Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish chemistry was made this interesting when I was at school
An interesting read with a page of interesting facts about each element. Along with a picture of each element, it makes it easier to become familiar and remember them. I bought it for my son but he's got to prise it off me first!
It also covers technical facts, how it was discovered, how it was named, where it's used. i.e. Gallium can be formed into a spoon which...
Published 10 months ago by Loz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars fuzzy diagram
I'm running a Kindle app on a Samsung tablet. When you double click on a picture, in the app, you can use the reverse pinch gesture to magnify the image.

Chapter one features diagram of the periodic table. You can read the atomic number and symbol for the element in the diagram, but the element names ar indistinct. After magnifying the diagram, you find that...
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish chemistry was made this interesting when I was at school, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Loz (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting read with a page of interesting facts about each element. Along with a picture of each element, it makes it easier to become familiar and remember them. I bought it for my son but he's got to prise it off me first!
It also covers technical facts, how it was discovered, how it was named, where it's used. i.e. Gallium can be formed into a spoon which melts when used to stir tea. Arsenic was used in the 19th century as a wallpaper dye. (Don't try these at home though).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great go-to book, 21 Aug 2013
Really accessible, beautifully illustrated book which provides a dip-in approach to the periodic table. Liked the dual science / anecdotal take on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative but with errors, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting book for the would-be chemist or armchair scientist. Each element gets the same treatment - history of discovery, main uses and interesting facts. Who knew smoke detectors use americium which is more radioactive than weapons-grade plutonium?

However I did spot quite a number of contradictions in the text i.e. the main entry for gold notes the largest nugget was 112kg but the text below the accompanying image states the largest nugget weighed 78kg. There are a number of similar errors dotted throughout the book which annoyed me a bit but didn't detract too much from the overall pleasure. Perhaps the author just wants to see if you're paying attention...

Minus one star for the errors - now write out "I must proof-read my work" one hundred times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Periodic Table, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book arrived promptly and was well packaged. Very interesting and easy to understand. Lots of clear bright pictures. Would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Dawn Nelson (elsted, midhurst) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great source of info for a numerous amount of known and even unknown substances, bought as a gift but I like it too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Packed with interesting details including historical facts, etymology and latest developments on each element. Not too technical for the lay reader. A powerhouse of information bound to be a hit with anyone who has an interest in chemistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The periodic table an indispensable guide to the elements, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Periodic Table: An Indispensable Guide to the Elements (Kindle Edition)
Easy to use reference book, well written, informative and fun. If you've ever wanted to know what the world is made of , this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 29 Jun 2014
I used to struggle with chemistry because I never understood the periodic table. Now I want to go back to school to study medicine and I think the periodic table is the holy grail of chemistry. The book has pictures and photographic illustration of each element of the periodic table. The explanation is very clear and concise. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who wants to score in chemistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fuzzy diagram, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Periodic Table: An Indispensable Guide to the Elements (Kindle Edition)
I'm running a Kindle app on a Samsung tablet. When you double click on a picture, in the app, you can use the reverse pinch gesture to magnify the image.

Chapter one features diagram of the periodic table. You can read the atomic number and symbol for the element in the diagram, but the element names ar indistinct. After magnifying the diagram, you find that the element names are pixelated and out of focus. For instance, element 38-Rb has a name which looks like the palace of Westminster in a serious fog.

I'm afraid that the publishers have missed a trick here as the diagram is a major component of the text. It could have had hypertext links to the text entries for each element.

I'm afraid I don't know much about chemistry, hence the purchase of the book. A typical session for me might go like this: look for a reference to sodium, guess it might have a simbol like "so", can't find "so" on the periodic table diagram, look for sodium alphabetically. Unfortunately, the text entries are in atomic number order.
All in all, it could be better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know!, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Periodic Table: An Indispensable Guide to the Elements (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book. Each element has 3 to 4 pages of useful and interesting information about each element. From when and who discovered it, to it's properties and uses today. I found this book a great read and well written. Useful for both a starter, and fascinating for a more experienced person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews