Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Road Rash for Angels
So the graphics are poor, the voice acting ain't great. The gameplay is a bit repetetive but............what a laugh to play.

There are loads more technical games, there are loads of much prettier games but for having a couple of beers and having fun on the PS3 this is great.

You may have to be a biker or have an interest in bikes but to perform...
Published 13 months ago by C. McBryer

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Ride To Hell Maybe More Fun Than This
I'm always on the lookout for new IPs and games that perhaps go unnoticed by the mainstream media. Ride To Hell provoked my curiosity a few weeks ago when I sat through a short interview with the developer online. The game offered open world gameplay, plenty of side quests, a blend of action and racing all wrapped up in a tight 1960's package. The truth however is...
Published 14 months ago by Scott Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Ride To Hell Maybe More Fun Than This, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Scott Bradley "scotty@spain" (Blackburn England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
I'm always on the lookout for new IPs and games that perhaps go unnoticed by the mainstream media. Ride To Hell provoked my curiosity a few weeks ago when I sat through a short interview with the developer online. The game offered open world gameplay, plenty of side quests, a blend of action and racing all wrapped up in a tight 1960's package. The truth however is slightly different, Ride To Hell is an ugly little thing that probably should have introduced itself onto the scene back in the early PS2 days, my eyebrows are well and truly raised in confusion as to why this game even exists!

Sure, at a budget price one can expect some minor graphical hiccups, outdated quest structure, poor voice work and much more but one would expect the game to be in a finished, playable state. Ride To Hell is not finished or playable and whatever the game wants you to feel for it's characters and world is lost in it's utterly ridiculous and limited storytelling.

The description of the game at the beginning of this review is nowhere to be seen! I keep waiting for the game to start, I keep waiting for it to tell me that the tutorial has ended and now I can go out and partake in side quests and explore the glitchy, poorly textured world but I'm getting to the stage where I'm thinking to myself that this is as good as it's going to get.

To the games credit once you've completed the first 'mission'you're introduced to a small hub world where you can develop your bike, learn new abilities and sell the drugs you've collected throughout the game each time a mission is completed but this is as open as Ride To Hell gets.

The game is split into various segments that do offer variation in the minute to minute gameplay. There are moments where you're on your bike driving in a straight line for about 10 minutes, that then is followed by a messy combat section where you throw down your weapons and get into a bit of fisty cuffs with badly animated enemies that spew awful one liners again and again.

The meat of the game will have you involved in some cover based shooting and all of the above is FUN. The problem here is that I find myself laughing at Ride To Hell rather than laughing with it, it's just truly truly awful at everything it does, there are no redeeming qualities at all.

If you're like myself who has a little cash lying around and want to enjoy playing a really really bad game for a few laughs or you happen to have the misfortune of getting this as a gift then I'm sure you will also find the game fun but we're living in a world where quality games are coming out every month so games like Ride To Hell need to offer gamers something alternative to what we expect from AAA games, be it story, gameplay or design so there is reason for the game to exists in the first place. I'm sat here scratching my head trying to work out how Ride To Hell was allowed to be put on sale, it just doesn't deserve your attention at all.

PROS

- Variety of play.
- The locations look okey.
- The music.
- The lead character is a likeable dude.
- Get a beer and enjoy laughing at all of the below.

CONS

- Horrible texture pop in.
- Incoherent story telling.
- Poorly designed character models.
- Terrible voice acting.
- Rubbish script.
- Awkward controls.
- Missions go on too long with little change of pace.
- Poor AI.
- Bugs, glitches and errors aplenty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a complete mess., 16 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. R. Pearn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
How do we start,
Well the game is basically broken, the controls are complete s***.
The gameplay is as fun as watching paint dry.

It puts you in random places, one moment I am on my bike, next I am in a shootout for no reason. The game doesn't even feel close to completed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ride to hell retribution, 10 July 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
This game is a waste of money stay clear of it worst game ever made not worth 30 wouldn't even say its worth 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not even worth the disc it's been copied onto, 30 Jun 2013
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
This game's name is rather ironically appropriate, where it differs is that this game is ride through a crappy summation OF hell. And the 1% of the box art also seems strangely appropriate too since this game deserves only 0 stars from me but since Amazon user ratings don't work that way then 1 star it will force-ably have to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
Having seen the video clip for this game I decided to try it but on recieving the game and playing it the game play is awful, its very much like an early PS2 game or arcade game, for a PS3 game it is very poor and to play this game through I would have to be on a desert island and Ride To Hell the only game on the island
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short Term Laughs, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this as it sounded a decent enough game on the write up. Its ok but the gameplay and graphics are somewhat lagging behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE DONT BUY THIS, 3 Sep 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
this is what the developers say:they say this game will get a lot of fans,they say this game will be will much more fun than any other onpen world game well NO THIS GAME IS TERRIBLE THE CAMERA ISSUES ARE CRAP THE GAMEPLAY IS CRAP EVEN BIKE RIDING AND IS IT ME BUT THE VOICE ACTING IN THE GAME IS TERRIBLE EVEN WORSE THEN MINDJACJ RIDE TO HELL MORE LIKE RIDE TO S*** IF YOUR HEARING THIS PLEASE DONT BUT THIS THERE ARE MORE OPEN WORLD GAMES THAT ARE GOING TO BE AMAZING UPCOMING OPEN WORLD GAMES WHICH ARE WATCH DOGS AND GTA V im buying both gta v and watch dogs and i bet those are gonna take my mind off this horrible game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of potential..., 7 July 2013
By 
A. Jordison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
...but very poorly executed.

I've only had my PS3 for a week and it probably would have gone back if this had been the first game I bought for it. Luckily I got the excellent 'Last Of Us' so I'll be keeping it.

Anyway, the game itself would have been a lot of fun but the graphics are truly awful. You don't expect to see textures loading in this day and age. Popup you can forgive but not when it takes 10+ seconds for the cut scenes to sort themselves out. Some of the gameplay mechanics are laughable too, especially the bike 'duelling'.

On a plus side though the hand-to-hand combat is good fun and the cover system works quite well. Enemies will try to outflank you but to the point where they run right up to you, which spoils it somewhat.

I'll be trading it in soon but I'll probably get it again when it's in the bargain bin, which won't be too long. Like I said, it's a fun game but not a 30 fun game, more like a 4.99 one.

If you want a decent biker game, get hold of 'Full Throttle' on SCUMM. Ah the memories...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Road Rash for Angels, 22 July 2013
By 
C. McBryer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
So the graphics are poor, the voice acting ain't great. The gameplay is a bit repetetive but............what a laugh to play.

There are loads more technical games, there are loads of much prettier games but for having a couple of beers and having fun on the PS3 this is great.

You may have to be a biker or have an interest in bikes but to perform mindless jumps on a cruiser, to beat up weird looking baddies and design your own Steel Horse Cliche then look no further.

Glitches, daft story and basic controls be damned because I love it (-:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you could possibly want from an action game., 8 Nov 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) (Video Game)
Thrilling action (the driving sections are mindblowing), the controls are fluid and accessible, the locations beautifully rendered and varied and the voice acting is sublime. The voice actors really BECOME the characters.

There isn't anything to dislike about this game and it's sad to see that it has become very underrated. It's an unpretentious game that doesn't try to be something it isn't unlike hot messes like Metal Gear Solid 4 and the wretched 'shoot now then shoot some more later' Uncharted series.

Extremely recommended!

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3)
Ride to Hell: Retribution(PS3) by Deep Silver (PlayStation 3)
3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews