Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound accumulation of early degree math syllabus
This book is a 'Dover' paperback which, if your have not bought from this publisher before, they tend to re-publish math books previously sold from around the world. Their budget-priced books tend to be in b&w and graphs in grayscale.

First Impressions

What stands out the most is the VERY attractive, organised exploration of linked math topics from...
Published on 20 May 2010 by ab..c

versus
8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too clever by half
This book claims to require only basic algebra and a smattering of trigonometry. I've completed first year university maths and I can quite honestly say, what rubbish. Often you can work out his reasoning, after a good ten minutes thinking through what he could possibly mean, but just as often it is quite unclear how he gets from one statement to the other. Like many of...
Published on 30 Oct. 2009 by E. Clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound accumulation of early degree math syllabus, 20 May 2010
By 
ab..c (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a 'Dover' paperback which, if your have not bought from this publisher before, they tend to re-publish math books previously sold from around the world. Their budget-priced books tend to be in b&w and graphs in grayscale.

First Impressions

What stands out the most is the VERY attractive, organised exploration of linked math topics from the earliest chapters and throughout the book. Its clear the author encourages some theoretical issues before 'labouring' with calculations.

For example, i am attracted at the quick and early linking between 'Sets', 'Functions', 'Group Theory' and (MOD), and 'axiom' mathematics.The reason being if you are up to understanding these connections with the first three areas, then the way the axiom stuff is handled gives a VERY clear way in answering many math problems that are a model for throughout your future studies! The other linear algebraic stuff is (i.m.h.o) less attractive - compaired to other authors - but still well-worth the effort to digest it.

Harder topics

To me, the areas that seemed rather difficult and laboured being the 'Topology' aress. But i can say that the many graphs give a 'gut-feeling' of the topic. The graphs did help and i read the whole book over a long week-end.

Summary

This book has a very pleasent and stimulating style in its explanations, that will be of use for whatever math studies you may continue to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting/ Requires a little more prerequisite knowledge than it lets on, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was slightly dubious about buying this book based on some of the previous reviews. Mainly ones that suggested the explanations weren't complete or rigorous enough. After reading the book I now consider those views unfounded, I feel in any given deduction or proof there is ample explanation to follow his logic and arrive at the same conclusions.

Overall I found the book very enjoyable, especially the broad content as I had never dealt with topics like topology before. I was glued to it in a similar way to when I read a good novel. I would like to add that IMO a higher level of prerequisite knowledge than is quoted in the description is needed, as there is very little background information/techniques covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a Valuable Introduction, 5 Jun. 2010
I read the first edition of this book some thirty years ago and can continue to recommend it today as an appetiser to anyone contemplating mathematical studies both at A-level and beyond. In addition, it remains a first rate exposition of the nature of present day mathematics for the enquiring non-specialist reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 30 Sept. 2014
just as expected, very good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, great seller, super fast delivery I would highly recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too clever by half, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
E. Clarke "Cambusken" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book claims to require only basic algebra and a smattering of trigonometry. I've completed first year university maths and I can quite honestly say, what rubbish. Often you can work out his reasoning, after a good ten minutes thinking through what he could possibly mean, but just as often it is quite unclear how he gets from one statement to the other. Like many of the so-called "popular" mathematicians, Prof Stewart relies on reviews by other mathematicians who think he has a clever way of expressing familiar concepts. If you are not very fluent indeed in algebra and trigonometry, you will not understand much of what this book says. I think it is quite funny thinking of a class load of young mothers keen to help their kids at school sitting through any one of these lectures. No doubt they would not be there if they did not have some sort of feel for maths, but I cannot see ordinary people getting much out of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews