Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Album - 'Du bist die Welt für mich' is the Star
Using the latest technology Beczala sings a unique version of 'Du bist die Welt für mich' perfectly with Richard Tauber and for this alone the album is worth 5 Stars.

The careful selection of popular repertoire will I think appeal to most Tauber fans and those who perhaps know of Tauber but are not as familiar with his recordings. with the operettas and...
Published 15 months ago by Trev-R

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Silver Age
Outside Austria, the wonderful world of Viennese operetta is largely overlooked. We might occasionally see a new professional production of Die Fledermaus or Die lustige Witwe, but revivals of the other classics, not least from the Silver Age of Lehár and Kálmán, are scant. Luckily there are still singers who cherish those scores, the latest among...
Published 15 months ago by Entartete Musik


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Silver Age, 29 May 2013
By 
Entartete Musik (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Outside Austria, the wonderful world of Viennese operetta is largely overlooked. We might occasionally see a new professional production of Die Fledermaus or Die lustige Witwe, but revivals of the other classics, not least from the Silver Age of Lehár and Kálmán, are scant. Luckily there are still singers who cherish those scores, the latest among being Piotr Beczala, whose first disc for Deutsche Grammophon is a lustily sung tribute to Richard Tauber, the tenor doyen of the genre.

Beczala gives us a veritable grabbag of Tauber's film and stage hits. Many of the original performances can be seen on YouTube, cherished for their ease and artless artistry. Beczala provides a more full-throated presence here and, given the advances in orchestral playing, singing technique and sound since the 20s and 30s, this is a truly luscious disc.

Always disarming, Beczala brings a suitably rich ring and superb diction (in German and English) to Lehár, Stolz and Kálmán's ardent tunes. When he sings 'You are my heart's delight' (recorded in both languages) you can't help but feel it's directed to you. And with Anna Netrebko on hand for 'Lippen schweigen' and Tauber, no less, for a rendition of 'Du bist die Welt für mich' (taken from his 1934 recording), there would appear to be little room for complaint.

Occasionally, however, the performances are guilty of little too much Schlag. There's not always quite enough swing and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra stints on Wienerisch upbeat Luftpausen. Likewise Beczala could provide a dose more wit, rather than his impressive but tenacious forte. Certainly if you listen to Tauber in 'Wien, du Stadt meiner Träume' you'll hear conversational bounce and throwaway phrasing that really enlivens the song. But this recording, like Joseph Calleja's recent Mario Lanza disc, is a well-performed and heartfelt tribute, ably demonstrating just how rich this repertoire is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Album - 'Du bist die Welt für mich' is the Star, 28 May 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Using the latest technology Beczala sings a unique version of 'Du bist die Welt für mich' perfectly with Richard Tauber and for this alone the album is worth 5 Stars.

The careful selection of popular repertoire will I think appeal to most Tauber fans and those who perhaps know of Tauber but are not as familiar with his recordings. with the operettas and songs of Lehár, Kálmán, Stolz, Erwin and others and collaborations with guest artists like Soprano Anna Netrebko and mandolinist Avi Avital. Piotr Beczala interprets these songs beautifully and intelligently, playing to his strengths with a colour of sound and purity of tone that is matched by his ability to project 'theatre' (does that make sense to anyone other than me?) into each song but remaining fully in control of each one.

I am reviewing this based on the FLAC 24bit 96kHz Studio Master Version from linnrecords dot com not the CD Version. I am sure the CD version will be excellent based on the high quality of the Studio master recording. The Studio master also has an extra track - Brunetki, blondynki made famous by the well known Polish singer of the 20's and 30's, Jan Kiepura.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Surprise, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heart's Delight - The Songs Of Richard Tauber [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
This new CD has a wide range of music and it is very well presented and extremely well sung in all the languages used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful music journey!, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Piotr Beczala’s first CD with Deutsche Grammophon and, as a Piotr Beczala fan, I bought it. I have to admit that I hadn’t had high expectations, as I didn’t like operetta. But I was wrong. This CD made me love operetta, which I had underestimated in the past.

The tracks sung here are truly amazing and have a wonderful melody. I truly fell in love with “Dein ist mein ganzes Hertz”, “Ich küsse Ihre Hand Madame” and “Lippen Schweigen” (featuring a special guest appearance by Anna Netrebko, my favourite soprano!!). Also I really liked “Komm Zigany” and “Wien du Stadt meiner Traüme”.

But what was really special was Piotr Beczala. His warm and seducing voice delivers all the tracks awesomely!

So spend one hour from your life and immerse yourself in these romantic songs. Recommended to every opera fan who wants a little romance in his life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One to watch!!!!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
L. robinson "L robinson" (bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautiful disc sung by a new tenor of the highest calibre Mr Beczala. He has the most beautiful focused lyrical tenor voice I have heard recently. His instrument is unforced and sits well with this repetoire. A world class voice backed by musicians of the highest calibre and a wonderfull label who have engineered this disc to the highest quality. buy this with confidence!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Your are my heart's delight, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely recording, couldn't help thinking of Richard Tauber, this chap has a fine voice. Delighted with my purchase as usual. Carol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the type of music Richard Tauber sings and was very pleased with this cd and like it more with each playing.
The track on which you can hear snatches of Taubers voice with Beczala is quite fascinating. Over all a cd which I
found to be a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart's Delight, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real tribute from one singer to another. Some of the material is a bit old hat - excuse the pun - but lovingly performed. The only disadvantage is, of course, that you can buy remastered CDs of Tauber himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is wonderful and Beczala performed superbly with grace and intelligence. I am sure the composers and Richard Tauber would rejoice if they heard him sing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like Tauber!, 8 July 2013
Much as I usually admire this singer, he has neither the grace, style, intelligence nor voice to do justice to this type of music, which is very difficult to sing well - as this CD proves! Very disappointing - get the Tauber originals to hear what this repertoire should sound like!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heart's Delight - The Songs Of Richard Tauber [+digital booklet]
Heart's Delight - The Songs Of Richard Tauber [+digital booklet] by Lukasz Borowicz and Piotr Beczala and Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews