Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stunning orchestral/choral album by Giacchino but the running time is far too short
Star Trek Into Darkness (STID), the acronym of which sounds like something you would get diagnosed with at the GP, is Giacchino's latest album in the franchise. I loved the music to the first film, despite is having too short a running time (something this album also suffers from) and had extremely high hopes for this album. Thankfully, they were met. This album is in my...
Published 17 months ago by L. Hubbard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent reminder of the film
If you enjoyed the film, this soundtrack will help bring back the experience. The music does not, however, stand up quite as well without reference to the film: in my opinion, the hallmark of a great soundtrack is that it has a life of its own, beyond simply supporting the on-screen action. Also, the various tracks seem significantly less memorable than those of the Star...
Published 2 months ago by JRF


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stunning orchestral/choral album by Giacchino but the running time is far too short, 9 Jun 2013
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Star Trek Into Darkness (STID), the acronym of which sounds like something you would get diagnosed with at the GP, is Giacchino's latest album in the franchise. I loved the music to the first film, despite is having too short a running time (something this album also suffers from) and had extremely high hopes for this album. Thankfully, they were met. This album is in my opinion a career high for Giacchino, with stunning orchestral and choral writing that really packs a punch.

If you want a track by track analysis, I would suggest looking at one of the previous reviews. However, some personal favourites were the stunning Warp Core Values (Track 10), which has an amazing rendition of the main theme with choir and simply epic. The same can be said about the closing track Star Trek Main Theme (Track 14). The start of Buying The Farm (Track 11) is a welcome change of pace, with some great writing for strings and piano. The whole album is fantastic though, and it flows well. It is well mixed and doesn't sound as dry as some of his earlier albums. The different sections and choir all have exceptional clarity, and I thought the louder choir was a definite improvement from the soundtrack to the first film.

My only gripe - the running time. I'm not saying for one minute that I expect every single second to be released, but releasing 47 minutes is pretty shameful and not the greatest value for money. I understand that longer albums mean more expense in terms of license fees paid to the orchestra and choir (hence lower profits). However, for a film that has a budget of $190 million they probably could have afforded a longer running time and is poor given that many soundtrack albums are over an hour at least. They are probably saving more music for an inevitable 2CD release like they did with the soundtrack to the first film. Rant over.

Overall, if you were a fan of Giacchino's music from the first film, you will love this and there are some brilliant variations on the main ST theme here. The running time irked me, but the choral aspects were more prominent than on the first soundtrack album, which is a bonus. The quality of the music is sensational and easily deserves 5*s, but the running time means the product as a whole drops to 4*. Still highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but desperately cut down, 26 Sep 2013
By 
D. Artiss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved the soundtrack to the previous film but was, like a lot of other reviews, shocked by how reduced this way - particularly considering it's odd high price. Where is the music from the closing credits, for instance? Brilliant music but I feel I've been ripped off by Colosseum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Into Darkness - Original Score, 5 Nov 2014
One of the things that sets the Star Trek scores apart for other big movie scores is that composer Michael Giacchino isn't afraid to have fun with the music. And for as dark and serious as the new Trek film has been marketed (it is called "Into Darkness" after all), the score still has a lot of excitement and lightheartedness to it. While many composers rely too much on pounding percussion in these types of action movies, Giacchino doesn't go there. It seems he really believes that his themes can do the job - and he's right.

If you liked the last "Star Trek" soundtrack, the good news is that "Star Trek Into Darkness" builds off of that one. An example can be heard at the very opening of the soundtrack; fans will notice that the logo music is a variant of the logo music from the last "Star Trek". And there are many other themes from the previous score that are re-used in this score. This is a very good thing because the first soundtrack was fantastic - If you don't yet own that one, I highly recommend it: Star Trek. I like when there is a musical continuity in movie franchises; just as you want the characters and story to fit well with previous installments of a given franchise, you also want the music to pay homage and reference what has come before.

But "Into Darkness" isn't just a rehashing of old themes. There are some very original and unique tracks as well. An example is "The Kronos Wartet", which features some vocals. "London Calling" is another very nice track that seems to be a departure from anything we've heard in Star Trek before.

Overall, this is a highly recommended soundtrack and it's worthy of multiple listens. The score works very well on it's own, and it sounds great within the film too. I've listed a few of my favorite tracks below:

[3] Sub Prime Directive
[4] London Calling
[13] Kirk Enterprises

"Star Trek Into Darkness" is just the latest gift of Michael Giacchino's rich collaboration with producer/director J.J. Abrams - with his fantastic score for "Super 8", the last two "Mission Impossible" scores, and his work on the TV series "Lost", Giacchino is one of my favorite film composers working today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent reminder of the film, 5 Sep 2014
By 
JRF - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoyed the film, this soundtrack will help bring back the experience. The music does not, however, stand up quite as well without reference to the film: in my opinion, the hallmark of a great soundtrack is that it has a life of its own, beyond simply supporting the on-screen action. Also, the various tracks seem significantly less memorable than those of the Star Trek (2009) soundtrack (especially the magnificent closing music for that film).

Reommended for the serious soundtrack collector and Star Trek fan: maybe less so for the more casual listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you loved the film, you will love this!, 30 May 2013
By 
P. Wilson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Into Darkness (Music from the Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
I loved every second of Into Darkness, I had heard the full soundtrack before but after watching the film i felt the need to buy the soudtrack. Now that i've listened to it over and over again it always makes me feel like I'm watching the film again.

If your a fan of Michael Giacchino or Star Trek this is a OST not to miss out on.

My favourite tracks are Buying the space farm, London Calling and Pranking the natives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing rollercoaster musical ride, 1 May 2014
By 
D. M. Lord (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Into Darkness (Music from the Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
A film is often complimented by the music, although it is often difficult to get the balance right. This however, is how a film score should be, not so overly in-your-face, but wonderfully complimenting the story onscreen, and enjoyable in its own way to be listened to at pleasure in your own time to evoke the exciting memories of the cinematic extravaganza. This is a perfect musical soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect pressie, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my hubby, absolutely brilliant it keeps him quiet. He's a bit of a star trek geek and he loves his classical music a perfect combination. Worth every penny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for the ring tone, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Might have been a little extravagant but I also like listening to the music so I am happy to give it a 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars star trek, into darkness, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Into Darkness (Music from the Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
HI, what a fantastic album, was introduced to the soundtracks by my brother in-law Christmas-day on his iPod. I spent £2000 on a new hi-fi in November, and into darkness sounds brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Terrific score, but average album presentation, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Star Trek: Into Darkness (Music from the Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
[...] Opinions on how "Star Trek Into Darkness" compares to its predecessor will be divided. Personally, I believe it to be superior, because the composition, the performance and the recording are a little more precise. [...] This time the orchestration is focused much more on the strings; its players providing a very tight performance.

Having said that... for all its technical marvel, I find most of Giacchino's score to be a little too calculated (less so than the previous one, but still...). [...] So, this is only a minor gripe, but I believe that its meticulousness is holding back a greater potential. Because... When the shackles do come of in "The San Fran Hustle" we are treated to what may well become the best action cue of 2013!

A bigger issue is the presentation of the score on album. There is a lot of really great material missing. An extra ten or fifteen minutes, particularly of Harrison's music, would have been very welcome (and would've lifted my rating below by at least half a star, if not more). One can only hope that a deluxe edition might one day get released - as it did for "Star Trek" (2009).[...]

Read the full review at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews