Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read
This is my first ever review but felt as it was a free book I should oblige by writing one ( maybe that should be a duty for all free book users to at least give something back to the author) I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would have gladly paid for it,its better than the majority of books I've read over the last year or so and far better than most...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Not brilliant but it's an ok read and a little bit different with characters including middle aged naturists and swingers! Would read another book by this author
Published 11 months ago by Mogsie60


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Laid Bare (Hope and Carver Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is my first ever review but felt as it was a free book I should oblige by writing one ( maybe that should be a duty for all free book users to at least give something back to the author) I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would have gladly paid for it,its better than the majority of books I've read over the last year or so and far better than most.

The setting is a coastal town the U.K, I much prefer these sort of home grown stories set here rather than a lot of the usual American locations, the plot was very believable a body found at the foot of the cliffs at first suspected of a fall or suicide soon develops into something more sinister, but more importantly the main characters I found very likeable and interesting with their own story to tell, Carver the female lead character was very much in the vein of Scott and Bailey, volatile and unrepentant in her behaviour a sort of take me or leave me attitude and Hope the male lead is the total opposite shy and nervous so they both work well together and as a first novel with these to in it, its sets it up nicely for a series of books but I was dissapointed to find this was Robert Forrester the authors, first novel with these characters and I eagerly await a follow up as trying to find something as good and easy to read is going to prove difficult

My advice for what is less than a couple of quid ( Kindle version) is go and buy this book Im sure you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Laid Bare (Hope and Carver Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have just read this book tonight. I thoroughly enjoyed it .It is slightly different to the normal police stories but because of that refreshingly original.Good twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 1 July 2013
By 
Mr. B. Milby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Laid Bare (Hope and Carver Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Unusual tale but entertaining. The 'heroine' is a quirky character and I hope more novels involving her and her boss are in the offing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Laid Bare (Hope and Carver Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good read with believable characters , simple story but the lives of the officers and the problems they have are a good story in themselves. Look forward to another case for Hope and Carver and the rest of the team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Laid Bare (Hope and Carver Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great mystery and unexpected twist at the end.Great characters with more baggage than you could imagine.Enjoyable read.I will be getting the next in series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Laid Bare (Hope and Carver Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not brilliant but it's an ok read and a little bit different with characters including middle aged naturists and swingers! Would read another book by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Police procedural?, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Laid Bare (Hope and Carver Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is supposed to be a police procedural as the protagonists have police ranks but it is unlikely, given their personalities, that they would have been accepted and there is very little procedure involved. It could also do with some editing, not enough to be a major irritant but noticeable. However, having said this, it is a good book with an engrossing plot - manslaughter at a naturist resort. The main characters are well enough drawn to be unlikeable at the beginning and likeable by the end although the rest are not much more than cardboard cutouts. I got this free and as such it is worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews