Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mus have for your library., 11 Nov 2013
By 
Paul Hodgson "www.bof.uk.com" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory Heisler: 50 Portraits: Stories and Techniques from a Photographer's Photographer (Kindle Edition)
Fan boy alert.

Heisler, McCurry, Natchway, McNally and many more are today's crop of superstar photographers. They've earned their place in the photographic hall of fame, does one exist?, having produced bodies of work that capture the heart, the soul and the emotion of whom they point their camera at.

Today I received this book. What immediately grabs you, apart from the weight of the book, is the striking image on the fron cover. It sets the bar high for the rest of the book and boy, page after page of wonderful story telling, thoughts and of course the images.

I was sold on the book by just Heislers name...it's newly released, very few reviews so in some ways could have been seen as a risk. Not one chance...

In summary, if you're into photography especially portraiture, then this book really must, not should, but must be included in your library. It makes total sense.

Spoiler alert though...if you're after a book that goes into fine details about where to place lights, what f-stop to use etc., etc then you'll get some of this but that's not the purpose of the book.

I'll suggest this one more time...just buy the book, honestly, a superb read and those images....boy-o-boy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous book., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like portraits you should have this book. Heisler shows the story behind every portrait. Every photo is marvelous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 50 Great Portraits, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This guy is one of the very best in the business, the images are superb, the anecdotes are fascinating. This is a very high quality publication, a must have for anyone who loves portrait photography. Definitely a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stand out publication, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite unlike any other book in my collection.
Mr Heisler tells the story behind each incisive portrait, with me being a huge Ali admirer that alone made it worth the cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awe struck, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory Heisler: 50 Portraits: Stories and Techniques from a Photographer's Photographer (Kindle Edition)
To delve into the mind of one of the greats. Constantly blowing my mind with what Greg has come up with over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into some truly inspirational portraits, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory Heisler: 50 Portraits: Stories and Techniques from a Photographer's Photographer (Kindle Edition)
This book is hard to put down if you love portrait photography.
Very informative as to how the portrait came about and the technique.
If you are a photographer you will be looking on eBay for a 5x4 camera after reading this.
Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book of portraits and a good read, 8 Mar 2014
By 
P. J. Melling "PJM Images" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite photography book. The technical insights, the photographs and the stories combine to make this a book that is a must for anyone interested in portraiture photography. I already had the iBooks version but just had to have the print copy as well and it was worth it. You can't beat a good old fashioned hard backed book, especially when it's as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essentual. Don't even think twice. Buy it now., 7 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory Heisler: 50 Portraits: Stories and Techniques from a Photographer's Photographer (Kindle Edition)
As a photographer this book is educational, inspirational, comforting and encouraging. As a fan of photography it's just a delight to pore over. I don't know what else to say, it's one of the best books about making photos I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent at all levels., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing insight into the world of one of the best portrait photographers ever.
Besides being a really funny character, Heisler provides great content for amateurs and pros alike - and the photographs are just gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book - shame about the inadequate packaging., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First the book. Lovely, inspiring, great photos and text working together. No complaints at all. Sadly, as with so many photobooks, the packaging was so inadequate that the base of the spine and the jacket around that point is bashed and ripped. Why does a seller think that a stiff-ish brown envelope is adequate packing for a large hardback? I've pretty much decided to stop buying hardback photobooks from Amazon as most arrive with some damage. I'd rather pay more to buy from a bookshop and know that the book won't have been bashed to hell in the mail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51e2f60)

This product

Only search this product's reviews