Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affordable, Clear and Compact
I received 5 Units - each in separate boxes (which means each radio has it's own charger with UK adapter, earpiece, clip, lanyard and English instructions.)
Each Unit is smaller than I expected, measuring 5.5cm Wide and about 12cm tall (excluding Antenna) - with Antenna = about 21cm tall.

It fits comfortably in my hand and feels quite sturdy, I'm confident...
Published 10 months ago by Joseph-Patrick Hung

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not long range
they are not long range are lucky it they do half a mile as the crow fly's out side. not happy with the radio at all thought they were sop post to be good for 5 miles
Published 5 months ago by gordon slater


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affordable, Clear and Compact, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
I received 5 Units - each in separate boxes (which means each radio has it's own charger with UK adapter, earpiece, clip, lanyard and English instructions.)
Each Unit is smaller than I expected, measuring 5.5cm Wide and about 12cm tall (excluding Antenna) - with Antenna = about 21cm tall.

It fits comfortably in my hand and feels quite sturdy, I'm confident they won't break if I drop them, but they might eventually crack.
The Knobs for adjusting the volume and changing channels are smooth and work perfectly as they should.

I bought these for communication between Airsoft Skirmish players on a Urban site, and they worked perfectly - I'm sure they'll have no problems over woodland areas. The radios transmit/receive clear audio which is one of the reasons why I'm very pleased with the product.

If you're using these in the UK as mentioned in other reviews, you'll need to program the units to PMR446 Standard License free Frequencies and Power. To do this you'll need a programming cable.
I reccommend http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00CP0I474/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_1 it comes with a mini cd which includes the Drivers and Software required.
Don't worry if you pick up a programming cable and it doesn't come with the drivers and software just head to: http://www.miklor.com/BF888/ it has all the software and drivers you need and also has a PMR446 Template which you can open in the software and then it's just one click to write/program the radios!

I can't recommend this product enough, if you're on a budget or just want some handy and clear compact radios, look no further! :)
Oh yea, and Battery seems to last quite long too, but I haven't fully tested this yet (as I have yet to completely drain the battery).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
D. Clarke "OverByThere" (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
I've only just received these items, ordered yesterday and arrived before 1PM today, very impressed with that at least.

The devices feel solid in your hands, and are easy to use.
Note; no programming cable is provided. As default these are illegal in the UK as they are using illegal bands. You'll need to purchase a programming cable to set the correct ones.

I instantly put these radios onto charge, but little did I know that there was a bit of see-through plastic between the battery and the radio. This needs to be removed before charging/use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its Super long range: Customer sean review wrong, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Eloho Ogoro (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
Its super long range. Am planning on buying 20 more packs for a film production to communicate with cameramen miles apart. It just works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CB, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
this must be one of the best product that I have purchase. it is just great, good value for your money I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product works fantastic, 4 Oct. 2014
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
Great product works fantastic......but you DO need to reprogram to legal frequencies and you DO need a Licence from OFCOM to operate as they operate at 5w power (0.5w being the legal limit for non licenced) the licence is only £75 for 5 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars high tec, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
the best radio I have used for a long time, battery is long lasting, the range is great i will recomend to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars item is good but not vide range, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
this product is covering only up to 1km, I needed more range to cover but overall item is good. 4start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good price, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
this was just as I hoped for when I order them.
and they are very good and very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great radio, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
These guys just work. We use them in the office as its over three floors and they have been perfect. Reception is clear and battery life is very good. Only thing to note was that we had no earpieces in original order even though they were clearly stated as part of the package. On contact with seller earpieces were forwarded on in 2 days without any query. Good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not long range, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Pack BaoFeng BF-888S Long Range UHF 400-470 MHz 5W CTCSS DCS Portable Handheld 2-way Ham Radio With Free Original Earpiece *5 pcs* (Electronics)
they are not long range are lucky it they do half a mile as the crow fly's out side. not happy with the radio at all thought they were sop post to be good for 5 miles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews