Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
76
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.59
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2013
This album manages to follow what AIC did on Black Gives Way To Blue, yet they have evolved. Rarely any single vocal. Heavy sound yet songs that feel really slow - AIC create a sound landscape, they create atmosphere. Some great riffs, although not as memorable or prominent as on BGWTB.

The difference between TDPDH and BGWTB is that this album feels fuller, you really get a thick supply of sound whereas on BGWTB there was more space within the songs. Maybe, individually the songs on this album are not as strong as on BGWTB. Yet as an album, it is very coherent, it's got a great fluency to it and it just pulls you in. That's where I see the evolution. It's very engaging.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 August 2013
As other reviewers pointed out, the new post-Layne AiC studio album has a less commercial, less heavy metal sound than its predecessor. It takes a few listens but what gradually emerges is a sound more reminiscent of old-school AiC, a more natural follow-up to `Dirt' and the album universally known among fans as `Tripod'. The new songs have a dirtier, grimier feel to them - less Metallica, more early 1990s. The unmistakable trademark AiC harmonies are still there, beautifully showcased in tracks like `Voices' and the title-track 'The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here'.

Although we know that this band will never be the same band we once knew and loved, this is a very good `rebooted' effort, and I am full of respect for the new singer, William DuVall, who respects Staley's legacy by embracing the AiC sound without ever mimicking Layne's style. "The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here' is a good album and certainly a `grower', and I am really looking forward to seeing this band playing it live this autumn.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
While this album might not reach the level of Dirt or Jar Of Flies it still manages to keep a high level of songwriting and musicianship from the band. While some tracks like Lab Monkey and Breath on a Window take a few listens to appreciate, there are also some really impressive tracks like the haunting title track, the doomy monster Hollow and the metallic juggernaut Phantom Limb. If I have one major complaint it is that William's vocals mostly just acompany Jerry`s. He is a very talented singer which he proved to me when I saw them live and the vocal harmonies while cool and chill inducing at times can get tiring in the long run. Give William some room Jerry! We all miss Layne but it's not sacrilege to let a new singer unlock his true potential.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Cracking album, absolutely love it.
I'm a bit confused as to why no one has mentioned the ingenuity of the sleeve design.
Did anybody else think they had a duff lyric sheet with red lines and xxx's running through
them. I did. But put the red jewel case in front of the lyric sheet and "hey presto". Revealed.
There's even a hieroglyph type image trying to give us a clue.
Now I have either enlightened a few people out there or it's all common knowledge which makes me look a complete .....( please insert word of choice).
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Initially this album sounds a bit samey but after multiple listenings it is clear to see that Alice In Chains remain well and truly alive rocking. Not quite the same catchy tunes as on the comeback Black Gives Way To Blue, but a better overall standard (not that AIC have EVER been bad). There are several songs on here that I cannot wait to hear live at Download this year and at the likely forthcoming tour. Personal favourites at present include Voices, Breath On A Window and Phantom Limb, but they continue to change with each listen. A definite purchase for AIC fans that can bear to be without Layne (GRHS).
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Following the sad loss of Layne Staley in 2002, it would not have been unreasonable to suspect that Alice in Chains were never to release any more music. Fortunately, William DuVall (previously of several bands) was brought into the fold and contributed, with original AiC members Jerry Cantrell, Sean Kinney and Mike Inez, to the excellent 2009 album 'Black Gives Way To Blue'. This new offering shows a nice stylistic continuity- both from the previous album and what DuVall brought to the table and the 'original' AiC sound/ feel- whilst representing also a growth in confidence and innovation. Heavy, atmospheric instrumentation and the customary intertwining vocals combine to make for another great album from this great band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
I have decided to edit my original review on this album, as I've listened to it a few more times since then and it's proven to be a real grower and not as weak as I initially thought it to be.
Alice in Chains don't do bad albums and this continues that run. 'Hollow', 'Pretty Done' and 'Stone' are brilliant riff-heavy songs, 'Phantom Limb' and the title track are AIC at their haunting melodic best. There isn't a bad song on the album, but it'll probably take a few listens to really appreciate this - it did for me!
Yet despite all the highs of this very good album I can't help but feel that there's something missing. The vocal delivery is quite similar in all songs but is executed very well by Jerry Cantrell and Duvall (who is mysteriously absent most of the time, at least as lead vocalist - seems to be in more of a backing vocals role).
In reflection a very good album, perhaps suffering when comparing to the previous effort 'Black Gives Way To Blue' but a must for any AIC fan and a strong effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Since the remarkable black gives way to blue it's great to have alice in chains back. Layne Staley sill casts a shadow over the band, but in a way that produces great music. This album is exceptional and uncomprimising. The opening track hollow is classic alice in chains and Jerry Cantrell still produces great riffs with stone and phantom limbs in particular. William Duvall is a great singer to and adds to the band. Great to have them back. RIP - Layne Staley.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
It's Alice in Chains coming out of the speakers. Still with that raging dissonance. Still sounding like music that could pull the planet off of it's axis if you listened to it for too long. Still leaving you almost fighting for air. Still putting your head in a vice and sonically squeezing it until your eyes feel like they are about to pop, like they have always sounded.

Still brilliant. Can't say anything else.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
...i can't believe all the mediocre reviews...this thing ROCKS!
Are you guys nutso?......or just back shooting Heroin and NOTHING satisfies and you CAN'T EVER BE HAPPY?
Life is beautiful...clean up...this LP ROCKS!
Case Closed!
Acquavinyl here
Cheers!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)