Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAVING A BALL
Rodgers & Hammerstein's sole joint television venture has triumphantly transferred to the Broadway stage - original 1957 score augmented by songs dropped from their other shows.

This 65 minute CD is a delight. 26 tracks, the additions skilfully interwoven. The cast does them full justice. Cinderella is sung by Laura Osnes (who also features on the new R&H...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Old Fashioned
I was really looking forward to hearing this recording and, unlike almost everybody else who has reviewed it, I was very disappointed.

"Cinderella" is a story that is all about magic and, for me, that is a quality seriously lacking on this recording. The music as presented here sounds rather pedestrian. It was of course written in the 1950's but what was a...
Published 16 months ago by Roger Rebec


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAVING A BALL, 9 July 2013
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cinderella (Audio CD)
Rodgers & Hammerstein's sole joint television venture has triumphantly transferred to the Broadway stage - original 1957 score augmented by songs dropped from their other shows.

This 65 minute CD is a delight. 26 tracks, the additions skilfully interwoven. The cast does them full justice. Cinderella is sung by Laura Osnes (who also features on the new R&H "Pipe Dream" recording). Santino Fontana proves a dashing prince. Victoria Clark is fun as the Fairy Godmother.

All the old favourites are there: "In My Own Little Corner", "The Prince is Having a Ball", "Impossible", "Ten Minutes Ago", The Cinderella Waltz, The Stepsisters' Lament, "A Lovely Night", "Do I Love You Because You're Beautiful?". Some are extended versions of those previously heard. The zesty orchestrations throughout are a joy. Amongst the new numbers "The Pursuit", "Loneliness of Evening" and "There's Music in You" particularly shine.

(A little dialogue is included. It provides the only jarring note - Cinderella asking the prince, "Is marriage still on the table?")

Clearly not only the Prince is having a ball. Everybody seems to be enjoying themselves - as will most listeners. Rodgers & Hammerstein have been royally served. Sumptuously illustrated notes accompany.

This, the fifth recording of "Cinderella" in my collection, is the one that has given greatest overall pleasure.

(Any hopes of a DVD version?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular album., 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella (Original Broadway Cast Recording) (MP3 Download)
Bought this cast recording because I adore Laura Osnes and the story of Cinderella is a favourite of mine. It is a brilliant soundtrack, such a shame I'm unable to watch it but I live in hope that there's a West End version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Old Fashioned, 27 July 2013
By 
Roger Rebec "Roger Rebec" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to hearing this recording and, unlike almost everybody else who has reviewed it, I was very disappointed.

"Cinderella" is a story that is all about magic and, for me, that is a quality seriously lacking on this recording. The music as presented here sounds rather pedestrian. It was of course written in the 1950's but what was a simple short piece written to last about 90 minutes has been inflated to provide a full evening's entertainment. The original production, written for Julie Andrews, was simple and left you wanting more. It's not really top drawer R & H but Oscar's take on the story was original and the Rodgers' music was apt. They wrote a nice solo, "In My Own LIttle Corner", a romantic duet "Ten Minutes Ago" and a comedy duet "Sisters' Lament", two excellent musical scenes "The Price Is Giving a Ball" and "A Lovely Night", whose main theme is a song that should have been performed more frequently over the last 50 years and a sublime love song "Do I Love You Because Your Beautiful?" Rodgers also wrote an enchanting waltz for the ball and other very effective incidental music.

To pad out the piece for a full theatre production, other R & H songs have been patched in. "The Loneliness of Evening", cut from "South Pacific", was first pasted into "Cinderella" with Rodgers' good will for the 1965 TV production. Stuart Damon sang it well but it wasn't right for "South Pacific" and it isn't right for "Cinderella" either. Neither are any of the other tunes which have been dragooned in either from "Allegro", "Pipe Dream" or the R & H trunk. Each of these pieces suddenly spoils the flow of the "Cinderella" music by betraying its origins. I am also not very enamoured of some of the new lyrics, the worst of which is sung by the Prince as he describes himself as "a regular guy". For a fairy tale? It seems very republican. Surely Oscar didn't write this? He always wrote for character and his Prince was romantically royal.

I can't say I am very enthusiastic about the performances either or the quality of the recording. The latter seems to be a typical product of the digital age, close with no space around it. The choral singing sounds dreary and very unenthusiastic. The conducting doesn't let the music take flight. Too many tunes, "Ten Minutes Ago" for one, are reprised way too many times. Worst of all, the best song in the original score, "Do I Love You Because Your Beautiful?" is buried towards the end of the piece in such an unmagical glutinous mass of sound that it almost passes unnoticed. The vocal performances are just about acceptable but nowhere so characterful as in the original TV production.

Fie on Ted Chapin for allowing this to happen. If "Cinderella" had to be turned into a full length Broadway production, as keeper of the keys at the Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization, he should have demanded something better than this. It would have been better to have have sanctioned a revisiting of "Allegro". If you do this, Mr Chapin, you might restore my previous faith in your guardianship of the R & H treasury. This new piece lacks artistic integrity, which is something R & H always strived for and, for the most part, achieved.

For those wanting a recording of the"Cinderella" score, I would recommend the recording of the original TV production with Julie Andrews. It may have fewer songs than you'd hoped for but these were written especially for the production and fitted the story like a glove. This recording also has more magic than any of the recordings made of subsequent productions. If you want to hear the best recording of "Do I Love You Because Your Beautiful?. this can be found on Mel Torme's splendid "That's All" album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is amazing. Laura Osnes' voice is crystal and perfect and ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella (Original Broadway Cast Recording) (MP3 Download)
This album is amazing. Laura Osnes' voice is crystal and perfect and Santino Fontano sounds like such a prince. Ten Minutes Ago is amazing and I really love the little bit of dialogue in The Proposal. I think it's amusing and sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cinderella-Broadway cd, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Audio CD)
Great to see this new version on cd.A UK version was done many years ago when the show was in London and starred Tommy Steele.Other songs have been added and others deleted from this new USA version-so the show feels completely new,so if you have the original cd this version is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely score, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Audio CD)
Very quick delivery from the time I placed the order. Great fan of Rodgers and Hammerstein so it was great to get a new recording of one of their works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cinderella, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Audio CD)
This recording of Cinderella is beautifully done and brings back good memories of seeing the show on stage in New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Audio CD)
A wonderful score. Sit back and enjoy this new 'old' Rodgers and Hammerstein musical.

I look forward to a West End production in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'new' Rodgers, 27 July 2013
By 
M. A. Bolger (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinderella (Audio CD)
It's always great to have a recording of unfamiliar music by Richard Rodgers, and here is a very presuasive, highly enjoyable cd. Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Musical theatre as it should be, 26 July 2013
This review is from: Cinderella (Audio CD)
We saw this show on Broadway at the "Broadway Theatre" and it is wonderfull, It has been rewritten and a good thing too, with some characters removed and all for the good. But the C.D. is a joy to listen to. First class cast with the beautiful voices of Victoria Clark & Laura Osnes, The arrangments and the large orchestra (even in the theatre) is something that's now rare. This is something of an old fashioned musical, but its everything that a show should be......Happy & a pleasure to watch & listen to. I agree with bring out a dvd ! This Cd will give enjoyment for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews