant drama that starts when a girl of about 11 years of age witnesses a violent attack on an adult simple minded son of a neighbour by the thuggish father of three feral teenaged girls who also live in the cul de sac. At various times during the drama an event occurs and the next scene shows the events leading up to what happened, this is a very good technique to...
Published 21 months ago by David H J Ashdown

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting film
Got mixed reviews from the group that watched it with me. Definitely a touchy, feely sort of film and can be a bit naive. If you like Mike Leigh, you will probably like this and accept its shortcomings. Worth a watch, I think.
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. S. J. Reilly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended., 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Broken (DVD)
I was expecting a typically grim Brit drama, it is hard going in parts but never gratuitous. Well worth a watch, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars worth watching, 5 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Broken (Amazon Instant Video)
The acting is superb throughout and the storyline is believable. I would recommend this however I would suggest parental guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Broken (DVD)
Excellent. The performances from everyone were outstanding. Especially the kids. Highly recommend, but not feelgood movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to watch and learn from! One of those ..., 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting to watch and learn from! One of those 'quiet' films that need a second viewing to really get the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken [DVD] (DVD)
Wow.

Broken is a social drama shot through with the notion of hope, resilience and the old adage 'a flower in a dustbin'. As such it is probably one of the better examples of 'Broken Britain' cinema, bleak in parts but not needlessly melodramatic/gritty. Certainly the twilight direction (Rufus Norris) and cinematography (Rob Hardy) garner some beauty amidst the despair.

I haven't read the novel on which its based, written by Dan Clay. but I'd be interested to know if the slightly non linear way the interwoven stories of three households in a North London cul-de-sac is in keeping with the source or an invention of the film. Equally I wonder if the vague feeling of To Kill A Mockingbird (father who is a solicitor/lawyer and young inquisitive daughter who shows great promise live across the road from the neighbourhood 'freak') features in the novel, or if that was just me!

I'm a big fan of Tim Roth and I'm so glad to see him here as Archie, the solid and reliable solicitor and father of Skunk, mainly because it feels like a return to his socially aware indie low budget British roots (Made In Britain, Meantime, King of the Ghetto) But the real stars of this film are Rory Kinnear, who is fast proving he can play absolutely anything (compare this to his current TV appearances in the charming sitcom Count Arthur Strong and the gripping dour drama Southcliffe) as the neighbourhood thug whose actions and those of his three daughters poison everything. It's a relief however to see that it is not a one note characterisation, there's more facets to his personality and as horrid as he is, his behaviour is at least understandable depicting almost the other side of the coin to Tim Roth's character, in that both of them are single parents making their way across the minefield, albeit Roth more successfully than the less open minded Kinnear. Then of course there is Eloise Laurence as Skunk. Much has been said of this promising newcomer so I feel I've little to contribute except to concur she is indeed one to watch.

Broken is a realistic, poignant film that builds up nicely to a gripping affecting climax whilst also capably depicting that innocence of youth and the hazy summers between school years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Effortless misery, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken [DVD] (DVD)
The formula - choose a modern urban setting and crosscut the interplay amongst the damaged families causing further damage to each other - moves towards a vaguely redemptive ending. If you want a bit of harrowing, without any real intellectual challenge, this would be a good Tuesday night film. The actors, who are uniformly strong, would have profited from a better script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Broken (Amazon Instant Video)
Compelling and very watchable yet violent and disturbing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty bleak drama, 5 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Broken [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a gritty, British bleak drama along the lines of Mike Leigh. Range of well established actors alongside newcomer Eloise Laurence. She shows remarkable poise and self control for one so young but at the same time plays a very natural young girl. Got a good voice, too; she sings the opening and closing songs on the soundtrack. Well directed, too. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken [DVD] (DVD)
Unusual suburban thriller that compels you to watch. Symptomatic of our society today I would say - that is broken. Excellent storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars strange film, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken [DVD] (DVD)
good film and shows how behaviour that is bad can rub off on our children. And always be sure of your facts before acting on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken [Blu-ray]
Broken [Blu-ray] by Rufus Norris (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews