Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In vino veritas...
The second book in May's Enzo Files series (the first is Dry Bones) sees Enzo Macleod tackle another unsolved murder. Wine expert Gil Petty was missing for a year before his body turned up during the grape harvest in the Gaillac region of France. Enzo is soon to discover that Petty's is only one of several disappearances in the region - and it looks like someone wants to...
Published on 25 Feb 2012 by FictionFan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable story
If you have read my review of the first enzo book you will know that I find constant naming of places irritating. This time thank goodness there were not so many, however there were many references to the wine industry, of which I know very little.

Underneath all of this are two very good stories; one a murder mystery and the second a family soap opera, both...
Published 2 months ago by R ELLIOTT


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In vino veritas..., 25 Feb 2012
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book in May's Enzo Files series (the first is Dry Bones) sees Enzo Macleod tackle another unsolved murder. Wine expert Gil Petty was missing for a year before his body turned up during the grape harvest in the Gaillac region of France. Enzo is soon to discover that Petty's is only one of several disappearances in the region - and it looks like someone wants to stop his investigation by any means available.

This plotline gives May the opportunity to delve into the whole subject of wine making and tasting and he does so with a gusto that suggests it might be a favourite subject! As always May's in-depth research shines through - the reader gets a real sense of the whole industry surrounding wine making, tradition fighting with technology to survive in a cut-throat market.

I am a big fan of May's books but I have to admit to preferring both his early China thrillers and his current excellent Lewis trilogy to the Enzo Files series. I find his habit of frequently dropping in French words distracting - although it's usually obvious from the context what they mean I find it breaks the flow of reading. Also, Enzo himself is not my favourite May hero. A middle-aged man, he seems to be surrounded by women who find him irresistible while he seems obsessed by their, shall we say, physical charms. His relationship with his daughter Sophie also doesn't ring true - does a 20-year-old really sit on her Daddy's knee and regularly cover his face with kisses? Yeuch!

Despite these criticisms, the plotting is good, the descriptive writing excellent and I feel considerably more educated about the subject of wine than I was before. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage May a tale of wine and intrigue, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Critic (The Enzo Files) (Kindle Edition)
A great story set amongst the vines, you cam almost taste the wine it is well researched and what fun peter may must have had learning about the tastings. Enzo is a great quirky character loved the book and all the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The critic by Peter may, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Critic (The Enzo Files) (Kindle Edition)
Great reading kept you Interested to the very last page would recommend others to read it you won't want to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Critic (The Enzo Files) (Kindle Edition)
A great read. Could hardly put it down. Peter May manages in create a really exciting story while showing a great knowledge of France and wine. Believable characters too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Critic (The Enzo Files) (Kindle Edition)
This again met all my expectations, another excellent book in this series. The storyline twists and turns as it unfolds and the amazing descriptions really bring the places, characters and winemaking to life. Looking forward to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reader, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vintage Corpse (Paperback)
The Vintage Corpse. Easy to read a good flow of words. But what a waste of wine!
You think you knew who the killer was, but in the end it was not him at all. I do hope this person who is trying to kill Enzo do not succeed, Keep up the good work It is hard to find a good enjoyable read. Thank you Peter May.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Critic, 14 Feb 2011
A fantastically well written murder mystery with plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader interested. It was also great fun reading about the Gaillac area as it's where we have a holiday home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Critic (The Enzo Files) (Kindle Edition)
Mr May does it again. I have read quite a few of his books now and thoroughly enjoyed them all.
Enzo is a great character, and the plot as always has enough twists to keep it interesting.
A great read and even better for anyone who loves France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent thriller, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Critic (Paperback)
This is an excellent book n a really enthralling series.
The humour is squeezed in among the tension and caused me to re read parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable story, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Critic (The Enzo Files) (Kindle Edition)
If you have read my review of the first enzo book you will know that I find constant naming of places irritating. This time thank goodness there were not so many, however there were many references to the wine industry, of which I know very little.

Underneath all of this are two very good stories; one a murder mystery and the second a family soap opera, both if which I thoroughly enjoyed.

I will definitely be continuing my reading if the Enzo series, I am just hoping that they bring his first wife into it, now that would be interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Critic (The Enzo Files)
2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews