Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Edit too Far
Four stars mean that "I like it" and five mean that "I love it". Actually, I love it. Colin Dexter writes with the the superb English that one finds in the Sherlock Holmes and the Father Brown stories. I find myself going back to those occasionally, and re-reading simply to enjoy the wonderful language: good grammar, variety, and (something which Clive...
Published 8 months ago by Kevin Stagg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the TV series
Having enjoyed the TV series I thought it would be good to go back to the first stories and read how Morse develops. Unfortunately the books felt very dated. The underlying plots were ok but Morse is quite sexist in his attitudes which sits uncomfortably today, also lots of drink driving which nobody questions, etc. Disappointing.
Published 7 months ago by Aussie bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Edit too Far, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
Four stars mean that "I like it" and five mean that "I love it". Actually, I love it. Colin Dexter writes with the the superb English that one finds in the Sherlock Holmes and the Father Brown stories. I find myself going back to those occasionally, and re-reading simply to enjoy the wonderful language: good grammar, variety, and (something which Clive James pointed out in one of his celebrated reviews) sufficient description to enable the reader to exercise imagination and fill in the gaps; the gaps are necessary. This is the secret of involving the reader in the story. I shall be returning to Dexter's stories for the same reason.

And now to a fault with the story "Last Bus to Woodstock" in this edition of the book. What follows might be considered a spoiler, so be warned. It is a spoiler about something which has been spoiled(!), and I hope that the editor will correct it in future editions.

In chapter 15 of "Last Bus", Morse notices that the phrase "Yet it is not improbable" occurs in two documents that he has read. This is important to the plot. But, in the kindle edition, this litotic phrase has been rendered as "yet it is probable" in both those documents. This makes a nonsense of Morse's observation and denies the reader the chance of observing the repetition. it has been thus rendered, I would think, by a word processor offering a simpler syntax and by an editor accepting it. This is not something to be done lightly when producing editions of detective stories written by an author who is so interested in words as is Colin Dexter.

Editors, please take note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to the cerebral detective., 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
Very much enjoyed getting to know Morse from the beginning and his developing relationship with Lewis. His intuition sometimes lets him down but he gets there in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stories, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
This collection is a great way into Inspector Morse books. It takes you back to the start and turns the Morse/Lewis relationship around. In the books Lewis appears older than his tv version and Morse appears younger. The stories are just as interesting although slightly different from the versions used on tv where dramatic licence dictates necessary alterations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent way to begin to read about Morse., 28 July 2014
By 
Mrs. V. O'Connor "munstermaid" (Nenagh, Co Tipperary ROI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
This was my first time reading Inspector Morse, having only ever watched the TV series. At first it was difficult not to picture the excellent John Thaw and Kevin Whateley but once I got into the stories I began to get to understand them as written. The stories were all well written and kept my interest and I will definitely be reading the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the TV series, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
Having enjoyed the TV series I thought it would be good to go back to the first stories and read how Morse develops. Unfortunately the books felt very dated. The underlying plots were ok but Morse is quite sexist in his attitudes which sits uncomfortably today, also lots of drink driving which nobody questions, etc. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intricate mystery, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
I had never read any Colin Dexter but seen the odd Morse on tv ,decided to try this starter book and I am so glad I did.Complex mysteries that end with an unexpected twist.Well written and easy to read and difficult to put down once started.I've become a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Books or television?, 6 July 2014
By 
Mrs. H. Croy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
I had seen the tv series but find the extra details in the book gives it an extra dimension. good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Early Morse, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
Somewhat disappointed. Later stories showMorse to be a competent policeman. This one showed a confused one. Story lines were weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Inspecter Morse, 27 April 2014
By 
P. W. Dunwood (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
I found the first book OK but it is easy to loose track of the characters. The three stories have a similar feel, but the writing improves by the third book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very good series, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: The first three novels (Kindle Edition)
Excellent reding, far better than the tv series which i enjoyed very much.will continue reading and watching. and get further books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews