Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful book
Compact and helpful. Some things are little old-school and not much used nowadays language. Still grammar and basic easy to study. Good book to start learning yourself.
Published 12 months ago by Kadi Reial

versus
51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Academic but thorough
I used an edition of this book back in 1987, in preparation for my first trip to Turkey. Some of what I learned from it has stuck ever since, but don't use it unless you are comfortable with the structure of language and grammatical terms. It is an academic approach with new grammatical constructions introduced in each chapter. Written exercises reinforce learning, but...
Published on 2 Mar. 2005 by Peter S.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Academic but thorough, 2 Mar. 2005
I used an edition of this book back in 1987, in preparation for my first trip to Turkey. Some of what I learned from it has stuck ever since, but don't use it unless you are comfortable with the structure of language and grammatical terms. It is an academic approach with new grammatical constructions introduced in each chapter. Written exercises reinforce learning, but the examples will sound old-fashioned to a Turkish speaker. Turks get very impressed with your efforts, but you will be speaking the Turkish equivalent of the Queen's English, rather than useful phrases like "gorusuruz" ("see you later"). I would recommend a good audio course for collequial Turkish coupled with this so that you can read about how it all fits together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but...., 20 Dec. 2012
By 
Hi everybody, I found this book really well done and very useful to get acquainted with Turkish grammar an sentence patterns. What I personnally found a little tricky was the academic structure of the book. Very useful for linguists or for anyone interested in the language structure; maybe not so easy-going for anyone wishing to learn and speak the language. The exercises are a little bit poor, quite mechanical and not so phantasy full, but useful to understand the language functioning. For the very beginner I would suggest more easy-going learning materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful book, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compact and helpful. Some things are little old-school and not much used nowadays language. Still grammar and basic easy to study. Good book to start learning yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good one for improving or Learning Turkish, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book to help in improving your childrens or adults Turkish, loads to push you along
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little book, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
even if a bit too formal at times, reflection of it's publication date. This is for sure a solid self-learner's starter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turkish Grammar, 25 Feb. 2012
This is a very good Turkish Grammar book for beginners which introduces useful new vocabulary.
It is strong on sentance construction, word order and vowel harmony.
It is best used with Language CDs from other providers so that the Grammar is complemented by pronunciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like having your own turkish tutor at home, 6 Aug. 2011
this book is fantastic. I am using it along with a memory flashcard type program to remember different turkish words. This book is brilliant and shows you how to construct any sentence in Turkish. I would recommend this to anyone however as the vocabulary within the book is limited you should also seek out another learning recourse that will focus on expanding this. For basic grammar however this was just the book I needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews