Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2014
I've been using a trial of Silver Efex and sort of muddling through - getting good enough results to be impressed with the software, but also aware I wasn't using it to its full potential. This book provides a good key to getting to grips with Efex - it's workflow-based, so you get an efficient method for processing your files which places the different controls in a logical context, making them easier to understand and remember. There are also step-by-step exercises to let you practice what you've learnt.

A great advantage of the book is that it's cheap enough to be a disposable purchase; if you buy this as a companion to the Silver Efex trial, and decide the software isn't for you, it's no big deal. On that basis, I'd recommend it to anyone trying the Google Nik software package.

Having gone through the book, I feel I've got a good starting point for developing a process of my own: I don't shoot the same subjects as the author or want to produce the same sort of look, but he's given me a solid foundation for building my own method, which is the mark of a good teacher.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This is one of the clearest, best laid out, accessible and well illustrated photo books I have yet seen as an eBook.
The book is devoted to the use of the Nik imager processing software for black and white images. If you are serious about this you will acquire (or already have) this software. If you place the image processing on the left of your screen and open Whalley's book on the right-hand side (or on your Kindle (eReader)) next to you; you can go through the book whilst editing your own image.
There is no better way to learn.
This book is a must for all photographers working in monochrome with this software.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
This book clearly explains what each module does in the software. Silver Efex is not intuitive "out of the box".
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Does exactly what it sets out to do. In particular I liked the way that things were kept simple, encouraging an intuitive approach and illustrations were sharp and not too frequent but not too few.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Yet another of Rob's eBooks that makes sure you get the best out of this great plugin. Well laid out and easy to read and working along with the example images ensures you understand it all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Robin Whally has a wonderful way of explaining the use of Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 software. He explains how and why to use various elements and also explains alternative possibilities.
I would strongly recommend this book to both amateurs and budding professionals, it has a lot to offer even when you are familiar with the software.
Patricia Griffin
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
If you want to use Nik Silver Efex Pro well, this book is clear, concise, practical, inspiring, and great value for money!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Tried and bought the NIK plugin package and followed with purchase of all of Robin Whalley's NIK plugin guides in digital form to see what more I could do with it all. The guides are a good useful insight into making positive use of the plugins and clarifies using a number of the available editing approaches.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
As a complete novice to Nik Silver Efex Pro 2, I was looking for a no nonsense tutorial on how to use it and get the best out of it.
Robin Whalley's little book ticks all the boxes here. I love this plug in and Robin's book compliments perfectly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
An easy writing style and informative book for all silver pro users. Highly recommended and affordable for all us cost conscious photographers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)