Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100m very happy fans
In 1986 I was a lonely 14 year old kid without direction, association or general identity. One Thursday evening, I believe I saw a video for 'you give love a bad name' on TOTP....since that day, Bon Jovi has been the story of my life.
This is the kind of sentiment I think many of those 100m fans will relate to, and for which buying this box set will mean so much to...
Published on 23 Nov. 2004 by S. Kumar

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Stop.
Judging by the appalling quality of the "music" herewithin, I find it hard to believe that Bon Jovi have ten fans, let alone the claimed total of One Hundred Million. An album for delusional fantasists only - sane members of the human race need not enquire within.
Published 5 months ago by Tony Armstrong


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100m very happy fans, 23 Nov. 2004
By 
S. Kumar "sunil72" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In 1986 I was a lonely 14 year old kid without direction, association or general identity. One Thursday evening, I believe I saw a video for 'you give love a bad name' on TOTP....since that day, Bon Jovi has been the story of my life.
This is the kind of sentiment I think many of those 100m fans will relate to, and for which buying this box set will mean so much to as well. It is a real thank you from the band to the people of the world who made them who they are.
The songs are a selection of unheard material that did not make the albums between "Bon Jovi" & "Bounce" - there are some songs that hard core fans will have picked up from movies, B-Sides and bootlegs, but for the 80% majority of the box set - it's all new.
The band have been clever not to order the songs in a chronological fashion, and have not provided the year of the song either, as I think, they probably didn't even know themselves, lookin through the archives !
What is great about this set is the quality of the sound, and the polished, well constructed FEEL to each of the 4 discs - as it really is an album orientated feeling...rather than the bunch of songs thrown in to mark their 20th anniversary.
The DVD is dialogue to accompany some of the songs, and also contains previously seen (for hardcore fans) footage from the Access All Area's & These Days video. There is one amazing revelation in a Jon interview, where he talks about what the original idea and story behind the name of Slippery When Wet, before it was SWW...its amazing, and it makes you wonder what would happened in the world of rock, had it happened ! :-)
What is certain from this box set is that Bon Jovi are moving forward in an exciting new world. This box marks not only the end of some major chapter...it reflects on the 80's & the 90's era of Bon Jovi against the world and then the machine...moving forward, we can expect a different, but relevant Bon Jovi.
As they say in the band...see you guys on the road !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100,000,000 Bon Jovi Fans Aren't Wrong, 21 Nov. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit I was slightly sceptical about this box set, I wasnt looking forward to paying £30 odd quid for a bunch of songs that weren't good enough to make final albums. However after listening to the box set about 30 times in the last two days I can say that certainly isnt the case.
The 4 discs contain 38 totally new songs (with the exception of 2 songs that featured on movie soundtracks) and 12 reworkings of old songs. Nearly every song sounds great, and is accompanied in the booklet with a description by Jon of when the song was written and why it didnt make its prospective album.
There are some truly amazing songs on the box set and no Bon Jovi fan should be without it, and the DVD contains plenty of unseen footage of the band messing about on various world tours.
This box set is not just a collection of songs that weren't good enough to make albums, its a collection of the history of Bon Jovi, the musical and lyrical changes they have gone through.
100,000,000 Bon Jovi Fans Certainly Aren't Wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 2 Dec. 2004
By 
C. Wilde (Twyford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't believe how much material is actually in this box set!!! It's great to see a band giving something back to their fans. Bon Jovi could have have easily released 2 or 3 separate CDs and cashed in on the loyalty of their millions of fans. But, they didn't! This is a great xmas pressie for all Bon Jovi fans. The variation of songs on the 4 CDS means that there is something here for everyone.
This is a great collection of music and an absolutely MUST for any die hard fan. The music is classic Jovi (with a few "fun tunes thrown in for good measure). There is a mixture of pure rock, mushy ballads and classic sing-a-long tunes. The only problem is trying to decide which CD to play first.
THANK YOU BON JOVI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 NEW ALBUMS IN ONE SET, 1 Jan. 2005
You are not getting the average box set here by any means , they have put together four albums from the out takes of their albums and a few other songs that have not been released before and they really do make great listening, I am a Bon Jovi fan but never before a lover of box sets. I put this one on par with Springsteen Songs box set for quality and it is worth buying. It is also astonishing value for money for 4 CDs and a DVD so how can you refuse !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They got it right... all along, 9 Jan. 2006
By 
GMM (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
If you are a Bon Jovi fan and are undecided as to whether to fork out and buy this box set, I say, go for it - you won't regret it. The content is better than I had imagined it could be. Some of these songs songs are so good it is a surprise they never made it to a BJ album (a few did, and here in the box set we are treated to the earlier versions), but they're here now, and it's a real treat to hear them and read about them (JBJ gives a brief but interesting insight into how they choose album songs). The star of the collection, in my opinion, is Tico's song - it's beautiful and makes me smile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Fellow Jovi's...Sit Back & Enjoy!!!, 4 Oct. 2007
By 
Taffy317 (Hastings, UK) - See all my reviews
Bon Jovi fan?? If so its a must have!! Box sets are often mostly different versions of already used songs, not this one!! Here Bon Jovi set the mark for all following box sets, mostly unheard, strong, solid material, some of which is so good it will surprise you how they got left to gather dust in the "Bon Jovi Vaults". Its like they relesed 4 new albums at once, and any Bon Jovi fanatic will absolutley love the DVD. There are a few tracks you may be familler with (Demos of "Always" & "Someday I'll Be Sataday Night, and movie soundtracks "Real Life" and a couple of B-Sides "Temptation") but most tracks are previousley unherd. Also the incover booklet is great! All in all a real treat for any Jovi fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They got it right... all along, 9 Jan. 2006
By 
GMM (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
If you are a Bon Jovi fan and are undecided as to whether to fork out and buy this box set, I say, go for it - you won't regret it. The content is better than I had imagined it could be. Some of these songs are so good it is a surprise they never made it to a BJ album (a few did, and here in the box set we are treated to the earlier versions), but they're here now, and it's a real treat to hear them and read about them (JBJ gives a brief but interesting insight into how they choose album songs). The star of the collection, in my opinion, is Tico's song - it's beautiful and makes me smile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great boxset! - For completists and die hard fans only, 26 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I regard myself as a loyal Bon Jovi fan, and after purchasing all of their studio albums to date, as well as compilations and live recordings, I decided to then buy '100 Million Bon Jovi Fans Can't Be Wrong', a 4 CD and DVD set, the CDs consisting of previously unreleased recordings, rarities, demos of already familiar songs and B sides, and the DVD containing behind the scenes film, other rare footage and an interview with Jon Bon Jovi talking about some of the songs on here. The set is complimented with a chunky booklet, containing letters to the fans from all the band members, letters actually written by the fans, and rare photographs and memorabilia from over the years.

