Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best british hard rock band, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. Roger N. Allen "Roger" (Braintree ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My favourite British hard rockers Voodoo Six are back with the release of new studio album, 'Songs To Invade Countries To', having penned a worldwide deal with Spinefarm Records. After the critical and commercial success of the brilliant previous album Fluke?, and the teasing preview EP of Falling Knives featuring new drummer Joe Lazarus, the boys are back with the new album consisting of 11 studio tracks produced by V6 bass player Tony Newton, mixed by Tony Newton & Pedro Ferreira.

There is no quarter given on the opening two tracks `Falling Knives' and `All That Glitters' with a riff Metallica would be proud of, it's a killer track showing off perfectly the twin guitar attack of Chris Jones and Matt Pearce. Voodoo Six also know how to relax into their music as well with the excellent grooves of `Brick Wall' and the `You Don't Know' which along with the gentle intro on `Lead Me On' feature some lovely background synth textures.
Tony and Joe both work well on the bass driven tracks `Sink Or Swim' and the excellent `Stop', Luke's voice is consistently superb on the album moving from aggressive to passive with equal ease and none better than the last tracks on the album `Waiting In Line' and Higher Ground' showing that the boys can make slightly more commercial sounding music as well as the quality harder sounding songs.

'Songs To Invade Countries To' is the perfect foil to the previous Fluke? album, they are both worthy of any rock fans collection; they have pride of place in mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Nonsense Heavy Rock!, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. S. Hinchliffe "Aussie Jon" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like no nonsense heavy rock, a multitude of riffs, tempo, amazing bass playing and a bit of blues thrown in, then you cant go wrong with this excellent offering. Similar in style to Tracer, but, whereas the latest Tracer offering left me somewhat confused and let down, this album by the Voodoo guys ticked all the boxes. Not a dull moment or track to be found on this album!! Heavy Rock heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIX OF THE BEST!, 2 Jun. 2013
I gather that these guys are currently out on tour with Iron Maiden, and it's not difficult to see why the Maiden boys picked this UK bunch to travel around Europe with them - great songs, great playing, and the sort of real emotion & drive heard all too rarely in our digital age. If blues-tinged hard rock with light & shade to spare is to your taste, then I reckon V6 will have you coming back for seconds...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ole Rock N Roll, 8 July 2014
Just seen these guys fill the tent at Sonisphere, they really now deserve a main or support stage slot. This album is just good old fashioned Rock n Roll, buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Heck of a Newcommer Band, Enough Ryhthem Rock to Wobble Out Your Eyeballs and Keep You Listening for MORE!!!, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Great sound for a great new upcoming band.

This album is full of creative, unique and addictive songs from the get go.
Quite similar to what you could expect from the likes of Nickelback, but a little more punchy, harder and dam right down to earth!

Just what the rock doctor ordered, and you might want to take his advice!

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Sucess, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my wife for xmas and she loves it so I am happy i bought it for her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw them in Milan last May and then I started listening to. Really a great band, keep going on this way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Songs To Invade Countries To, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best Voodoo Six album to date. The new vocalist has made this band much much better. Great live band, and now the albums are reflecting this.Well worth buying unless you are an emo, screamo or nu metaller. If you are one of the categories mentioned you'll hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is great - and really unexpected, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have to say that I expected a lot of shouting and not a lot of tunes - how wrong I was. This is a real grower , bags of energy , great riffs and a real danger to drive to. I was really pleased with the overall sound and while I think the blues part of blues rock is quite a bit smaller I think the overall sound is great.
I would really like to see these guys live but suspect I've missed the chance of a smaller venue - I think they are going to do really well - and with the vocals and riffs like this they deserve to ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this for myself, but I never got to play it for nearly a month as the husband had it in his car!!

This CD is packed full of material which will appeal to many, there is the ballad, rock tracks and songs slightly on the heavier side . Voodoo Six have created songs which are fairly irresistible.

You can hear the influences of AC/DC, and Led Zeppelin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews