Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from the Archdukes!
I've read a few reviews of this album in the papers and pretty much every reviewer hated "Tonight". their previous album. I really liked it. I liked all their previous albums. What I find refreshing about Franz Ferdinand is their ability to tweak their style slightly each time they produce a record, yet still have it remain very much "their" sound. They have done the same...
Published 18 months ago by 13thDuke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old
Having read other reviews i expected something really quite special...if anything this is the worst of the albums and really same old material.... bit weak and nothing new or that exciting .
Published 16 months ago by Martin J. Clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action (Audio CD)
This was a present, no complaints.
Quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Sound Right Songs = Rock Action!, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action (Audio CD)
Album four in a decade, and the glacial workrate betrays them. Whilst no one else quite sounds like them, "Right Words" is like slipping on a comfortable robe - within the opening thirty seconds - it's apparent that no one else does it like this, the rampaging bass lines, chugging drums, and the spiky guitar carries within it an inherent liveliness : "Evil Eye" resembles a children's nursery rhyme you have never heard before, yet played by adults - and also, the whole thing reminds me of a greatest hits record made out of songs you simply haven't heard yet. Perhaps Franz Ferdinand's approach - demonstrated here in spades - has always been simply to write every song as well as they possibly can, then take out all the bits that don't sound like a number one in some version of heaven. Even something as relatively sedate as "Fresh Strawberries" has a bright, and careworn rifforama - something like an indie Def Leppard - where even throwaway licks are the type of thing that other bands would build entire songs around. There's a touch of Joy Division, the low slung, throbbing bass, in "Treason! Animals", and huge licks of Vince Clarke, and Talking Heads, in the other songs - only "The Universe Expanded" sounds like it belong on an album and not on the radio.

Deluxe Edition come with a second album, Franz Ferdinand recorded live in a studio, with several, songs off the parent record, as well as fresh, vibrant versions of the always-brilliant "No! You Girls", "Do You Want To", "Ulyssess", the not-on-album before brilliance of "Love And Destroy", and a stunning rework of "Can't Stop Feeling" which sees the Franz add in their own take on classics such as "I Feel Love", "What Time Is Love?" and hints of other disco hits in a way that is utterly worth the price of admission ; when the song drops into a KLF hit near the end and builds to a thunderous orgasm, it's better than hearing classic disco on the best speakers in the world in 1978, especially when a Chic-like guitar riff throws itself into the song. Glorious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good return, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Tommi Bdckman (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action (Audio CD)
Good return to the first album style. Danceable with nice synth sounds thrown in to spice things up. Works really well for me, but could be a bit longer album. Special edition includes a snippet of Donna Summer's I Feel Love in studio live which was hilarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Franz Ferdinand were a band I'd pretty much given up on after the first album but this is the best thing they've done since (and maybe including) then. Simple stuff - great tunes, decent lyrics. If you'd written them off then think again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action (Audio CD)
Nice CD, excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Songs, Right Sounds Right Direction - welcome back FF, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action (Audio CD)
What a welcome return to form for the wonderful Franz Ferdinand - was so excited by their early work and saw them twice live where they were amazing. It would appear that on this they have managed to strike the right balance between the excitement of their early work and perhaps some of their inherent desire to be more creative and inventive and have found a mature sound which is both strong, vibrant and great to listen to - cant wait to see them live again to hear this material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 8 April 2014
By 
C. East "ce345" (plymouth,devon,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great album, especially evil eye used in the Nissan note advert, will buy more of their albums in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GIFT!!!, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action (Audio CD)
This was a gift for my dad. It came two days earlier than was expected in great condition. great album too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving the Autorip., 10 Sept. 2013
By 
H. Sichert "helens5" (Co Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every bit as good as I expected it to be, I really like the autorip facility so I didn't even have to wait for the CD to arrive to get listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
By 
Garlee "garlee" (merseyside, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action
Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action by Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews