Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The clue is in the name
That forms the title of this slow burning but ultimately fulfilling mini-series, based on the books by Benjamin Black (aka John Banville). The eponymous Quirke lives up to his name, as played by Gabriel Byrne: haunted and troubled by the kind of early life experiences only at first hinted at but gradually, as the series progresses, revealed in all their sordid...
Published 8 months ago by still searching

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, sadly.
I'm a big fan of the actors in this series. Gabriel Byrne has been in some of my favourite films, particularly Miller's Crossing, and is faultless. Michael Gambon is a master at making fine acting look easy. I've also enjoyed the books which this series was based on, so naturally I was looking forward to sitting back and simply letting myself enjoy what should have been...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. S. Kerfoot


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The clue is in the name, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
That forms the title of this slow burning but ultimately fulfilling mini-series, based on the books by Benjamin Black (aka John Banville). The eponymous Quirke lives up to his name, as played by Gabriel Byrne: haunted and troubled by the kind of early life experiences only at first hinted at but gradually, as the series progresses, revealed in all their sordid glory.

Quirke, the errant prodigal son of a prominent Dublin judge, (Michael Gambon) is a pathologist who becomes a little too interested in the erstwhile lives of his horizontal clients. His delving into areas that, ostensibly, are not his concern, soon brings him into conflict with powerful interests that are closer to home than he could possibly have imagined.

This is a dark, brooding but evocative trip to fifties Dublin and the murky world of the Catholic Church where secrets unearthed bring to light the full truth of its suffocating, corrosive, stultifying and all pervasive influence on the lives of its captives.

The look is appropriately (n)oirish, the characters outlandish and Byrne brings to Quirke's tormented soul an oddly impish quality that offsets, what might otherwise be considered, the somewhat hackneyed traits of the alcoholic, which adds to the character's allure.

For me it doesn't quite hit the Nordic Noir spot - but it's not far off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damp Dublin Hangover Days, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Hamish Adam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Is Quirke drunk? Or is it another Dublin-damp misty hangover day? Is the Catholic Church a pox on the face of humanity. Or not?

Don't expect any easy answers from this superb drama which is as much uncomfortably ambiguous social history, as gripping yarn.

It's always raining in Quirke's noir parish. And, paradoxically, almost always black and white, but with none of the facile narrative hand-holding which that simple color palette might imply.

And it is not only film noir, but slow noir with it. In 50's Dublin there was presumably always time to take a second look, to stare for a while, to ponder something. Quirke's pacing perfectly captures it. Rather than the weakness which another reviewer experienced, I saw this as an artistic strength.

This is not pretty story-telling. But it tells it like it probably was. Foyle's War for the Guinness classes. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirke - an orphan's tale, 20 July 2014
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Gabriel Byrne is excellent as Quirke, a deeply flawed and disturbed medical professional. He is a functioning alcoholic with an inner sense of justice.

1950s Dublin is a dull, damp, austere place where lies, deceit and hypocrisy underlie the respectable society presented. Quirke haunts this world, shuffling and stumbling, smoking and drinking, full of regret and tragedy, accepting his place in this world but uneasy about its underbelly. Family relationships are significantly intense, betraying a troubled past. Nick Dunning is impressive as Quirke’s brother.

The pace of the narrative is deliberate and slow. Norms, morals and actions are explored and challenged. It may be that the past is a foreign country where they do things differently, but the issues examined here are disturbingly familiar. The denouement in the third programme is truly shocking.

This is not a conventional crime drama, but an exploration of the human condition at a certain time and a certain place. It is an impressive piece of work which deserves to be viewed and reflected upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 24 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
This is a first class drama set in the fifties.Gabriel Byrne is excellent in the roll of Quirke the pathologist ,who when he suspects things are amiss ,has to investigate,and like a dog with a bone does not give up no matter who stands in his way.He also has a troubled past which he tries to overcome with the help of alcohol.The era is captured well and the sets are good,an all round enjoyable treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, sadly., 8 July 2014
By 
Mr. S. Kerfoot (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of the actors in this series. Gabriel Byrne has been in some of my favourite films, particularly Miller's Crossing, and is faultless. Michael Gambon is a master at making fine acting look easy. I've also enjoyed the books which this series was based on, so naturally I was looking forward to sitting back and simply letting myself enjoy what should have been some of the best television of the year.

Unfortunately, in spite of having fine actors, gripping stories to base it on, characters which leap off the page in the novels and a situation which should make for great television drama, and of course the backing of the BBC, this series failed to live up to expectations. The pacing was slow, hesitant even, every point seemed laboured, and the subtlety of the books was lost. The acting was sound, but with a lack of adequate direction it all seemed rather lacking.

It's clear that whoever produced and directed the series had seen the recent American hits such as Boardwalk Empire, Mad Men or True Detective, and camera work, pacing, fine detailing and design were all clearly influenced by them. However, while those series are masterclasses, this wasn't. It's one thing to read a book, it's another to write one yourself. I'm sure everyone worked hard at making this series, it really did have a quality feel, but the style didn't have the substance which was needed to back it up.

Brilliant actors deserve better, and so do viewers. If any more are made, I doubt I'll watch them. Probably better to stick to the books, which I'd recommend highly. This was okay at best, but rather a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough because of Byrne, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Slow moving and dark (literally... It seems to always be night in this film), but quite compelling. The stars are for Gabriel Byrne who gives an extraordinary performance as a lonely, tortured, ( but uncanny in his brilliance) pathologist who cannot resist involving himself in solving mysteries. Alcoholism is a powerful subtext here. A good watch on a lazy afternoon by the fire... The incessant cold and rain in the film evoke the need for warm tea and a fire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a brilliant actor, featuring in an equally brilliant cast, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Gabriel Byrne, what a brilliant actor, featuring in an equally brilliant cast. Each of these feature length episodes kept me glued to my seat. The story is intriguing with lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing. This is a beautiful looking series, true to it's time, not only with it's appearance but also with wonderful dialogue and attitude, it made me believe that I was there, in the 1950's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... read all of the books with Quirke -- I loved them, especially the first one (Christine Falls), 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
I read all of the books with Quirke -- I loved them, especially the first one (Christine Falls). To condense the books into an hour and a half is quite remarkable. Acting is top notch. Stories a bit somber, but lots of twists, turns and surprises making great stories. I plan on watching them again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEAD INTERESTING, 19 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
A film noir crime series set in Dublin in the 1950s. Based on the novels by Benjamin Black aka John Banville.

Quirke, played by Gabriel Byrne, is the Chief Pathologist in the Dublin City Morgue. He becomes curious about the deaths of people that now grace his place of work in the form of cadavers.

I guess you could say his work is dead interesting.

Michael Gambon also stars as Judge Garret Griffin.

The DVD set contains 3 feature-length episodes (each 90 minutes long). These stories are taken from different books in the Benjamin Black collection.

Great to see that the series was shot in Dublin. Irish viewers will have the added interest of watching to see what locations were used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not a happy story, but it rings true from start to ..., 15 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Similar to the "Philomena" story and just as moving. Gabriel Byrne is utterly believable in the title role, the tortured, chain-smoking, alcoholic Quirke. It's not a happy story, but it rings true from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quirke [DVD]
Quirke [DVD] by Jim O'Hanlon (DVD - 2014)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews