Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2013
From the 1st page, you know this is going to be a fun. The pic of Matt piping meringue sums the book up - cooking & eating should be pleasurable & the end results of a recipe should be achievable in a normal kitchen.

The book is divided into chapters covering each "guilty pleasure" ingredient and the recipes range from good old-fashioned comfort food "with a twist" (pear & raisin bread pudding)to dishes more suited to entertaining (vodka-cured salmon). There's no need to search for obscure ingredients - everything is easily sourced in your local shop or supermarket. Matt's laid-back writing style eases you through each stage of the recipe, and his hints, tips & information throughout the book ensure successful results.

I've already made the Peanut Butter Ice Cream (try serving it with a caramel sauce & sprinkled with chocolate buttons - anyone for a "snickers" but much, much tastier?). It's rare that a cookery book makes me want to try nearly every recipe within it - but THIS one does.

Congrats, Matt - it's a winner!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Fun recipes, naughty ingredients. Bright, colourful pages. I've tried the Marmite roast potatoes which were yummy....and I can't wait to do the Sweet and salty slow roast lamb.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I would have given this book a higher rating as the recipes are varied and interesting and I will definitely be cooking many of them. However, on the kindle, the coloured fonts used in some of the recipes just didn't work, so any that were done in pale yellow, pale blue or pale green were just not legible. A shame because this is otherwise excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
This book is so naughty! Some great easy recipes and really fun ideas. Am looking forward to cooking lots of them with the kids, but there's lots for grow ups too (whole section on cooking with booze)
The whole book is very brightly coloured with some lovely photos....a real feel good experience!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Not a lot to say, apart from if you like indulgent food, buy this book! Recipes are amazing, the book itself is just as good! Stop reading this, buy it and eat! Matt Tebbutt's Guilty Pleasures: Your Favourite Sweet and Savoury Indulgences in 130 Easy Recipes
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I cannot wait to get stuck into these recipes! My mouth is actually watering reading them! Well done Matt Tebbutt
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
The peanut butter recipes are sublime...he is literally a menu genius. Everyone should try and make the icecream and the cookies.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
I borrowed this from my local library and then just had to buy it. Lots of interesting recipes using ingredients I might never have thought to combine - or even use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Got this book last week and absolutely love it. I can see myself using it a lot over the summer at gatherings and parties and in the winter too- it's packed with comfort food for cold nights.
Recipes are clear and easy to follow and it's great how it's split into sections for each of Matt's 'guilty pleasures'. Seeing all of my store cupboard ingredients in a different light now! Thanks Matt.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Nice to find a new chef
Some good ideas and easy to understand. a good find and a good present, you will enjoy this book
and the recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)