There are some excellent songs here, recorded during all of the various stages of the band's career, that could easily have been album tracks and deserve to be better known.

With 50 songs spread across the discs, there is much to discover in this boxset. However, given the fact that this set is still quite pricey, and the fact that it includes no hit recordings, I have to say that this will probably only appeal to die hard fans and completists. If you are one those people, you'll really enjoy this and find it a treasure trove of quality music. If you are a casual fan looking for a boxset -try Cross Road (Sound & Vision), containing a CD of Bon Jovi hits, a CD consisting of B sides and rare tracks, and the 'Live In London' DVD, it's much cheaper and will be more appealing to that market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some incredible b-sides indeed!, 4 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. R. Howe (South Shields, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bon Jovi are perhaps known in rock circles as somewhat of a 'singles band', i.e. they're known for tracks like "Livin' on a prayer" and "It's my life", so when they announced a 4 disc collection of rare, unreleased and b-side material it didn't cause too much of a stir. However, this is indeed a fantastic record.

The material itself dates the entire career span of the band, going way back to the early 1980's with tracks like "We Rule The Night" upto Keep The Faith era tracks like "The Radio Saved My Life Tonight" and the early 2000's. There are some asounding cuts here, which will undoubtedly leave the listener (particularly if you're a Bon Jovi fan) wondering how the heck they didn't make it onto any of the band's albums in the past.

Granted, such a vast collection you also get a raft of b-side material which is, well, b-side material. But there really are some hidden gems here and overall this is a great collection.

Standout Tracks:
Why Aren't You Dead
The Radio Saved My Life Tonight
Taking It Back
Garageland
Good Guys Don't Always Wear White
We Rule The Night
Edge Of A Broken Heart
Sympathy
Flesh And Bone
Love Ain't Nothing But A Four Letter Word

The album's opener has the honor of containing one of the best lines in recent mainstream rock history with: 'Instead of six feet under you're in someone else's bed / You said you couldn't live without me.. so why aren't you dead?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 7 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's definetly one for the fans. Most of the stuff on here has not been released. Lots of it you can understand why it didn't make the albums, that's not to say any of it is bad. As good as it is I'm sure there is more material like this. All musicians should release stuff like this for the hardcore fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews