Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Impressive Tribute
As one of the finest jazz guitarists of all time, a critically acclaimed artist in the genres of soul, jazz and pop and the possessor of a soft, warm and bewitching tenor voice, George Benson is well placed to record a tribute to the art of Nat King Cole. Both Cole and Benson began their professional lives as jazz musicians until their voices became ascendant and took...
Published 15 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration
Easy listening but not as good as I thought it was going to be, although I do like George Benson he doesn't give the songs same feeling of emotion that Nat does.
Published 13 months ago by K. Middlecoate


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Impressive Tribute, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As one of the finest jazz guitarists of all time, a critically acclaimed artist in the genres of soul, jazz and pop and the possessor of a soft, warm and bewitching tenor voice, George Benson is well placed to record a tribute to the art of Nat King Cole. Both Cole and Benson began their professional lives as jazz musicians until their voices became ascendant and took them into mainstream pop.

I don't think that Benson would claim to be the vocal equal of Cole but his phrasing is impeccable, his interpretations are elegant and he retains enough of the jazz influences that shaped his early career to give him that ability to swing with such sophistication on numbers such as "Straighten Up And Fly Right", "Route 66" and "Ballerina".

There are twelve Cole classics here with the big band sound of the prestigious Henry Mancini Institute Orchestra. The album begins and ends with "Mona Lisa". First by Benson (aged eight) and then a sublime reading from the adult Benson with a big band arrangement by Nelson Riddle and some sweet guitar from George. He gives us stylish interpretations of the immortal ballads "Unforgettable" (with Wynton Marsalis), "Smile", and "When I Fall In Love" with lush, jazz inflected backings that are timeless in their appeal.

This is an impressive album where voice, songs, band, arrangements and the spirit of Nat Cole combine to forge a piece of work that honours the magic, not only of Cole, but of George Benson, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Mix of Cole and Benson to please either fans or both!, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration (A Tribute To Nat King Cole) (MP3 Download)
Its amazing how similar Benson's voice is to Nat King Cole. I never realised it until I heard him singing his songs in more the same tone as him. That being said, you can still tell its Benson and not Cole, which is great and he manages to show us how much of a fan he is, without being over-indulgent or losing track of the music.

Its basically doing the songs in the way the orchestra would do it for King Cole and then Benson comes in with his lovely tones and ad-libs the right amount, which is not much at all, in order to keep this tribute very close to how King Cole sang his songs.

The production is perfect, in keeping with the originals but also adding new things here and there.My favourite track is Unforgettable, because Benson does a smooth, jazzy, summery Samba vibe to it. He does the song for a lovely long time, with jazzy instruments in-between the breaks in chorus and verse and it sends chills down your spine.

I am a fan of both Kng Cole and Benson, though I am a fan of Benson more, and this did not disappoint me in any way, in fact it made me love both of them more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars relaxing, 1 July 2013
By 
Steff Eyres (BRECHIN, Angus, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a big fan of Nat King Cole I had to have it! but he sings it in his own style which makes for a good experience, great for chillin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brll cd, 15 April 2014
By 
saintly lass (Swindon. Wilts) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All you would expect in a tribute cd. Brill music and excellent vocals
So glad I bought it. Have it in my car and its been on continual play ever since it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Benson!, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An avid fan of this man for such a long time. His voca gift and his amazing love and flair for the guitar is outstanding, however, with his introduction to Nat King Cole music was very clever and so well suited!
Janey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of positives, 22 Jan 2014
By 
B. L. Rudd "GUITARIST" (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've watched George performing this material on Youtube and got the impression that he was terrified that the audience would'nt except it and were about to attack him for not churning out his pop hits. That's the price to pay for being a cross-over artiste. I appreciate his love of Nat and this is a worthy tribute. It's not perfect, I suspect the use of a lot of drop ins, have contributed to this album sounding very pieced together. His guitar breaks are wonderful but they seemed nailed in afterwards. I just wish George would stop scatting, its become such a bore. He proved his point, about being able to transfer his musical ideas instantly, from mouth to guitar, long ago, it's a trademark he no longer needs. The girl singer on "When I fall in love" would'nt be out of place in the Chipmunks, but all in all I like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday prezzie, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
+Rather my Mother in Law loved it - a birthday present for her 83rd birthday, she had been after the CD for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
MYSELF I THINK THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST CD S GEORGE BENSON HAS DONE FOR A WHILE IT IS EXCELLENT,HES A MASTER A TRIBUTE TO NAT KING COLE,HE EVEN SOUNDS A BIT LIKE HIM I LOVE IT ICANT STOP PLAYING IT.ITS ANOTHER CD EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE IN THERE COLLECTION THE GREAT GEORGE BENSON AT HIS BEST
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big fan of George Benson and I wanted to hear this album in vinyl.
Was also looking forward to the mp3 version on autorip which amazon do.
However, still waiting for this! ! Come on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tribute, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my mum, who is a long term George Benson fan (also Nat King Cole) she loves it!
Very easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews