Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rambling narrative, unified aesthetic
No, it may not be everyone's cup of mushroom tea, but more fool them. This is the most original piece of film-making I've seen for years and I found myself so utterly gripped that when the Film4 premiere finished I immediately flipped over to Film4+1 to watch the last hour again.

While unlike anything you'll have seen before, it does evoke other distinctive and...
Published 21 months ago by DJB1968

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tripping across the countryside.
Ben Wheatley takes a turn down the sublime and ridiculous in this twisted and darkly comic feature on the English Civil War. Offering no coherent plot strands for the first-time viewer, this is a dizzying tumble into the drug-addled, battle weary mind of war patrons fleeing and journeying across the green pastures of the English countryside on the hunt to find the beacon...
Published 21 months ago by G. Wetherall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Unusual But Brilliant, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
Completely against the grain of normal British independent cinema this is a bold and daring piece of film-making. Not for everyone but very rewarding for those more used to, say, the traditions of European cinema. Quite frightening in places.
Great acting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bought as a present, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
the recipient very pleased to get it for his birthday. but I don't know anything about it. It went straight to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird and lingers in the mind, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
M. B. Jennings "wwwmikejbentley" (M R James country) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
Although the film has been described as a horror movie, it isn't really scary in the sense of conventional rip 'em up horror, more disturbing. The early part of the film was a bit hard to follow,as the dialogue sounds rather muffled but involves an alchemist's clerk (Whitehead) who is trying to retrieve his master's papers from a character called O'Neill, who had stolen them. Whitehead is running from a battle pursued by an angry officer who is killed by a scavenging soldier who then befriends Whitehead. They meet another couple of deserters who decide that the pub is a better place to be than a battlefield and so head off to find one. On the way they stop in a field and eat a few magic mushrooms from a fairy circle, and from this point it's difficult to tell what is 'real'. They find a carved stake in the fairy circle and pull on a rope which magically appears, causing O'Neill, who may be a demon(?) to be extracted from within the circle.

O'Neill then proceeds to dominate the group and forces them to dig for a treasure which he thinks is buried in the field, using Whitehead, who is literally at the end of his tether, as a diviner.

The film has many resonances- the time in which it is set was at a point where land itself was still the major source of power and wealth, although manufacturing was beginning to burgeon. The O'Neill character uses arms to force his will on the others, who, serf-like, dig the ground as the Levellers did against the opposition of the Cavaliers and other vested interests. Superstition was still rife in those times, so a cleric, like Whitehead, could manipulate others while not possesing physical strength.

The most sympathetic character is an Essex man who comes from the bottom of the social pyramid. Whitehead is a self admitted coward who still comes across as the most civilised of the group, compared to the selfish aggression of O'Neill.

The story certainly seems disjointed and the black and white filming provides a sense of alienation and a feeling of separateness from both conventional reality and the modern day. The film has been compared to 'Stalker' which, personally I found probably the most boring film I've ever seen - certainly, I found this film to have a lot less philosophising and more interest, but that may just be me. It's also been compared to 'Witchfinder General' which had a superbly hammy Vincent Price as a villain, and while this film is set at approximately the same time period, it's a lot stranger and has a less narrative construction. Anyway, worth a view if you prefer something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, but not for everyone., 22 July 2013
This review is from: A Field In England [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As an avid film watcher I went into this film with an open mind, which is something EVERYBODY who watches this film should do. I can see how this may not be for everyone. The surreal storyline and strange camera techniques would defiantly put any general film watcher off this film but for anyone who is into a completely original storyline as well as a very different style of film making then this is completely worth a watch.

Don't expect an easy watch and don't expect a typical ending to this film because you will be disappointing. Expect something amazing and more importantly, something NEW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue!, 7 July 2013
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
This looks like a future cult favourite and is intriguing on many levels. Probably wise to view it a few times before you pass judgement. Initially, though, a visually striking, stagey kind of film with great performances all round and some genuinely funny moments (at times I found myself laughing and I wasn't sure why - and I'd had no mushrooms! Perhaps then, the film is successful in drawing the viewer into the absurdity of the piece?). I admire what this director can achieve with a shoestring budget. I couldn't help thinking a couple of Pink Floyd numbers would fit nicely here and there, but the actual soundtrack is absolutely spot on. It's enigmatic and 'arty' and definately worth a view - something you simply have to witness for yourself. Cool poster design too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surreal Field, 15 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
The vast, open landscape captured on widescreen with black and white cinematography makes for displacement towards the characters by fixating ourselves to the setting. This is enhanced by psychedelic notions in behaviour and editing places one's mindset to fever pitch interpreting various meanings. A Field in England is begging for interpretation, having an open mind will result in a world of good.
Of course it is completely bonkers but Wheatley sure knows how to mess with his audience...one of the strangest films for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting film, 22 July 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Field In England [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A Field in England achieves the laudable trick of polarising viewers and reviewers. Everyone seems to either love it or hate, no bad thing really as it demonstrates that those watching it are emotionally effected. I am sure Ben Wheatley would much prefer this to people walking out of the cinema or turning their TV off and feeling, well, nothing.

I first saw this on Film Four and was enthralled and confused in equal measure. I then bought the blu-ray version and quickly digested the extras to see how this uniquely crafted film was put together. The section on cinematography was especially interesting. I had thought that Lensbaby lenses had been used but no, el-cheapo Holga lenses and a homemade lenscap/kids telescope glass element was used to create the unique look.

I watched the film again, much better in blu-ray, the image and sound quality is just lush. As for the film itself, well Wheatley has made something that requires multiple viewings to appreciate fully, I am not sure if one will ever fully understand what is going on but the effect of the black and white, acting, wordy script, trippy editing and the claustrophobia of the entire film being based in one location is mesmerising and well worth repeated sittings to take in fully.

I highly recommend this as an original and unique entry in Wheatley's oeuvre.

Destined to have the cliched words 'cult' and 'classic' attached to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too arty for its own good, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
I was quite looking forward to this film, set in the English civil war and homages to Bergman, what's not to like? Sadly while I did like some bits (the "idiot's" bit about hating his wife and the man having a shit both snippets of "real" life) I found the whole somewhat shallow and pretentious with elements added to make it appear deeper than it actually was. Which is sad because it could have been so much better.
As an aside Sightseers is a much better and coherent example of what this director can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original film, in a field of it's own., 14 July 2013
By 
stimcitytigers (Kingston upon Hull - Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen Ben Wheatley's Sightseers about a year ago and enjoyed it's black humour. I have looked forward to this film for quite a while, I also enjoyed the marketing campaign, via DVD , Film 4 and it's cinema tie in. So on viewing this film I wasn't disappointed, Ironically I watched this film in a field in England in a caravan in North Yorkshire, whilst supping whisky - so I was inebriated enough to let the imagery flow over me.

The film doesn't disappoint and weaves you through many a country lane, historical, horror and Psychedelic. The quality of film making is excellent and special mentions need to be made of the sound design and soundtrack.

probably the best film I have seen in a long while, and I look forward to seeing again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Field In England [DVD] (DVD)
I loved it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Field In England [Blu-ray]
A Field In England [Blu-ray] by Ben Wheatley (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews