Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The clue is in the name
That forms the title of this slow burning but ultimately fulfilling mini-series, based on the books by Benjamin Black (aka John Banville). The eponymous Quirke lives up to his name, as played by Gabriel Byrne: haunted and troubled by the kind of early life experiences only at first hinted at but gradually, as the series progresses, revealed in all their sordid...
Published 27 days ago by still searching

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, sadly.
I'm a big fan of the actors in this series. Gabriel Byrne has been in some of my favourite films, particularly Miller's Crossing, and is faultless. Michael Gambon is a master at making fine acting look easy. I've also enjoyed the books which this series was based on, so naturally I was looking forward to sitting back and simply letting myself enjoy what should have been...
Published 3 days ago by Mr. S. Kerfoot


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The clue is in the name, 15 Jun 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
That forms the title of this slow burning but ultimately fulfilling mini-series, based on the books by Benjamin Black (aka John Banville). The eponymous Quirke lives up to his name, as played by Gabriel Byrne: haunted and troubled by the kind of early life experiences only at first hinted at but gradually, as the series progresses, revealed in all their sordid glory.

Quirke, the errant prodigal son of a prominent Dublin judge, (Michael Gambon) is a pathologist who becomes a little too interested in the erstwhile lives of his horizontal clients. His delving into areas that, ostensibly, are not his concern, soon brings him into conflict with powerful interests that are closer to home than he could possibly have imagined.

This is a dark, brooding but evocative trip to fifties Dublin and the murky world of the Catholic Church where secrets unearthed bring to light the full truth of its suffocating, corrosive, stultifying and all pervasive influence on the lives of its captives.

The look is appropriately (n)oirish, the characters outlandish and Byrne brings to Quirke's tormented soul an oddly impish quality that offsets, what might otherwise be considered, the somewhat hackneyed traits of the alcoholic, which adds to the character's allure.

For me it doesn't quite hit the Nordic Noir spot - but it's not far off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brooding and Brilliant, 2 Jun 2014
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
I am a long standing fan of Gabriel Byrne and he has not disappointed as Quirke. Dark and brooding it takes you straight into the era in which it is set, with good storylines and characters.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEAD INTERESTING, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Jet Lagged (From the above image, obviously somewhere that does dodgy haircuts.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
A film noir crime series set in Dublin in the 1950s. Based on the novels by Benjamin Black aka John Banville.

Quirke, played by Gabriel Byrne, is the Chief Pathologist in the Dublin City Morgue. He becomes curious about the deaths of people that now grace his place of work in the form of cadavers.

I guess you could say his work is dead interesting.

Michael Gambon also stars as Judge Garret Griffin.

The DVD set contains 3 feature-length episodes (each 90 minutes long). These stories are taken from different books in the Benjamin Black collection.

Great to see that the series was shot in Dublin. Irish viewers will have the added interest of watching to see what locations were used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Gabriel Byrne is fantastic in this amazing drama. I am a huge GB fan and this drama really showcased how good of an actor he really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
This is a first class drama set in the fifties.Gabriel Byrne is excellent in the roll of Quirke the pathologist ,who when he suspects things are amiss ,has to investigate,and like a dog with a bone does not give up no matter who stands in his way.He also has a troubled past which he tries to overcome with the help of alcohol.The era is captured well and the sets are good,an all round enjoyable treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, sadly., 8 July 2014
By 
Mr. S. Kerfoot (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of the actors in this series. Gabriel Byrne has been in some of my favourite films, particularly Miller's Crossing, and is faultless. Michael Gambon is a master at making fine acting look easy. I've also enjoyed the books which this series was based on, so naturally I was looking forward to sitting back and simply letting myself enjoy what should have been some of the best television of the year.

Unfortunately, in spite of having fine actors, gripping stories to base it on, characters which leap off the page in the novels and a situation which should make for great television drama, and of course the backing of the BBC, this series failed to live up to expectations. The pacing was slow, hesitant even, every point seemed laboured, and the subtlety of the books was lost. The acting was sound, but with a lack of adequate direction it all seemed rather lacking.

It's clear that whoever produced and directed the series had seen the recent American hits such as Boardwalk Empire, Mad Men or True Detective, and camera work, pacing, fine detailing and design were all clearly influenced by them. However, while those series are masterclasses, this wasn't. It's one thing to read a book, it's another to write one yourself. I'm sure everyone worked hard at making this series, it really did have a quality feel, but the style didn't have the substance which was needed to back it up.

Brilliant actors deserve better, and so do viewers. If any more are made, I doubt I'll watch them. Probably better to stick to the books, which I'd recommend highly. This was okay at best, but rather a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black but no comedy, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Very black and atmospheric drawing the viewer into the murky world of the wealthy professional class of the Irish Catholic 'Mafia'. Quirke is a terminally flawed character drowning in his own emotional mire and alcoholism because he was abandoned to an orphanage as a child and he in turn abandoned his daughter to his brother and spouse.
Quite a journey with not much hope of blue skies - apart from the daughter who makes it out of the dour leaden situation with an effervescent American lady bound for a life state-side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirke [DVD] (DVD)
Hard work. All too predictable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quirke [DVD]
Quirke [DVD] by Jim O'Hanlon (DVD - 2014)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews