Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read.
This guy can write! Tackling a subject as woefully missunderstood as homelessness without ego, pretention or self promotion was never going to be easy for the vast majority of published writers today but, Charlie Carrolls narrative glides beautifully encompassing all the expected and unexpected horrors one may expect from his chosen subject along the way. Neither preachy...
Published 14 months ago by vacantstatement

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good try...
Charlie wants to live like a tramp for a few months: all well and good but how realistic is it when he has a home, money stitched inside his the hem of his coat and posh friends ready to let him sleep on their sofa, use the shower and offer some champagne with the meal in London?
Charlie is trying his best to be tramp but the set up is wrong and the outcome...
Published 14 months ago by Ce Moore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This guy can write! Tackling a subject as woefully missunderstood as homelessness without ego, pretention or self promotion was never going to be easy for the vast majority of published writers today but, Charlie Carrolls narrative glides beautifully encompassing all the expected and unexpected horrors one may expect from his chosen subject along the way. Neither preachy nor too liberal this book takes us into a world many of us knew was there but only a very few of us cared about.
Read it in a day. Minor niggle is that personally i think he spent too long in London when the other areas he covered seemed to promise more material than perhaps he afforded them.
Still, if you want part travel, social study and a testament to the joys of walking you need no longer reach for Orwells down and out. This surpasses that tome quite easilly in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of No Fixed Abode, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having loved On The Edge, another book by Carroll, I was excited by his latest adventure and I wasn't disappointed.

It has opened my eyes to homelessness and changed my perception. His honesty is refreshing - it would have been so easy to have omitted his smuggled £100 and giving-in to nights on his friend's sofa, which makes the whole book more 'human', real and powerful. He also 'humanises' the homeless and made me question my own fear and previously negative perceptions (I'm ashamed to admit it!).

I think I may pick up Down and Out in Paris and London after this! Thank you for writing this excellent thought-provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good try..., 2 Aug 2013
By 
Ce Moore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Charlie wants to live like a tramp for a few months: all well and good but how realistic is it when he has a home, money stitched inside his the hem of his coat and posh friends ready to let him sleep on their sofa, use the shower and offer some champagne with the meal in London?
Charlie is trying his best to be tramp but the set up is wrong and the outcome necessarily artificial. Still, there are some interesting "interviews" of genuine tramps and homeless people and the book would certainly have benefited with more of those.
The author has some genuine human insights about homelessness and tries to give homelessness the genuine emotional dimention that it needs and deserves.
Nevertheless, the book remains a bit of a false start and a let down in so far as it seems to aim high but doesn't deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully written book about the homeless in 21st century, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is highly perceptive and insightful. Charlie's language is accessible, witty and beautiful revealing the details of several encounters with homeless people and tramps throughout his journey from Cornwall to London. Even though the writer puts himself at the heart of the subject of the book he does not take the heroic slant and instead reveals a beautiful vulnerability to someone living in extreme situations and conditions. I see the book as a documentary, an eye opener, and an exposure of a social problem with much needed help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and Insightful, 5 Aug 2013
Charlie Carroll's 'No Fixed Abode' is a fascinating and touching insight into the world of the rough sleeper. Leaving his home behind he takes to the road to live the life of the 'tramp' on his long walk from Cornwall to London. This book provides an honest account of both his physical, and mental, journey through the countryside and on the city streets. Carroll's experiences and the testimony of those he meets along the way shed new light on the issues surrounding homelessness whilst at the same time being engaging, thoughtful and well written. I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden parallel universe becomes suddenly visible, 30 July 2013
If someone decides to:

- leave his wife and safe home with no actual need
- walk from Sennen all the way to London with no money and just carrying a knapsack packed with a sleeping bag and a cooker
- sleep rough almost every night
- live as a tramp among the homeless on the way and a long time in London

He has a giant set of steel balls and a tremendously open mind!

Congratulation Charlie Caroll. You opened a parallel universe hidden from me - until now. Tremendous respect for what you have accomplished and how beautifully, rich and exciting you packed this experiences in words.

Please keep writing. I'll recommend "No Fixed Adobe" to anyone in a heartbeat.
Proper Job, cheers write!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight to homelessness, 23 Jun 2013
This book explores a side of our society that people rarely think or talk about.
He explores places that most people would not voluntarily enter. This book is sensitive and allows you to feel as if you are taking this dangerous journey while you remain in the safety and comfort of your home (or wherever you choose to read.)

I would recommend this book to anyone with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Down and about in London the sequel, 9 Sep 2014
By 
J. D. Denness (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fixed Abode: A Journey Through Homelessness from Cornwall to London (Kindle Edition)
This authors hero is George Orwell and his book "Down and out in Paris and London" sort of inspired Charlie to go on this journey tramping from Cornwall to London sleeping rough every night.

Charlie gives a very honest account of his experiences, he admits that he does not fully commit and has his lifelines to safety by having money and a couch to sleep if needed, his reason for this is he has no need to beg got get proper help when there are those out there who would miss out because of that. I understand this but it is a shame he didn't commit himself as fully as Orwell.

The results of Charlie's rough sleeping are very similar to Orwells, you spend most of your time paranoid, fearing the public, drunkards and other homeless people, but the worst seems to be the boredom, having nothing to do all day long, every day. The only real changes over the years is you can stay in one place, in Orwell's time they try to keep you moving, you are not allowed to come back to one place for help within a month, these days you can keep going back for help.

Some organisations are doing some fantastic work for the homeless but these are very few, there need to be more organisations out there helping the homeless rebuild their lives.

All in all a brilliant read, it loses a star as the walk seems to have been rushed, he doesn't seem to spend much time enjoying the areas he was walking in, I have walked in a few of the areas and they were stunning, but Charlie had his head down and was focusing on getting to his destination.(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good book, As someone who had brushes with homelessness, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fixed Abode: A Journey Through Homelessness from Cornwall to London (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book, As someone who had brushes with homelessness, I can applaud the authors approach to this subject. I have read a few reviews that dismiss the authors experience on the grounds that he wasn't entirely without somewhere to stay at times and he had the luxury of calling it off and going home if needed. This is true but is this not also true of Orwell, went he wrote 'down and out'..?
Charlie describes so many instances of the difficulty of been homeless,ranging from fear,boredom and cold to things that those who have not experienced it would perhaps not realise eg shame,incredible tiredness and expense!
Charlie is good at describing the myriad of reasons people end up in this situation, from the bad luck story to the downright hopeless bad guys. Perhaps the most compelling from my point of view was a passage where he describes those who feel they don't deserve anything.
So perhaps the best way i can sum up this book is by saying, I used to be homeless and I got out of it, then I became someone who is settled and says no thanks to a Big Issue seller using that terrible blocking hand motion. Now I have read this book I bought the big issue today with a tip and the vendor says to me 'hang on,don't you want your change?'...it was humbling and also a pleasure to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fixed Abode: A Journey Through Homelessness from Cornwall to London (Kindle Edition)
Bought this as it was mentioned in The Big Issue, a genuine insight into the many reasons people end up homeless, and the problems they face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews