Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rambling narrative, unified aesthetic
No, it may not be everyone's cup of mushroom tea, but more fool them. This is the most original piece of film-making I've seen for years and I found myself so utterly gripped that when the Film4 premiere finished I immediately flipped over to Film4+1 to watch the last hour again.

While unlike anything you'll have seen before, it does evoke other distinctive and...
Published 19 months ago by DJB1968

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tripping across the countryside.
Ben Wheatley takes a turn down the sublime and ridiculous in this twisted and darkly comic feature on the English Civil War. Offering no coherent plot strands for the first-time viewer, this is a dizzying tumble into the drug-addled, battle weary mind of war patrons fleeing and journeying across the green pastures of the English countryside on the hunt to find the beacon...
Published 19 months ago by G. Wetherall


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SPEND YOUR MONEY ON SOMETHING ELSE, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't follow the plot and didn't care enough to read a review to find out what the hell was going on.
Hitchcock said it people, "If the audience doesn't understand it can't emote"
I may be paraphrasing or even completely misquoting but believe me when I say that I would rather have experimental pile surgery than sit through that again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like "Kill List", this is too incoherent to be satsfying, 7 July 2013
This review is from: A Field In England [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not as hard to watch as "Kill List" (which combines brutal violence with an increasingly baffling plot) but "A Field In England" is similarly experimental. For a low budget film, it is well shot in black and white and the individual performances are quite engaging (on the strength of this, Reece Shearsmith certainly deserves more film roles), but it relies too heavily on drug-addled symbolism and psychedelic scene-cutting to let you get a grip on the drama that is unfolding. Some may describe this as a horror or psychological chiller but the tension feels rather too forced at times (for example, the tent scene isn't nearly as disturbing as I guess it was supposed to be, in spite of the prolonged blood-curdling screams).

I have no doubt that this will attract five-star reviews from known and unknown critics alike but don't be fooled: this was only ever intended for a niche audience and will never appeal to those with more mainstream tastes. And if you thought that this film was a work of towering genius, I have good news for you: there are dozens of far better films in this vein out there for you to discover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 4 Feb. 2015
This review is from: A Field in England (DVD)
Rubbish - complete waste of time, forwarded through most of it just to see if there was a point: none!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A field in boring england, more like!, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
I thought the film would be interesting, and a good watch but it appears that it is lame, boring and not even something I would have on in the background again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen the same director's "Kill List" and heard Mark Kermode's glowing review of this film on TV, I bought this movie expecting great things. Sadly, it turned out to be a real disappointment. Although it has its moments, but it ends up as a rather 'little' film in every way and is rather fragmented in the way it has been assembled - blank black scene breaks instead of great editing, not even any of the old-fashioned text breaks of the silent movies which Tarantino adopted - just poor scene changes. The story is 'small' and not very engaging and the whole thing feels really low-budget (not in a good way). On the other hand, the acting is pretty solid throughout. Sorry, can't recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bring A Pillow, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field In England [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ben Wheatley is a brilliant film-maker, but this effort is a disappointing waste of time. The meagre story is both boring and impenetrable, cinematography veers between inspired and crap (check out the hideous "vaseline on the lens" effect) and the psychedelic sequence towards the end of the film is completely unwatchable ("any epileptics get out now" as Partridge once said). A large percentage of viewers will have hit the off button by the halfway point, and to those people I just have this to say: congratulations, I wish I'd done the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Pile of poo in England, 24 Mar. 2014
This review is from: A Field in England (DVD)
This is the worst film I have ever watched. I've only written this review to register my rating, as the old "Love Film" method of clicking a particular star on the film detail page is no longer active. Even this method will not allow a fraction of a star.

Migraine sufferers should note that the last 10 minutes includes some high intensity, high contrast flashing imagery which could bring on an attack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete and utter rubbish, avoid. A waste of your life., 2 Mar. 2014
This review is from: A Field in England (Blu-ray)
I don't normally spend time rating films, but I am rating this one in the hope that others can avoid wasting their life watching this one.
Nothing happens.
I enjoy a good thriller, scifi, fantasy, or even a horror, but they should all have a basic story with a beginning, middle and end.
This film has none of those, and it doesn't even have decent special effects. If it cost more than about 50p to make, I'd be amazed!
You have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not scary, not funny, 30 July 2013
By 
This review is from: A Field In England [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I heard Mark Kermode praising this film, saying it was terrifying and original, a must see for any true horror fan. What a let down.

The simple fact is that this film is not scary on any level. Its bizarre, yes, and maybe if I'd taken mushrooms like the characters I'd have enjoyed it and the various odd camera effects and frankly boring montages, but I didn't.

Its like some French arthouse film, except, its not edgy or clever but rather a boring film where the limited suspense is interspersed with ludicrous camera work, repetitive scenes and wearisome dialogue. I was particularly disappointed as I love the main actor, being a big fan of league of gentleman back in the day, and although the acting is solid, the plot, set entirely in a field, is not gripping, somewhat predictable, and, as I say, not remotely scary. I feel this was a real missed opportunity as the era and cast were good, but the way in which it was shot really let it down. Perhaps they were on a shoestring budget? Blairwitch style, permitted only to film in a black and white field where nothing really happens, culminating in a frightfully tedious watch.

The mix between horror and comedy is hard to pull off, seeing as they are on many levels polar opposites, yet this film fails to be either funny or scary. Some great horror films can have a few amusing scenes which serve to highlight the main themes of horror and enhance the terror, but when the plot itself is the joke the film will always fail to scare, amuse, indeed entertain. I can see what the director was trying to achieve, and how the bizarre scenes were designed to freak the audience out and convey a sense of madness and terror, but for me it utterly failed and was simply a waste of time.

If you are the kind of person who likes to interpret pretentious arty symbols, as if this film was one moving picture in a gallery, where you can see what you want to see, read what you want to into every camera angle, "poetry, visual and paintings of creativity, composed into something metaphorical and beautiful." to quote another review, then yes, I can see the appeal. But, if you watch horror films to be scared, on any level, then I'd really give this film a miss. I agree this film is original, but, as this snoozefest shows, that is not always a good thing. Avoid (unless high).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant Experience, 13 July 2013
By 
Henrik Lundberg (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Field In England [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie, was a fantastic experience. Which opens up the debate what determines a movie? The experience of watching it? What you take away from it? What sticks with you? How does your mind think it through?

This is a window, or a journey into a time long before modern world, yet at the precipice of its changing to a modern society. That would lead to the British Empire and modern society. A time of carnage and madness, violence as well. It was the British Civil War. A time where the world changed, as a line in this movie says "World is turned upside down" . The birth of Science coming forth, which didnt exist before. All what we see as scientist now. Where seen as alchemists, divintists etc. The leaving of the dark ages , into the never ending expansion and growing desire for the light of knowledge, why do we exist and everything around us. An idea Famously promoted in a book called Leviathan by Hobbs. That was around this time of shifting. In which it talks about darkness. Not as evil but as ignorance.

The acting from all parties is brilliant. The Audio, flawless. We may love huge Blockbuster movies, but rarely do I walk away from those movies thinking about them constantly and for days. This is the deciding factor in many 'indie' movies. Our desperate attempt to try and translate what I or you saw. Which is very similar to an underlining message of the movie. Movies, are not solely about story (even though if we take the base story- dude trying to find someone whom wants to get some treasure)

Movies can be like poetry, a mass of metaphorical compositions to stun and confuse you, visual beauty as if paintings and sculptures of pure creativity.

The editing, audio and visuals are all haunting. Hypnotic and they crack you to attention.

--SPOILER--
Like the brilliant kaleidoscope like sequence of different scenes overlapping, characters overlapping- as if the picture split in two. Left and right, Good/Evil, Madness/Sanity - Chaos and Order. Right down the center of the window, into a strange lost and old world. That eventually merges together, almost a metaphor of absorbing and consuming- unification, old forms colliding into a new form. Where these people real? Or merely fragments of his internal struggle?
------End of Spoiler-----

Underlining message of the movie. Is the timeless and great struggle of life. Between God and Created, State and Freedom, Collective and Individual, Rich and Poor- a constant path, of 'Master and Servant'. That reaches far back into the spines of every culture and every people. A aching desire for rebellion and independence and above all us, a understanding of existing- why do we exist?

This movie was a great visual and enriching experience I found. Even if you hate it, it is well worth a look. Just to look.

However I will recommend,that if you step into this old world,travel to A Field in England. In a distant time. That you look into the Folk tales of Fairy Rings. It actually explains aspects of the movie- subtle but certainly does !

A truly Great Movie to Experience and one that I wont forget, until I die.

I found it, Brilliance in Black and White Form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Field In England [Blu-ray]
A Field In England [Blu-ray] by Ben Wheatley (Blu-ray - 2013)
£11.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews